We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourne End
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Bourne End B&B and Inns
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I recently stayed one night with Jenny and Graham to attend a friend's wedding. I could not have been made to feel more welcome - from help in finding the house (I don't have sat nav), the spotless room, and a lift to the Church! As a single woman, it is important that I feel comfortable - and I did - 100%. So, thank you very much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
34
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a lovely welcome. Jenny and Graham treated us like old friends making us very comfortable in their lovely home. The full English breakfast was superb with plenty of tea, coffee etc. Very well appointed bedroom with clean towels each day, dressings gowns, plenty of tea and coffee and, most important for us, fresh milk in a thermos flask. No hesitation in recommending The Old Cottage 10 out of 10 all round.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael194031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Jenny and Graham were excellent hosts to us. They were very friendly always smiling and we had good quality breakfasts. Clean room and most comfortable bed and pillows. A bottle of wine and peanuts ready in our room and lots of coffee, tea and hot chocolate sachets available. Not in other places where they only give 2 sachets of tea and coffee with not enough milk to make more than a cuppa. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Lovely home to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I found this B&B when searching the Thames Path website for accommodation nearby. We arrived wet and bedraggled after a 12 mile walk from Henley to be warmly welcomed by Jenny. Our room was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed including a lovely hot shower to rejuvinate us after our long wet walk. We had Sunday roast dinner at the pub next door which was fantastic as sore feet would have protested against a further walk of any distance!
After a good night's sleep we came down to a beautifully laid table and ready for Graham's cooked breakfast which had all we needed to set us up for another long day's walk. My only criticism would be that I prefer a firmer mattress on the bed but this is less criticism and more a personal preference.
Graham and Jenny are such welcoming hosts and we really felt that had we lived locally we could become good friends with them. They have a beautiful home which they happily share and show attention to detail in makking their guests feel special and cared for. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Old Cottage as a welcome rest. Thank you Graham and Jenny!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dontlikeroughinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

If you want to stay in a charming, characterful, comfortable family cottage with wonderful service, then this is the place for you. Our room was spotlessly clean, warm and cosy and there were some lovely touches, like the small bottle of wine and nuts, bottled water and well-stocked tea & coffee tray. Our hosts, Graham and Jenny were wonderfully friendly and welcoming, and served us a superb Full English Breakfast (possibly the best we've ever tasted !) with optional fresh fruit salad, assorted cereals, and lashings of hot toast.

The location is really convenient, being close to major road and rail links, but feels as if it's in the heart of the English countryside. We have no hesitation in fully recommending this as a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Comfortable, spotless, convenient, welcoming and attractive.

This excellent B&B in a delightful family home provided everything I could possibly want when I was visiting a friend nearby.

My continental breakfast included fresh fruit salad, good yoghurts, cereal, toast, spreads and excellent coffee served with a view across the garden to fields beyond.

Room Tip: I had the ensuite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Kent-Bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The Old Cottage is one of Buckinghamshire's best kept secrets.

A convenient stopover if walking the Thames. Good places to eat close by and only a few minutes from Cookham and Cliveden.

Wonderful; absolutely wonderful.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourne End
0.8 mi away
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
2.5 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Cottage

Property: The Old Cottage
Address: The Old Cottage Hedsor Road, Bourne End SL8 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Bourne End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourne End
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Cottage Bourne End, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing