We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food be prepared to wait”
Review of Jubilee Inn

Jubilee Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Pelynt
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Historic 400 year old 4 country inn. 10 En suite rooms, Bridal Suite with Four Poster. All rooms have flat screen digital TV. Free Internet BT Fibre Optic Wi Fi Home made local produce and dishes served daily. Local real ales. Sunday roasts. Special events all year through. Functions welcome. Large patio, beer garden and free car park. Level access throughout ground floor. Disabled facilities. Families and dogs welcome.Please see our own web site for menus, wine & real ale list and opening times.
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Jubilee is very popular in the summer, so a reservation is adviseable. We found the food very good with a broad menu and a good selection of draft beers, The pub does have a sign saying that the food is made to order and can therefore take time to prepare, but we thought a wait of over an hour was excessive, hence the reason for a score of 4 rather than 5.

Thank Merciaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jubileeinnpelynt, Owner at Jubilee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Very many thanks for your kind words, our pleasure. I’m truly sorry that you had to wait that long …. It’s been one of the busiest school summer hoidays here for some years.

Perhaps if families were not arbitrarily fined for taking children on holiday during term time then it would restore the balance, and those children would still learn a lot of history and nature, like I did in the 1950’s and 1960’s when I was lucky enough to have lovely family UK holidays, and in term time

Very best wishes

Charlie Edgeler Jubilee Inn Pelynt Looe Cornwall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 361 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Whilst on holiday our party of three ate in this delightful restaurant four times, three evening meals and one lunchtime meal. Every meal was delicious with excellent service with smiles all round.
We all had a variety of meals each time either in the bar and in the restaurant. We would thoroughly recommend this inn we would give it 5 *. Advisable to book which we did as it is so popular.
Well done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jubileeinnpelynt, Owner at Jubilee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Huge thanks for your very kind words, our pleasure. Yes, it’s been the busiest summer here since we arrived in 2007 ….. for which we are truly grateful!

Charlie Edgeler Jubilee Inn Pelynt Looe Cornwall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Was really Lucky to discover this pub whilst travelling around Cornwall.

Very friendly team, helpful owner allowed me to sample local ciders, very good food.

Was made to feel welcome during local charity quiz night.

Dined twice during my week in Looe. Would love to come back for New Year.

Thank you

Thank SUMMERGIRL080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jubileeinnpelynt, Owner at Jubilee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Very many thanks for your very kind words, our pleasure. Those quiz nights are good fun and raise a lot of funds for our community. Just give us a call or drop us an email and we’ll be delighted to look after you at the New Year.

Charlie Edgeler Jubilee Inn Pelynt Looe Cornwall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Dropped in on the way back to our caravan with hungry kids. They fitted us in with a friendly face and the food was very good. Dinner, tick.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HungryBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jubileeinnpelynt, Owner at Jubilee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Very many thanks for your really kind words. Our pleasure

Charlie Edgeler Jubilee Inn Pelynt Looe Cornwall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff were very friendly and we were hopeful that we would have a great meal, but alas the food was awful! Some of the starters were burnt and the main meals were dry, tasteless and over-priced! It seemed that they were more interested in quantity rather than quality!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Richie1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jubileeinnpelynt, Owner at Jubilee Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the trouble to write on this site.

As readers will know from previous responses we do not and cannot correspond on this site as we have a very transparent way in which guests can raise a problem with us – see our web site under “ethos” and “how we deal with a problem”.

Also, please note that Tripadviser run two pages for us: the dining site and the B & B site. However guests are allowed by Tripadviser to write on either about either. So readers: do please look at both sites to gain a true overall picture.

During the first two weeks in August we served well over two thousand guests. There will invariably be a problem when something is not as good as it should be. These represent less that one quarter of one percent, i.e. one in every four hundred.

I am sorry you did not like your meals and it’s very important we know about these things so we can put matters right. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff, a lot of the team are young and it is their first job, and saying that is much appreciated.

The waiting staff would have asked you during your meal if everything was alright, it’s a “service check” we do at least once during a guest’s meal. Similarly the same check is made when the bill is paid. We are very open about how we deal with a meal that’s not up to standard. We replace it and / or amend the bill. It’s normal practice and this is all on our web site.

What I don’t know is what you ate as you haven’t said what the meals were, I cannot look at the food or any that was left on the plate as that moment has passed, and I cannot contact you to ask what you had because Tripadviser quite rightly keep their members contact details private. So if you would like to give me a call or drop me an email – my contact details are on our web site, I’ll be more than happy to take further details, investigate and do my best in the circumstances to resolve matters.

Very best wishes

Charlie Edgeler Jubilee Inn Pelynt Looe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jubilee Inn also viewed

 

Been to Jubilee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing