We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Commercial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wishaw B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

we stayed in 1 of the flats for 2 nights had everything we needed plus more as we was visiting family and they could come and sit in the flat with us better than a hotel room, The flat was clean and what we needed, would definitely stay there again, we never saw much of the staff being in a flat but the few we did see on entering and leaving was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazzakyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecommercialho... W, Manager at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for all your kind comments.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here mid week for 2 nights , the room was very clean & tidy, well appointed & very well decorated with timber panelling & large TV , could not pick up any wifi in the room we stayed in , there was slight noise from the bar downstairs but this is to be expected when you are above a bar & did not detract from my stay , I did not eat at the Commercial but there is a lovely chippy not 20 paces away , would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m11rta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecommercialho... W, Manager at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

As for the wifi in the hotel, we are currently installing points throughout the rooms so picking up a signal should no longer be a problem.

Thank you for highlighting this to us and for choosing to stay at The Commercial hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Offered the flat, smells of drugs, recently had the door kicked in, erm no thank you! Given the linen cupboard as a room, plus charged £100! Noise well ok expected it to be noisey there is a club there, but that was just hurrendous! Breckfast, well the chef must have had to many in the club, raw bacon eggs were rock hard, is the only place in Wishaw tho, so what can ya do, still tho, a room as big as a cupboard and a chef that can't make a cooked breckfast, they charge top doller too, seriously need to price for what they give you, cupboard room should be charged as a cupboard room, and validate ya chef's papers, get in that kitchen and show him how to cook. If ya hitting the club and want Greece in the morning to soak up the alcohol you'd be ok, but would ya pay £100 for that pleasure?

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecommercialho... W, Manager at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent visit to the commercial hotel and bar. Firstly please allow me to apologise that we did not meet your exception with regards to our services here at the hotel. The hotel ownership work tirelessly to provide modern comfortable surrounding to which our clientele regularly give is positive feedback.

I appreciate that you have mentioned in your review that the room was not up to your exceptions and for this we apologise, had you raised this at the time we showed you the bedroom in question at the point of check in or at any point during your stay we could have done our upmost to find an alternative to the room you were displeased with.

I am alarmed to read that you found the room to be smelly and that the door had been damaged, running a hotel can be challenging and that fabrics within the properly does get damaged such as doors etc this can be a result of luggage being pushed against doors or a trolley perhaps... Not necessarily kicked in as you have intimated.

The cleaning staff of the hotel perform there duties to highest standard and are very often commended on there efforts, once again I apologise if there was a smell within the room, most certainly unusual and given the importunity we would have dealt with as a priority. I was a also distressed to read your comments regarding our breakfast, we have many regular costumers who regularly comment on how delicious the breakfast are, once again I sincerely apologise we did not meet your expectations.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and guest experience and will continue to review and improve our services where possible. Thank you once again for for feedback and hope that your recent disappointment does not deter you from using the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Adele Montgomery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

made really welcome by the very friendly staff who did as much as they could for you. The rooms and bar were very clean and the beds comfortable the full breakfast there was real good value for money will be going back again in the near future.

Room Tip: room 2 has twin beds but also a balcony so smokers can go out there instead of having to go downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecommercialho... W, Manager at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely response. We pride ourselves at The Commercial for our staff and we are glad they were up to your expectations.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Commercial. Lovely room. Excellent staff. Wonderful dinners in the bar. The food excellent and prices reasonable. The room cleaned thoroughly daily. Stocked daily with creamers and coffee for the room. My only complaint would be the noise. Disco Thursday Friday and Saturday nights. Bass so loud my floor in the room vibrating. Shouts and yelling outside at 3 when the disco lets out on Thursday. Police outside to prevent fights. Music loud and definitely can hear it in the room. So if you are a light sleeper forget it. Free wifi in room and bar. Easy walk to chip shops, Chinese food, Indian food, corner store. Thanks to Adele, Jackie, Kim and Paul and all other staff for making my mom and I feel welcome!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5. Lovely room with 2 big windows. 1 double bed and 2 singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

From the moment I arrived I was made to feel welcome. Room was superb. Despite staying on student night the Thursday before Christmas I was not disturbed by noise. Comfortable bed, excellent modern decor and great staff who could not do enough.... Fantastic and at such a great price.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecommercialho... W, Manager at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Sorry for the late response, we would like to thank you very much for your comments.
We hope you will return to the Commercial Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I hired the function suite here for a christening and I must say the service I received was far better than any other venues I have used! The staff couldnt do enough for us to make our day special! The buffet we were provided with on the day was presented beautifully and there was a great selection, my guests all commented how brilliant the buffet was!Also part of the package was champagne on arrival for my guests which went down a treat! The package is such a reasonable price for what you get the quality of the food was so much better than any other buffet ive had in the past fron other venues. We have visited a few times for lunch/dinner because the food is so good and so reasonably priced! Definately worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thecommercialho... W, Manager at The Commercial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

We are sorry we have not replied sooner but we really appreciate your positive feedback about your Christening.
We hope you visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wishaw
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
5.1 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Herdshill Guest House
Herdshill Guest House
#2 of 2 in Wishaw
56 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Hotel

Address: 420 Main Street, Wishaw ML2 7NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Wishaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wishaw
Price Range: £60 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Commercial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Wishaw, the Commercial Hotel boasts a bar/restaurant and on-site nightclub. It offers individually decorated rooms, free Wi-Fi and free parking.At the Commercial, rooms are decorated in a blend of wood panelling and stone walls. Some rooms have fireplaces and all rooms feature a plasma-screen TV with Freeview channels, work desk and bathroom.The Commercial Bar serves pub favourites. Snacks and cakes are also available and the food is home-cooked using local ingredients.The nightclub features live bands and boasts 2 resident DJs. It is open Thursday-Saturday until 3am. The bar also provides entertainment including music, karaoke and sports on TV.Low Parks Museum, the Time Capsule Water Park and Chatelherault Country Park are within 20 minutes’ drive. Glasgow and Edinburgh are both 30 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Commercial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Hotel Wishaw, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing