We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little backpacker hotel with a whole lot of charm!”
Review of Hotel Oso Perezoso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Oso Perezoso
Ranked #14 of 21 Taganga B&B and Inns
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little backpacker hotel with a whole lot of charm!”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Located just a block from Taganga's main street/boardwalk, Oso Perezoso is situated in a perfect location, close to all that Taganga has to offer. It is also a quick walk to Playa Grande, a beach reached only by boat or on foot, which is about 15 minutes away (depending on how quickly you walk). I have spent a lot of time at Oso Perezoso, as it is located about 5 hours away from Maracaibo, Venezuela, where I live with my family. Our stays have ranged from 1 week to 3 months. Whenever we leave, we miss Oso Perezoso and can't wait for our next opportunity to return. The hotel is very simple, but it is very clean and looked after diligently by its caretaker and by its and owners. All of the hotel's rooms come with a private bathroom with shower and all have a ceiling fan. There is also a hammock dormitory and sleeping loft in the crow's nest of the hotel (above the rooftop terrace, both of which offer incredible views). There is always a sense of community at the hotel. Most of the visitors that I have met at the hotel have extended their stay or returned to visit again, which I think speaks highly of the place. The hotel has a great deal of charm, but it's crown jewel is the rooftop terrace. With sea and mountains views, and a refreshing breeze, guests spend as much time as they can up on the terrace. It is the common area of the hotel, where meals are served by the cook and drinks are lovingly prepared by the staff. There is always music playing up on the terrace. My favorite spot is on one of the hammocks on the terrace, where I can enjoy the breeze and the view and the comings and goings of other guests. There is always opportunity for good conversation. Oso Perezoso is a small, simple hotel. But it is very clean and very charming. The cafe on the rooftop serves a nice selection of great international foods and offers visitors a relaxing and picturesque place of respite after a long day in the sun or diving. The hotel staff are also very good about helping arrange trekking and diving excursions by reputable guides/companies. The hotel offers a great deal of personal service to visitors, despite its budget price. I highly recommend the Oso Perezoso. I might even see you there sometime...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabrinadechile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    7
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
6
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed here a few years ago and loved it. We just stumble upon this great guest house and made it home for about a week. The owners were lovely, sending us in the right direction for choosing dive companies, getting to the National park, and finding the best food stand in town. THere was always a very relaxed vibe, it was especially nice in the evening. After spending most of the day diving it was great to know we had a place to chill out in hammocks and socialize with other travelers. OH and they have a pretty killer selection of music to lounge out to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casspepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I have been in this hostel for 10 days. The rooms are simple but cheap in high season. They don't raise the prices compared to the other hostels, but not that much of a bargain in low season (all year but mid-december to mid-january).

They don't have windows or mosquito nets in the rooms, only cold water in the shower, as usual in the coast of Colombia and very narrow stairs.

Breakfast is good, and included in the price, served 9am - 11am. Fruit salad / fruit crepe or eggs + coffe + juice.

You have to pay COP 5,000 extra to use the WIFI.

One of the days that I was there I forgot my keys in my room, when I got back to the hostel at 11pm I knocked the owner, Nathan, room to ask him to for help, but he just said I'm sorry I don't have a key until tomorrow and went back to sleep. Not the attitude to have a hotel running. I wouldn't come back here.

Room Tip: The best room is #7. Avoid "el nido" or hammocks if you want to sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedropaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Walking up a crumbled brick road we were a little hesitant as to what we would find, we walked into a very small and colorful reception where we were pleasantly told the prices for rooms. The girl that worked at the reception offered to let us see the rooms, which although simple were very clean and comfortable.

All rooms have a working fan, we took a room on the third floor, which although inconvenient to walk up to on small staircases with backpacks- was a great choice because of the wind. At night, we had a lovely breeze coming in through the wooden windows, which we left open- securing the curtains to the frame on the inside- so that we could get the breeze but still have privacy. I would stay here again, but instead choose one of the street facing rooms, which although smaller (and noisier) might not .

Upon paying for the room we were given a breakfast menu for the next morning- you pick what you want to eat the next day and you let them know around what time you'll be waking up and they prepare you homemade and delicious breakfast the next day. You also get freshly made Colombian coffee or freshly squeezed fruit juice. They have a small kitchen which you are free to use, so we walked to the corner store and bought rice and veggies and cooked it at the hostel on the night we arrived. We had a warmly lit dinner overlooking the Colombian mountains. It was amazing!

On the top floor, where the kitchen and dining room is located there are a couple of hammocks, but still another crickety wooden "flight" up leads you to another two rooms with amazing views. One of the "rooms" has additional hammocks, the other a very comfortable covered mattress. I can imagine that you can pay a cheaper price to stay up there, yet while we didn't use it for that, it was a really relaxing and comfortable place to go to in the early (and hot) hours of the morning to read a book and appreciate the view. Luckily we were here the week before schools in Colombia let out for summer (and general vacation time)- so there weren't a lot of tourists, and hammock space wasn't an issue. All the people that were staying here though were really friendly and open, so it's a good place to make friends.

I don't recommend this place if you want luxury, if you are not used to hostels or backpacking. It's very simple, but in its simpleness it matches the vibe of Taganga- to kick back and enjoy the most important things in life- not the frilly details. It was a great place to recharge after a long trip, the people who work here are really nice and understand English- they really go out of their way to make the stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soneca16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taganga hotels
0.0 mi away
La Masia Summer Hostel
La Masia Summer Hostel
#18 of 71 in Taganga
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Italia Guest House
0.0 mi away
Casa Moringa
Casa Moringa
#10 of 71 in Taganga
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Techos Azules
Hostal Techos Azules
#17 of 71 in Taganga
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Relax
Casa Relax
#3 of 71 in Taganga
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nirvana Hostel Taganga
Nirvana Hostel Taganga
#16 of 71 in Taganga
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oso Perezoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oso Perezoso

Property: Hotel Oso Perezoso
Address: Calle 17, 2-36, Taganga, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oso Perezoso is a small, three-story guesthouse located just a block from the Caribbean sea, in the small town of Taganga, Colombia. Situated amidst the homes of friendly fisherwomen and multi-generational families, Oso Perezoso has a comfortable and welcoming feel that has consistently earned it an entry in Lonely Planet Colombia. Our seven private rooms include singles, doubles, and a three-person dorm room, ensuring that all travelers can find a comfortable fit at Oso. All rooms include a private bath. A hammock dorm can also accommodate travelers seeking a different (and cheaper) experience. The third floor of the Hotel Oso Perezoso hosts an open-air terrace, covered by a rustic thatch roof and open on all sides to an exceptional panoramic view of the mountains and sea. Just above the kitchen is a rooftop hammock cabana, available for those who prefer a more rustic night's sleep. Hotel Oso Perezoso has wireless internet, breakfast available, and is just a short walk from the Caribbean sea. We offer free luggage storage for guests who wish to explore the region: Tayrona National Park, Cuidad Perdida, or surrounds. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is here to help with travel plans, treks, dives, transport, and anything else you need in your travels. We love Colombia and want you to love it too! Feliz Viajes y Hasta Pronto! **In case you still need to brush up on your Spanish, "oso" means bear and "perezoso" means lazy. Although in Colombian Spanish, "oso perezoso" also means a sloth the vibe is the same: lazy hammock swingin' and fresh juice sippin'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Oso Perezoso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing