We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant, pet friendly, home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Ashen Cross Holiday Cottages Cornwall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ashen Cross Holiday Cottages Cornwall
Whatever the weather, you can be sure of a cosy stay here The summer house by the lake where you can enjoy the wildlife and a drink from the mini-bar!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Ashen Cross Holiday Cottages Cornwall
Whatever the weather, you can be sure of a cosy stay here
The summer house by the lake where you can enjoy the wildlife and a drink from the mini-bar!
The perfect spot to dream up plans for making the most of your holiday
Cosy twin bedroom with full-size beds and luxury bedding - there's a wall mounted TV too
High tide or low, there's something for everyone in Looe
Plenty of fisherman's tales to be made here!
The fish like to say hello too
Luxury coffee any time ... Great with our home made cake
And here hangs a fisherman's tale
The beautiful beach at Talland Bay - less than 2 miles from the top of the drive
Quintessential Cornish charm in Polperro
You'll get a warm welcome down here but you have to watch out for some of the locals!
Doris and Declan will be on duty to welcome you to the lake
Take a boat trip from Looe and look out for this character - he's exceptionally friendly
Easy access to the stunning South West Coastal Path - less than 2 miles from the top of the drive
Room for a small one - additional beds available, just message for details.
Fancy a coastal walk? No problem from here
Step out from your cottage into the countryside - over 3 acres of it just for Ashen Cross
A warm welcome with home-baked scones/bread and local clotted cream - Happy Cornwall
Up onto the field or down to the lake? decisions ... decisions ...
Make the most of your private outdoor space with a BBQ, we provide everything you need to burn!
As well as acres to explore, you have your own private spot in the sun ... or shade
Lots of fun for all the family.
Plenty of information to hand to help you make the most of your stay
Newly renovated kitchen/diner offers everything you would expect and some touches of luxury too
Books, games, DVDs, we've tried to think of everything and we're on-hand if you need more
Cosy twin bedroom with 2 adult size single beds to keep everyone comfortable
Shower or bath - we provide the bubbles!
Locally made luxury hand soap - we strive to be the best Cornwall has to offer
A special welcome for our very special guests
Cheers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Pelynt, Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen M
St Leonards-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant, pet friendly, home away from home”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Owl is set in a lovely quiet location, within easy reach (by car) of the many and varied local attractions ( i.e. Eden project, polperro, etc).
We found it clean, comfortable with all the amenities you could possibly want while on holiday, providing a perfect home away from home.
Tracy is the perfect host, greeting us on arrival, available if we needed her and providing lots of little extras which gives this holiday the wow factor! Including a home baked Cornish cream tea and fresh bread on arrival, amongst other things!
The Owl also has a lovely secluded, safe terrace area for everyone including the dog to enjoy.
With the lake and field this cottage really has it all!
I would not hesitate to stay again and would highly recommend it to family, friends and everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind feedback, we're really pleased you enjoyed it all and look forward to seeing you again soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
It was lovely having you here and really hope we get to welcome you back again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We absolutely loved having you all here and we're looking forward to welcoming you all back again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen H
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Homely and Welcoming....A Great Find!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My two teenage daughters and I booked The Owl at Ashen Cross for a few days break while we were in the area for a cricket match.
This beautiful barn conversion is amazing! It's modern and the owners have thought of everything, from the delicious welcome pack to the BBQ supplies and duck food by the lake (where there's even an honesty bar). All the little touches are homely and welcoming.
Most importantly though, Tracy absolutely makes this place. She is so personable, friendly and genuinely wants to make your stay hassle free and relaxing. She has nailed the balance between being friendly and engaging yet giving you all the space you need. Nothing is too much trouble though I've no idea what else we would have wanted!!
Thank you for a great stay.....we had a fab time and will be back again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We loved having you all here and look forward to welcoming you back again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busyasabe
South Yorkshie
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven ”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We arrived early and had a lovely warm welcome with open arms from Tracey. To say this is a self catered cottage Tracey and Geoff really go above and beyond to make sure your stay is home from home. A fantastic welcome basket waiting for us which contained a freshly baked loaf of bread, fresh scones with home made clotted cream , jam and butter in the fridge to go with them . Also some fresh eggs and milk and a selection of teas and coffee plus a coffee machine!! And that's just to start. Also clean bath and hand towels for each guest which are replaced with clean ones on Wednesdays along with another cake! Not forgetting your luxury soap. Even our fur babies had a welcome pack of treats, blankets and poo bags. Thank you. The cottage itself is home from home. Everything has been thought of for an enjoyable and relaxing stay. And if you've forgot to bring anything Tracy is always there to help. Wanted to know about parking for our trip to Looe and Geoff was really helpful in telling us the best place to park. And giving us other information about other areas too, Thank you. we had a couple of BBQ's when we were there. Everything was there to start you off including BBQ utensils, we just need our food! Lovely garden with table, chairs and sun loungers too. The summer house is such a lovely peaceful place to just sit and relax. The well stocked honesty bar is a fabulous idea and went down very well with us . Doris the duck came to say hi too. Visited some beautiful areas of Cornwall whilst we stayed here. Including Looe, polperro, st Ives and talland bay to name just a few. Fantastic coastal walks for your fur babies. We came as guests and left as friends. we will definitely be returning in the future and we cannot wait. Got holiday blues already. Thank you so much from Rachel, Martin, sophie, Hannah and our giant fur babies Alfie and Max

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Ahh, so glad you enjoyed your stay, We loved having you all here and look forward to seeing you again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonwing...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Easily the best holiday ever in Cornwall. Great location, very warm welcome on arrival and the welcome pack which included fresh scones and bread def helped after a long journey. The fishing was amazing and plenty was caught, loved sitting in the summer house it was so peaceful. Fresh towels and lemon drizzle on Wednesday was a pleasant surprise. Would recommend Ashen cross Facebook page where the owners recommend local walks (we did quite a few) and places to visit. Tracy and Geoff are so friendly felt like we've known them years. Highly recommended and we will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
We loved having you all here and really looking forward to welcoming you back again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
It was lovely to see you again and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you all back again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing