We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
143
21
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
21
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pony rides guinea pigs animal feeding rosebud cottage shires rest every morning indoor playroom family holiday play area great fun on arrival next year talland bay young children dog training games room year old daughter
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Just back ( stayed in the mealhouse with the missus and the dog )

If you like walking then this area is walkers heaven.

The cottage was small but perfect for us. lovely inside and just what we needed. The Cream Tea and goody box on arrival didnt last long as everything in it was local / fresh and tasted very nice indeed.

We liked walking into polperro having a few beers and then walking home. To arrive in polperro along the coastal path is incredible and we picked a sunny day to arrive!!

The coastal path you can also take to Looe and this is a lovely walk too.

Fowey - Polperro and Looe really have enouth to keep you entertained for a week but further afield Pentawan beach near St Austell is lovely and you can easy walk to Mevagissy from here.

Farmer Keith a legend with the kids and let our nephew and 2 x niece visit the farm one morning for barrel rides and feeding / petting time with the animals. They loved it. Thanks Farmer Keith.

Would certainly go back and overall a very enjoyable week.

Room tip: You can walk to Polperro in 45 minutes if you fancy a few beers
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeywoodMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Sorry for the title, but my daughter refuses to acknowledge Keith by any other name!

We've stayed at the farm in mid July so unfortunately the English weather made it's impact, but due to the facilities and friendliness of Keith especially the I pact was minimal.

We stayed in the meal house, with our 4 year old daughter and Max our Labrador.
The Meal house is the smallest cottage, we knew when we booked it, but it had everything we needed, kitchen fully equipped etc...

The location is remote enough without feeling you're miles away from civilisation.
You don't get the traffic passing by, you get the views of the lovely countryside but you can also walk the 1-2 miles to the local shop or pub depending on your need.

This holiday was a 1st for me, I'm quite used to the guaranteed holiday sun when travelling abroad, but I was talked into it!

Even before you arrive the handy information provided helps to ensure you arrive...when you see some of the lanes you'll understand!
The welcome pack which provides rather details of walks, beaches, restaurants etc is a godsend to get you going, the welcome food parcel was especially welcome, the milk was good but scones, clotted cream and jam went down alot better!

I've not actually mentioned the farm yet!
On weekdays Keith meets the kids and parents at 9 ish to begin the daily feed, guinea pigs & rabbits get fed and a cuddle (parents are allowed too) you feed the pigs, Fred and ginger, the goats and finally the chickens, if you're lucky you manage to get a fresh egg home for dippy egg and soldiers.

On top of this the kids get a barrel ride, Keith pulling the kids in his tractor, or the kids are treated to a pony ride conducted by Lisa.

My daughter loved this, me too!, plus the other parents and kids seemed to be smiling a lot too.

As we experienced some rain, the indoor play area came in very handy, my daughter had things to do and also made friends with the other children, ages upto 4 years old when we were there.

We never stayed onsite all day, going to local beaches, villages, eden project (not my cup of tea really) mixing it up mean't no one was ever bored.

To sum it up, the accommodation was great, the daily feed and ride was superb, the friendliness and information provided was excellent.
We're seriously considering going back and dragging friends and family along too.

I hope I've not bored you too much!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grovetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had a lovely week in May 2011, 6 of us stayed in Little Owls cottage. My parents came with us too, and loved it. My girls (3+4) still talk about it, especially Farmer Keith now! He was brilliant with the children, and had my Dad laughing too!

Every week day they got to feed the animals, and take an egg home for breakfast too! After the animal feeds, they got either a tractor ride, or pony ride, both of which were great and the kids loved it!

Keith was very helpful too recommending places to go.

The cottage was lovely, really spacious bedrooms (all ensuite) were downstairs, and upstairs a big kitchen and massive lounge/dining area, which you could then walk out of the back door straight across the field to the animals/play areas.

We will definately go back one day, only down side is we will have to pay school holiday prices from next year!!

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mazza227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

A fantastic family holiday in a superb location!

We have just returned from a week in Little Owls for a week with our 3 1/2 year old daughter, 16 month old son and my parents. The cottage was spacious, clean and had great views. The master suite was lovely and the bed was incredibly comfortable which led to us having 7 fantastic nights sleep - which any parents of young children will tell you money can't buy!

The children LOVED the mon-fri trips around the farm with 'Farmer Keith' who is truely a legend. Great guy, brilliant with all of the children and so patient. The children were able to get really involved with the animals and he paid attention to ensure that all of the children had a turn. The tractor ride has to be experienced and the pony rides were brilliant....although I think the future impact could be costly as our daughter has now decided that she loves riding!

Richard and Keith were very happy to recommend local eateries and things to do which helped us plan our time, and when a cottage became available the following week they were really flexible allowing us to move into the vacant cottage and extend our break by a few extra days.

One or two areas were a little bit tired (e.g. some of the ride on toys in the outdoor play area were coming to the end of their lives) but the children didn't care and enjoyed playing on them anyway. The purpose built indoor play area was also a bonus and had some good toys which the children enjoyed.

Needless to say we are booking for next year, and the only question is one week or two?

Room tip: We stayed in Little Owls which was set apart from the other cottages which made it more private and it had great views.
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZOEWORTLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We've just come back from a week at Polean Farm at the beginning of July and had such a great time.

We were out every day enjoying the attractions of Cornwall, but the highlight of the holiday for our two young boys had to be the activities that the owners provide for the children - particularly the hilarious tractor-pulled barrel rides! They also really enjoyed feeding the pet farm animals (goats, pigs and chickens) and the pony rides, but being tractor-obsessed it was this they liked best! Farmer Keith was really great and funny and our boys became his biggest fans.

The play areas were good too - outside there was a lot of choice, including climbing frame, playhouses, ride on tractors etc. - and really useful to have an indoor play room as we did have a couple of days which were rainy.

We stayed in Twinkles cottages, and while the bathrooms were getting a bit tired we had no real complaints and had a wondeful time! They have a good DVD library and we spent quite a few evenings catching up on recent films as we never usually get the chance.

Generally the farm is lovely, quaint stone cottages, modern and very well equipped inside. The location is idyllic and good for visiting the nearby pretty beaches and fishing harbours in particular.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miffygirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews