We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good price value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Taganga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“very good price value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

nice, clean rooms, free wifi, very friendly staff. very good for the price!
the hotel is very close to the ocean, but a llittle bit beside the (noisy) center of the busy carrera 1 of taganga.
i would choose it again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfast8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    49
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
127
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at the hotel. The hotel was very well priced and in a good location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They assisted us with setting up a taxi driver for a day trip to visit the Tayrona National Park.

The rooms were very simple with a double bed, small desk, TV, a fan and a bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wigs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed 7 nights here and were sad to leave. Our original reservation was for 5 nights (made with a deposit easily and inexpensively paid with Pago-Online), but we changed our plans to stay two additional nights. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean and the second floor covered patio with deck chairs and hammocks a wonderful place to hang out with lovely breezes and sea views. The hosts were exceptionally helpful, even walking with us to the local ATM when we had problems with a cash withdrawal, then making phone calls on our behalf.
The rooms don't have air conditioning and offer only cold (well, not really cold, just not heated) water, but two powerful fans and the warm climate make both of these features non-issues. As others have stated, the hotel's location at the end of the promenade means it's a bit isolated from the noise and bustle of Taganga's party scene. However, it's still just steps from the beach and a few blocks to the primary restaurants and stores. We wholeheartedly recommend this hotel; we don't think you'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room, number 204, and thought it was probably one of the cooler and best locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamaicaBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Very charming and helpful hosts. When in the middle of our stay went to the neighboring state, the owners have proposed to leave the main luggage safe and they pay for that day did not take. Rooms clean and spacious, close to the sea and nightlife Taganga. Adequate price. Comfortable terrace. No air conditioning, it's probably edinstvinny defect.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed here for our last night in Taganga. It is located on the far north end of the Taganga beach, a little way from the main central crazyness. The hotel was very clean, with impeccable service. There is a nice terrace on the second floor to allow for some relaxing and maybe a few beers. They have a small selection of games (we played dominoes for a while). None of the rooms have A/C as of this posting, but ours had a nice fan. if you are used to the tropics, then it wont be a problem here. Breakfast was included in our rate, and was very good and simple.

Room Tip: Try to get a room w/ windows on two sides to allow for a good breeze. 202 has this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agb_ctg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teacapan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Casa D'Mer is like an oasis in Taganga. We are very experienced travellers and we never reserve in advance and decided on this hotel after checking out five or six others and inquiring about prices and looking at the rooms. We were not sure about not having a/c but it wasn't at all necessary in August. Well they were the best at first appearances so we took a room. I can't imagine any of the other places being better in any other category. One great advantage was being at the quiet end of the Taganga malecon. The service and security was impeccable. At the end of our 11 days we were sad to leave and all the staff was there to see us off with hugs and hand shakes. Also Hector was extremely helpful with any inquiry and we would not have hesitated arranging any tour with him if we would have been able to do one. We were completely satisfied with every aspect of Casa D'Mer and highly recommend it. As I said we never reserve in advance because you never know
right? Well if you are sure you want to stay in Taganga then don't be afraid to reserve Casa D'Mer, it will not dissappoint you in any way. Dave and Nancy..Teacapan, Mexico

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachinTeacapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We paid 96,000 COP (about $57 USD) in August 2012. Everything the reviews say is true. It's really clean, the rooms are spacious, the beds pretty comfy and the service excellent. The staff let us check in hours before check-in without charge and apologizing for the inconvenience. I'd definitely stay again.

It was a challenging place for our taxi driver to find. I'd recommend you ask to be taken to the beachfront street and driven to the far north end. Then get out and walk one block past the end of the road and it's on the next street on your right. About 3 buildings away from the beach. I believe buses also drop off at the south end of the beach and it's a super short walk (5 min) from there.

The only drawback is the lack of AC. The place seems very secure and I felt safe leaving the windows open while I was out (there are safety bars on all the windows). However, there are no screens in the windows. So, I closed them at night to avoid bugs. There is a very good strong fan. But, it did get pretty warm in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slimeylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taganga
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Taganga
Hotel Bahia Taganga
#8 of 12 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.7 mi away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#3 of 12 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Ballena Azul Hotel
La Ballena Azul Hotel
#7 of 12 in Taganga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 2 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jaba Nibue
Hotel Jaba Nibue
#10 of 12 in Taganga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kikuxtah
Hotel Kikuxtah
#4 of 12 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga

Property: Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
Address: Calle 9a 1 - 33 | Taganga - Santa Marta, Taganga 470001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location is ideal, we are close to everything but in a quiet area. Enjoy our pleasant terrace on the top or a refreshing swim in our small pool floor. Taganga and around you live multiple experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing