We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little hideaway”
Review of The Old Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourne End
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Bourne End B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Despite living in Bourne End for ten years, I was never aware of this lovely little B&B on Hedsor Road until I needed to stay there for a work-related visit. The room I had was clean, cosy and beautifully decorated, and the hosts couldn't have done enough for me in terms of a lovely breakfast (with morning papers and Radio 2) and a lift to the local library in the morning. The view across the garden and fields behind them are a lovely accompaniment to breakfast. The B&B is perfectly situated for access to Cliveden House (well worth a visit - see my review of the hotel), Windsor, and the beautiful Bucks/Berks countryside. I recommend OTT in Bourne End - the riverside restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Thank you Jenny and Graham for a wonderful nights accommodation. The house itself was beautiful, but what's even more important is the people that run it. The owners are incredibly friendly and so thoughtful with their service and attentiveness towards guests. Everything is clean and well kept, and the breakfast is substantial and delicious.We ate at The Ferry in Cookham which Graham and Jenny had recommended to us, and even ran us there via the ATM what service 5* all round

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacksprat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Jenny and Graham are excellent hosts, who make you feel very welcome in their home and go the extra mile, even driving us to the station very early in the morning so that we could attend the Olympic rowing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

An excellent place to stay to visit Windsor. We were made to feel very welcome and it is ideal for family's

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I'm not sure how I managed to miss doing my review for this B & B, especially as me and my partner enjoyed such a good stay.

Our room was very clean with a very comfortable bed and top of the range bedding .There were also plenty of accessories in the shower-room - which is a bonus - together with coffee making facilities.

The breakfast was magnificent, although my partner has asked me to trumpet the 'continental' alternative, which was of excellent quality and quantity. However, if you do decide to go the whole hog, you won't be disappointed.

Another thing that impressed us was the guests living room downstairs. Although we didn't take advantage of it, it was a lovely room and meant that if you were staying in for whatever reason, you weren't restricted to your room.

The property is situated next door to a pub, but you shouldn't let this worry you, as it's very quiet, with limited local trade. If you don't fancy heading further afield for food, the pub does some basic nosh, which according to some other guests that were staying, was perfectly satisfactory, without being at all memorable. They also had a good selection of real ales.

Graham and Jenny were superb hosts and could not have done more for us. Our visit coincided with a two day downpour of biblical proportions, and they even laid on brollies for guests to use during the never ending downpours. We were attending a funeral, so this offer was very gratefully received.

We only stumbled across this B&B because our normal accomodation was fully booked. We will have no hesitation in returning to The Old Cottage when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Octoberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This delightful English B&B was the perfect find. Graham and Jenny host their home delightfully and one relaxes into the easy comfort of being, quite literally, in a home from home. Each room has its own unique character and every comfort is catered for. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suziewong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had a fantastic time staying at the Old Cottage. Jenny and Graham couldn't have been more welcoming, the house itself is lovely and we stayed in the King sized bedroom which was great, nice en suite and the bed was unbelievably comfortable! The cottage itself is no more than a 10 minute walk from the river and you can walk into either Bourne End or Cookham very easily for lots of different restaurants either on the river itself or on the village high streets. Marlow is also about a 5 minute drive away which offers lots more options and is also stunning, we had a great afternoon/evening there.

We wondered into Cookham for supper and ate at a place on the river called The Ferry which Graham and Jenny had recommended to us, it had a great menu which was far more adventurous than you'd expect to find in a village pub and was very lively. We decided to walk there as it was a nice evening and Graham had told us that if it started to rain he's come and pick us up rtaher than have to walk back and get wet! Thankfully we didn't have to even think about taking him up on it, but that just gives an indication of the kind of people they were! Really great hosts. I hope we'll be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triandswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourne End
1.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,045 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moor Hall Conference Centre
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Cottage

Address: The Old Cottage Hedsor Road, Bourne End SL8 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Bourne End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourne End
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Cottage Bourne End, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing