We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, great staff... noise might be a problem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Commercial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wishaw B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night and was pre-warned about the noise from the nightclub underneath so if you are a light sleeper then you are in trouble! Thankfully it didn't trouble me too much! prob best to join the party than listen!

Rooms: Where very modern and very pleasant, very clean and the bathroom was excellent. Beds where very comfortable and I have a good sleep.

Breakfast: Was excellent, served in the bar area next morning.

Room Tip: TRy the fish and chips at the Golden Fryer opposite... best I've ever tasted!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecommercialho... W, Manager at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to reply and we hope you can stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for The Commercial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night in September. I found the place really clean and tidy. The room I had was quite small (Room 1), but it was adequate for my requirements. I had lunch in the hotel as well the lunch I had was really nice. The breakfast I had in the morning was cooked fresh to order and it was very good. Some people my have an issue with the noise in this hotel Thursday to Sunday nights as there is a night club attached to the hotel. I was in a room well away from the night club and I was not bothered by any noise. Speaking to another guest at breakfast he confirmed that the noise was not great enough to bother himself or his wife. Wishaw itself is quite a large town close to Glasgow, but for the size of town there was not much there. I found one restaurant apart from the Commercial Bar and there was a Wetherspoons that did food. All the pubs appear to be busy on a Thursday night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumbrianworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here for a friends birthday and it was very lovely. Breakfast was delicious, staff are very accommodating. Worth the money you pay. Beware wishaw is not a tourist area. Ask about rooms which are not above nightclub as they are quieter. Rooms are very nice and clean

Room Tip: Choose room 1 or 2 away from the nightclub area
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayegadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Room excellent, location ideal. Staff really friendly and welcoming. Could not have asked for more. My husband has stayed here twice before and loves it so much he wanted to take me this time! Car parking facilities ideal. The only problem was the road works.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go2sands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Staff and condition of rooms were excellent.
I stayed on a Thursday and Friday night and although the staff moved us to a "quieter" room the music from the club was far too loud for us to get any sleep till after 3am when it closed.
Breakfast was well cooked and nothing too much trouble.
The hotel itself is centrally located and has easy access to train station.
I would stay again but not on a night when the club is open.

Room Tip: Avoid the room above the club!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Really enjoyed our one-night stay here. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff really welcoming and friendly. The adjoining nightclub was very well soundproofed and didn't disturb us at all. The food was good and good value and our whole experience very pleasant. The Hotel is well-placed near the centre of Wishaw (the current roadworks are a bit of a pain, but they'll be sorted soon enough - perhaps give prospective visitors better directions on how to approach the Hotel in the meantime)

Room Tip: Get Room two which has a balcony! :)
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Great price stayed in sept 2012 for 3 nights
Room modern clean staff brilliant
Yes it has night club an it's busy but we slept sound an our room had a balcony next to it
Overall a really great hotel an will stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wishaw
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
4.6 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
845 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Redhurst Hotel
Redhurst Hotel
#52 of 93 in Glasgow
265 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
9.6 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Hotel

Address: 420 Main Street, Wishaw ML2 7NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Wishaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wishaw
Price Range: £54 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Commercial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Wishaw, the Commercial Hotel boasts a bar/restaurant and on-site nightclub. It offers individually decorated rooms, free Wi-Fi and free parking.At the Commercial, rooms are decorated in a blend of wood panelling and stone walls. Some rooms have fireplaces and all rooms feature a plasma-screen TV with Freeview channels, work desk and bathroom.The Commercial Bar serves pub favourites. Snacks and cakes are also available and the food is home-cooked using local ingredients.The nightclub features live bands and boasts 2 resident DJs. It is open Thursday-Saturday until 3am. The bar also provides entertainment including music, karaoke and sports on TV.Low Parks Museum, the Time Capsule Water Park and Chatelherault Country Park are within 20 minutes’ drive. Glasgow and Edinburgh are both 30 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Commercial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Hotel Wishaw, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing