We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marlon Brando and his Dobermans”
Review of Casa Los Cerros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Los Cerros
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Taganga
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Marlon Brando and his Dobermans”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Jean-Luc and his lovely wife and small son own a little slice of heaven tucked up on a hill in Taganga. Clean and prefect rooms with new ac's , tvs, fans, small patios, fridges, etc. Great pool. Good simple breakfasts, and most importantly, Jean-Luc is a wealth of information and knowledge and happy to help with anything and everything during and even AFTER you stay. There are 3 dogs that roam the grounds being sweet and friendly. A 5star spot no doubt. You can also definitely trust Jean-Luc's culinary suggestions. He didn't direct me toward a bad spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteAndAbbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
134
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Wow, what a find! We weren't planning on staying in Taganga, but glad we did for the pleasure of staying with Jean Luc and family alone. Lovely, perfectly private cabins with their own terraces. And own supply of Club colombia and Rhon! Lovely swimming pool with great views over the bay. Jean Luc and family couldn't do more to welcome you with great chats, cocktails and food. So good we came back a second time in the same holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My fiancé and I recently stayed five nights at Casa Los Cerros and enjoyed ourselves immensely. We had been to Santa Marta earlier in 2013 and wanted to return to the coast for vacation but wanted something a little more low-key. Casa Los Cerros provided the perfect relaxing getaway we were looking for. The location is just far enough from the center of town that we enjoyed a beautiful scenic view of the Sierra Nevada mountains and the town without much of the noise. If we did want to venture into town, it was a 8-10 minute walk or a quick taxi ride. Ana and Jean Luc were extremely attentive hosts who took pride in making sure we were comfortable and all our needs were met. Jean Luc was helpful in suggesting a guide (Tyto!) for a fishing excursion and provided us with transportation to the airport when it was time to leave. After my fishing excursion Ana cooked the day’s catch to perfection and to my delight, Spider Man (young Sebastian) took pride in helping serve us. The rooms were very clean and the well-stocked refrigerator with plenty of cold beer and water (restocked daily) was extremely appreciated. We enjoyed the patio in front of our room as it included a small table with chairs and a hammock for taking in the beautiful view. The large pool was crystal clear and was a refreshing place to float with beer in hand while taking in the sun. Breakfast poolside was a must each morning. If staying in Taganga, this is the place for you.

Side note: I forgot my hat when we left. We emailed our hosts and asked they hold on to it for me until we return (which we definitely will). They promptly replied it would be waiting for me. Thank you Ana & Jean Luc!

Room Tip: You really cannot go wrong with any of the three available rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AboveTheClouds85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I can't say enough to recommend this place. Jean Luc and his beautiful wife, Ana, make you feel at home. They even watched our bags while we camped in Tayrona park. The room is beautiful and clean. The complimentary breakfast is perfect (and served next to the pool overlooking the bay). No place in Taganga or Santa Marta can compare.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koffee412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Jean Luc and his wife make their home your home. From the moment we arrived, we felt right at home. Delicious gourmet french/columbian cooking, and a nice selection of beverages in our room refrigerator, definitely all priced right (complimentary breakfast). The rooms are just below the main house, offer private patios, natural stone bathrooms and all have access to the entire property. Meals are eaten poolside offering the best view of Taganga's beautiful hills and ocean. Only a few rooms on premises, so lots of privacy. Fully walled and gated property offers extra security, and Jean Luc was always more than happy to offer us the short drive into town center in his truck. They really made our second trip back here special. Best hammocks in Taganga, great place to hangout and relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We arrived here after a four hour bus trip from Cartagena and while the bay its self is very scenic the town is not at all.

However, our hosts greeted us warmly and that hospitality has continued for the entire stay. Jean-Luc assists with tours and even drove us to town for dinner and Ana very kindly presented us with welcome drinks and made meals for us outside the serving hours and generally made us feel very welcome.

The rooms are more than adequate and even have fridge and basic kitchen provisions. Airconditioning and fan was necessary and the cable tv and dvds a bonus.

Room Tip: Only three rooms. Ours on the right seemed to be the best of the two side by side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaceyVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

I cannot begin to go on about how fabulous stay here. Bit of a bumpy ride there but other than that just amazing. Room comfy clean and relaxing and cable tv. The food was the best of our 3 week trip through Peru and Columbia. There's a fabulous pool which is lovely. The hosts are one of a kind and cannot do enough for u. They go over and above the call of duty. We even got dropped to the airport after put stay. All in all we felt safe, comfy, and had a fabulous stay. Thanks so much for our relaxing stay xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelle26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taganga
21.3 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Taganga
Hotel Bahia Taganga
#7 of 12 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jaba Nibue
Hotel Jaba Nibue
#10 of 12 in Taganga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#3 of 12 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
0.5 mi away
La Ballena Azul Hotel
La Ballena Azul Hotel
#6 of 12 in Taganga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Los Cerros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Los Cerros

Property: Casa Los Cerros
Address: Carrera 2 No 1-35 | Dumaruka, Taganga 47001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Los Cerros 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you very much for your information request. La Casa Los Cerros is located 300 m from the sea in the beautiful bay of Taganga, and 5 street from the town center, in an ideal place for relaxation and enjoyment of all, in a familiar environment, with calm and security. The house has only 3 beautiful and comfortable private studio, independent, SHOWER WITH HOT WATER, fully equipped (air conditioning, fan, safe, plasma TV, dvd-cd-mp3-radio, a kitchenette (fridge, microwave oven), terrace with hammock, table chairs. Each study is designed for a couple and an additional person and has everything you need to make your stay a truly enjoyable experience. Our only interest: make your break a dream. The house is with a swimming pool (11m x 5m) with 3 palm kiosks, game room, bar, sound, gym,american billar, ping-pong, WI-FI Unlimited, hammocks kiosk, we have a complete BBQ master and also for our guests, we offer restaurant and laundry. In addition, for your transport and trips, we have a comfortable van with 7 seats. Any question or inquiry about transport from the Santa-Marta airport or from Cartagena Casa Los Cerros, we are at your total disposition. Muy cordialmente ANA & JEAN-LUC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Casa Los Cerros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing