We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value with wonderful view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Taganga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value with wonderful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We arrived in Taganga after camping a couple of nights in El Cabo in Tayrona. We hadn't booked anywhere and with a number of the b&b's full or just offering dormitory space we ended up on the beach front at Casa D'mer. Having spent most of our time in friendly guest houses, Casa D'mer initially seemed a little too formal. We even left to check out Bayview before coming back. I am so glad we did. It's at the quiet end of the beach and is run by a family who make you feel very welcome. At 56,000 Columbian pesos for a room with a shower it was one of the best value places we stayed in during our trip to Columbia. Our tent in El Cabo Tayrona cost the same per night. We had the place almost to ourselves and the view from the balcony watching the sun go down makes your shoulders relax and feel that you really are on holiday. Loved it... and would recommend it to anyone wanting to freshen up and feel a bit more civilised after a few days in the National Parks. Taganga has a real sense of fun with the locals enjoying themselves as much as the tourists. The beaches are not that great, they are small and most of the soft sand has been blown away by the strong winds, but its a far more relaxing place than Santa Marta. We'd heard Taganga had been spoilt by becoming too popular too quickly, but it seems to have found a rythm that really works.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    49
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
127
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Taganga is a lovely little, relaxed town and this hotel made the stay perfect. Although the rooms are good, everything is really clean and the terrace is lovely. The hotel is located at the end of the main street which is the street in front of the beach. It is less than 5 min walking from the hotel to the part of the beach where you can lay down ( as the rest is filled with boats). The best thing of the hotel is the people running it, the service is great starting from the reservation confirmation which is send in pdf with a personal letter till the end when they told the taxi driver to drive us slowly to the airport ( we had some bad experiences with drivers in several countries) . They will help you with everything and are also genuinely interested to know how everything was! The hotel has it's own little store where they sell drinks ( water and sodas etc) which is very reasonable priced and ice cream.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed 4 nights and came back for one additional night. Our stay was wonderful, great service and personal, lovely terrace!
Great stay, wonderful price/quality balance.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Andres Island, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

This is the best place that I have stayed in during the 3 months I have been away from home. I stayed here with my husband, we came for three days and ended up staying eight days...and all because the family that own the Casa are the best at loking after you.

The whole place is ultra clean. They serve excellent breakfasts that should not be missed. the wifi is brilliant and you can get it in your room which is brilliant. Hector and his brother can help you arrange tours, buses and visits to the area. they also make sure you pay the right price and dont get ripped off.

The service and the kindness of the two brothers is just unbelivable there is nothing that stops them from helping you.

You cant go wrong with this Casa.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripaway022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

What else can I say? We had such a great time there when we stayed for 3 nights after New Years in Cartagena that we booked another week after visiting Park Tayrona for the weekend. Brothers Hector and Wilmar and their mother Patricia were super friendly and so helpful it seemed like 5* concierge service. English is not widely spoken in Colombia so you have to practice your Spanish, but we had an amazing time in this little slice of Caribbean paradise. Our only regret was not doing the Lost City trek and we plan on doing it when we visit again. Taganga itself is a sleepy little fishing village which gets inundated by travelers during the Winter high season Dec 15-Jan 15. However, this is what makes it so much fun and we spent many warm evenings sipping rum cocktails and dancing the night away at Mirador an outdoor bar/dance club at the end of the beach. I highly recommend this place and I think its probably the best place to stay in anywhere in the Santa Marta/Taganga are. Park Tayrona is overrated and I suggest you pay a local fisherman to boat you into the park for day trips instead of enduring the tourist ghettos of the park where the park rangers are so paranoid they won't even let you swim on some beaches. We visited local Grenate beach and Punta Aguja, where we experienced the best snorkeling/diving and deserted beaches. Perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny_Jetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gil, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

We came across this gem by chance. It's brand new, well away from the noise of Tagangas clubs and bars but close enough to walk to them. Everything here has been given more attention than the other hostels, we stayed in two others (hostal divanga and pelican) which were dismal disappointments. The staff- one large family were superb and gave us personal attention, it's spotless, stylish and cheaper than the rest....for now. Rooms are light, modern and clean, central courtyard and upper terrace. And best of all- when you choose to go to sleep, the noise won't get to you! Pay them a visit before it becomes Tagangas no 1. and becomes more pricey.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taganga
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Taganga
Hotel Bahia Taganga
#7 of 12 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.7 mi away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#2 of 12 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Ballena Azul Hotel
La Ballena Azul Hotel
#8 of 12 in Taganga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 2 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kikuxtah
Hotel Kikuxtah
#4 of 12 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jaba Nibue
Hotel Jaba Nibue
#10 of 12 in Taganga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga

Property: Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
Address: Calle 9a 1 - 33 | Taganga - Santa Marta, Taganga 470001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location is ideal, we are close to everything but in a quiet area. Enjoy our pleasant terrace on the top or a refreshing swim in our small pool floor. Taganga and around you live multiple experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing