We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and pub ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Commercial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wishaw B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel and pub ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on the 12th October as I was visiting a friend. We were able to leave our bags early and were already in our room when we went to check in. The rooms were lovely, very clean and comfy. The food was great and a great price too. The pub was great on a Saturday night and had a good atmosphere, I would definitely recommend the commercial to other people

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank supershelly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecommercialho... W, Manager at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Sorry for the late response but we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    53
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
54
44
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We were in the family room in the attic and it was lovely. My only, exceedingly small, gripe would be that the bottom door to the hotel rooms was always ajar as it wasn't heavy enough to completely close on its own. With nobody to get past, anybody could walk in and it felt a wee bit of a security issue.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecommercialho... W, Manager at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We would like to thank you for your positive review. As for the door being left slightly ajar, this problem has been fixed in light of your comments. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My daughter and i stayed at this hotel on sat 12th october. The room was very clean, beds really comfy, and the bathroom was lovely with very spacious shower,spotless and very welcoming. We got the meal deal really worth every penny, two course meal a drink, and full breakfast next morning all for £14.99 a bargain,would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecommercialho... W, Manager at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We would like to thank you for your review and we hope you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lovely Clean rooms and the staff are so friendly cannot do enough for you
Breakfast if superb with full English and probably more than you can eat

Bar menu and drinks are cheap and lovely

noisy with disco at weekends but you can always party to

If your passing through this not tourist town you could find a wee oasis to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecommercialho... W, Manager at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night and was pre-warned about the noise from the nightclub underneath so if you are a light sleeper then you are in trouble! Thankfully it didn't trouble me too much! prob best to join the party than listen!

Rooms: Where very modern and very pleasant, very clean and the bathroom was excellent. Beds where very comfortable and I have a good sleep.

Breakfast: Was excellent, served in the bar area next morning.

Room Tip: TRy the fish and chips at the Golden Fryer opposite... best I've ever tasted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecommercialho... W, Manager at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to reply and we hope you can stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night in September. I found the place really clean and tidy. The room I had was quite small (Room 1), but it was adequate for my requirements. I had lunch in the hotel as well the lunch I had was really nice. The breakfast I had in the morning was cooked fresh to order and it was very good. Some people my have an issue with the noise in this hotel Thursday to Sunday nights as there is a night club attached to the hotel. I was in a room well away from the night club and I was not bothered by any noise. Speaking to another guest at breakfast he confirmed that the noise was not great enough to bother himself or his wife. Wishaw itself is quite a large town close to Glasgow, but for the size of town there was not much there. I found one restaurant apart from the Commercial Bar and there was a Wetherspoons that did food. All the pubs appear to be busy on a Thursday night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumbrianworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here for a friends birthday and it was very lovely. Breakfast was delicious, staff are very accommodating. Worth the money you pay. Beware wishaw is not a tourist area. Ask about rooms which are not above nightclub as they are quieter. Rooms are very nice and clean

Room Tip: Choose room 1 or 2 away from the nightclub area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayegadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wishaw
14.3 mi away
Redhurst Hotel
Redhurst Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
13.2 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
9.7 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Motherwell) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Hotel

Property: The Commercial Hotel
Address: 420 Main Street, Wishaw ML2 7NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Wishaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wishaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Commercial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Wishaw, the Commercial Hotel boasts a bar/restaurant and on-site nightclub. It offers individually decorated rooms, free Wi-Fi and free parking.At the Commercial, rooms are decorated in a blend of wood panelling and stone walls. Some rooms have fireplaces and all rooms feature a plasma-screen TV with Freeview channels, work desk and bathroom.The Commercial Bar serves pub favourites. Snacks and cakes are also available and the food is home-cooked using local ingredients.The nightclub features live bands and boasts 2 resident DJs. It is open Thursday-Saturday until 3am. The bar also provides entertainment including music, karaoke and sports on TV.Low Parks Museum, the Time Capsule Water Park and Chatelherault Country Park are within 20 minutes’ drive. Glasgow and Edinburgh are both 30 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Commercial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Hotel Wishaw, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing