We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The calm before the storm.....”
other travellers have booked this property
Ashen Cross Holiday Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ashen Cross Holiday Cottages
You'll be cosy here whatever the weather Home comforts with added luxury
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Ashen Cross Holiday Cottages
You'll be cosy here whatever the weather
Home comforts with added luxury
Sleep tight and cosy - comfortable king size bed with luxury bedding
En-suite bathroom with large shower
Plenty of space to kick back and relax
Welcome to Cornwall
Home made scones and bread with local clotted cream ensures a great start to your holiday
Up onto the field or down to the lake? Over 3 acres to explore without leaving the drive
Take a walk along the stunning South West Coastal path
High tide or low, there's something for everyone at nearby Looe
Find a tranquil spot down by the lake
Luxury coffee any time ... Great with our home made cake
Great private spot to catch the sun
Make the most of your private space with a BBQ - we provide everything you need to burn!
Relax ... Restore ... Recharge ...
Don'f forget - Towel-swap Wednesday
There's plenty to do within easy reach ... but you might find yourself captivated here
Easy access to the stunning South West Coastal Path
The summer house is strategically placed to put you in the middle of nature
On the deck outside the summer house, your only interruption will be the fish popping up to say hi
Why not compose your own fisherman's tale?
Make friends with Doris and Declan our resident ducks
Beautiful Talland bay beach - just 40 minute walk away
Follow the coastal path round to Polperro - quintessential Cornwall at the tips of your toes
Most of the locals are friendly but watch out for the cheeky ones!
Early evening stroll before dinner at one of many great restaurants - Perfect Polperro
Plenty of private space to soak up the day or night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pelynt, Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
martinkK7...
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The calm before the storm.....”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We trawled the internet for cottages to stay in the Cornwall area. A little over 8 weeks prior to our arrival we didn't hold out much hope. Then we unearthed this hidden gem! Even better we could use Tesco club card vouchers booking through cottages for you.

On arrival and after an 8 hour journey we were warmly welcomed by the wonderful Tracy! Hugs all round and a tour of the cottage and what is their garden we were settled and at ease. Homemade bread and cream tea were just what we needed and a beer and cider chilled in the fridge topped it all off.

We took advantage of the lake at the bottom of Tracy and Geoff's garden and sat in the glorious bank holiday sun, fed Doris the duck and the fish whilst enjoying a drink from the mini bar, a genius idea!

We based ourselves at the court but only had to travel 10 minutes to talland bay for a walk up the coast to Looe. 30 minutes up the road was the Eden project which the geography teaching wife loved, and a little further afield 90 minutes or so was st Ives, a very popular haunt but parking was easy to find and great fish and chips were had.

The court itself was great, a mix of character and functionality. Every last detail was thought of, from coffee machines to a variety of teas, toiletries, towels and even a spare toothbrush (found this in the draw in the bedroom after we'd bought one). It has a great log burner that would be a treat in winter sadly we didn't get to use, everything you need for a BBQ. Nothing was too much trouble to Tracy, the bathroom light went out while we were there it was replaced immediately. Fresh towels were given on Wednesday along with delicious homemade treats!

All in all it was a thoroughly enjoyable and restful stay for me and the wife, just what she needed before the school term starts again. Talking with tracy through the week we discovered she used to be a teacher like Amie and we shared the fact we would like to start this type of business eventually.... if we end up providing a property and service like Tracy and Geoff we will be very successful. Keep up the good work, especially the baking!

We would definitely recommend the court for a peaceful place to relax a stones throw from the wonderful Cornish coastlines. Tracy will make your stay a memorable one and you'll leave as we have feeling like friends. We'll be sure to return.

Martin and Amie x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Ahh thank you for your kind feedback. We really loved having you here and we're looking forward to welcoming you back and offering any support we can with your future plans xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“It's not just for the dogs, owners are made just as welcome!”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were looking for a holiday cottage were we could escape for a few days with the dogs. After scouring the internet we came across this little complex run by Tracy and her husband Geoff.

Past experience told us that if some one is prepared to let your dog stay in their holiday home... then you should expect too much in the way of niceties (for us humans). It became apparent that we were going to be looked after well when we received the email with detailed travel instructions and a phone call checking that all was well (we were a little later than anticipated). As we pulled into the courtyard Tracey came bounding out to greet us with a warm welcome and an even warmer welcome for our two dogs.

We were shown around the cottage and given a very nice goodie basket containing homemade bread and scones. In the fridge there was some clotted cream, jam and some butter. She had also included some local cider to was it down! Tracey showed us where we were able to walk the dogs (just through the back garden there is a little pathway). Nestled in a little dip, tucked out of sight was a large pond, which we were informed was home to a greedy duck. The pond had narrow path that took you around each of the benches an summer houses all of which were laid out to afford the best views of the pond and its resident. Tracey told us of a secret stash of food that was sure to make the duck your friend for life.

At the side of the pond was a slopping medow. This had a pathway mown into the long grass that guided you around the 'little park', the dogs loved it. It was nice to have an exercise area literally on the doorstep for the proverbial 'first thing in the morning' and 'last thing at night'. If that wasn't enough ther was an enclosed gravel area to the rear of the cottage. This was equipped with a barbecue, table and chairs for the summer evenings.

Inside the cottage, everything was in place to make your stay comfortable. All the usual fixtures and fittings, along with some unexpected finishing touches. Tucked away on the side there was a speciality espresso coffee machine with a variety of individual coffees. In the cupboard was even a selection of teas, including green and Earle Grey... plenty of choice. A little treat for us to enjoy while the dogs chew on one of Tracey's doggie treats.

As I have previously said in my other reviews... it's the little things that count. In the bedroom there is a little draw full of those items you always forget to pack; sewing kit, Cotten buds, etc...

All in all a very pleasant break was had by everyone (dogs included) and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay at The Court at Ashen Cross. Thanks Tracey.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind feedback. So glad you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon H
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Ideally located just minutes from the beautiful harbour town of Looe and picturesque fishing village Polperro. Set back from the road and a short distance from the nearby village of Pelynt, peace and quiet is easy to find here without being miles away from local amenities.

The Court is a well maintained and comfortable property, and is lovingly cared for by owners Tracy and Geoff. They go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is a comfortable one - with touches such as a thoughtful welcome pack containing goodies including a homemade batch of scones, a fresh baked loaf of bread and regional cider. These are best enjoyed snuggled up with your significant other as you enjoy the simple pleasures of a toasty evening in front of your wood burner.

For a little fresh air, venture down through the garden to the small private lake - and why not take in a refreshment from the well stocked honesty bar in the summer house, or bring your own and enjoy a picnic on the deck.

My wife and I have thoroughly enjoyed our time here, as did our dog who made a couple of new friends in enthusiastic pup Poppy and grumpy little Meg. We were made to feel very welcome, and were left in no doubt that nothing was too much trouble should we be in need of anything at all.

I would heartily recommend The Court to anyone looking for an idyllic retreat by the Cornish coast hosted by two wonderful people - but only if we've got our next stay booked in first ;-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind feedback. We really appreciate your kind commitment (except Meg, perhaps!!) looking forward to welcoming you all back again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwbd_jone...
Caldicot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect dog-friendly cottage”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I would recommend this lovely, comfortable cottage to anyone. It's in a fantastic location between Looe and Polperro making it a great base for exploring the area. Tracy and Geoff welcomed us and were fantastic hosts. Very friendly and helpful whenever we needed anything. The cottage was clean and had everything we required for a perfect week away. Our welcome pack was all the best! Gorgeous homemade delights and milk, eggs with a personal message for us as we were there to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. A welcome pack for the dog was a lovely touch too. Our dog loved the access to the fields and lake for walks and we enjoyed sitting by the lake in the summerhouse. A beautiful tranquil place for a holiday which we would definitely return to again. Thank you Tracy and Geoff.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We really enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jangee201...
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cornish hospitality”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Court at Ashen Cross is a spacious, comfortable and well equipped cottage. The private garden area with patio is a lovely spot to have breakfast and watch the birds. Guests can also relax in the summerhouse by the fishing lake and feed Doris, the resident duck (a real character!).

Owner Tracy is friendly and welcoming and able to advise on local amenities and attractions, in addition to providing to her homemade cakes. Ashen Cross is only minutes away from Looe and Polperro and is centrally situated to explore the surrounding coast and countryside.

Having stayed at several self-catering establishments around the country, this is definitely one we are happy to recommend. If you are visiting Cornwall, give Ashen Cross a try.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind feedback. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah K
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

An amazing little spot, Tracy and Geoff have thought of everything to make your stay perfect. They are so warm warm and friendly without being intrusive. Lovely cream tea and freshly baked bread on arrival with a well stocked fridge, barbecue was handy cottage is beautiful and clean, highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Lovely to have you here, looking forward to seeing you again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne P
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another perfect Cornish holiday!”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of returning to The Court in June. Yet again a perfect holiday...peace and quiet to recuperate after recent surgery. A beautiful spacious cottage in georgeous grounds. A lovely welcome from Tracy and Geoff (the owners), welcome pack of cider,beer,milk,home made bread and scones.....also midweek home made cake very scrummy! The cottage is situated near to Looe and Polperro and other beautiful small coves nearby but all the peace of the countryside at your door. Towels were changed midweek and anything extra we needed we could just ask friendly,unobtrusive owners. We found the cottage clean and very comfortable, a home from home, with a lovely garden to relax in with barbeque supplied...we look forward to our return in September (already booked) as in 20 years of holidays in Cornwall this is our favourite by far!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
We love having you here and are really looking forward to welcoming you back in September x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing