We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place trapped me (in a good way)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oso Perezoso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Oso Perezoso
Ranked #14 of 20 Taganga B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place trapped me (in a good way)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

i only meant to stay in taganga for a few days and ended up staying for 10 and this place was a big reason why. great owners/family, great food, great atmosphere etc. i traveled through south america for about 8 months and this place holds many of my favorite memories. i can't to return someday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jesse s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    7
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
6
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

This was the perfect hostel.. myself and my husband stayed in the best room in the hostel. All the rooms were booked up when we visited and we were looked after very well and given the choice to stay in this small alcove just as you came up the stairs to the breakfast level. This I think was the best spot in the whole building. The view, the breeze and just the very content and cosy feeling.. a feeling that is hard to find in many hostels.
The breakfast was also tremendous and something we looked forward to every morning. We also made a little friend. Lola who was the house dog who followed us everywhere in town and we miss very much. We hope she is doing well. If we are in that part of the world again we will be sure to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rozina_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I´ve stayed at the Oso Perezoso twice on separate trips to Taganga. It is definitely my home base on the Colombia coast. The rates are quite good- you can get a private room at the same price as a dorm in many places. Simple, but pretty and clean, and located about a block or two from the beach. The breakfast is awesome and the staff and owners sweet. And, who can forget Roberto el Loro and Lolita la perrita! Love it there!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I've had the pleasure of being a guest at the Hotel Oso Perezoso a number of times and wouldn't stay at another place while in Taganga. The hotel is super clean, friendly, helpful staff, relaxed vibes and makes for one of the best hammocking spots in the village. The breezes you get while upstairs at this vertically awesome space just can't be beat after a long day in the Caribbean heat. Just be warned, you may stay longer than you planned!

Room Tip: All the rooms rock, but the middle floor is my favorite. Good space, good ceiling fans and great in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McComb, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Sixty-somethings who are agile but not looking for luxury will find Oso Perezoso completely delightful. If you can climb a not-too-steep ladder you can sit or lie in a hammock for hours on the top floor, with coffee or beer in hand, reading, visiting with a wonderful assortment of guests, a constant strong breeze keeping you cool. Restaurants, strolling on the beach, swimming in the cove are all accessible within 2 blocks. Breakfasts are delicious! Each room has a private bath. We loved it!

Room Tip: Second floor private rooms are economical. Hammocks available for rock-bottom prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MargeryF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Located just a block from Taganga's main street/boardwalk, Oso Perezoso is situated in a perfect location, close to all that Taganga has to offer. It is also a quick walk to Playa Grande, a beach reached only by boat or on foot, which is about 15 minutes away (depending on how quickly you walk). I have spent a lot of time at Oso Perezoso, as it is located about 5 hours away from Maracaibo, Venezuela, where I live with my family. Our stays have ranged from 1 week to 3 months. Whenever we leave, we miss Oso Perezoso and can't wait for our next opportunity to return. The hotel is very simple, but it is very clean and looked after diligently by its caretaker and by its and owners. All of the hotel's rooms come with a private bathroom with shower and all have a ceiling fan. There is also a hammock dormitory and sleeping loft in the crow's nest of the hotel (above the rooftop terrace, both of which offer incredible views). There is always a sense of community at the hotel. Most of the visitors that I have met at the hotel have extended their stay or returned to visit again, which I think speaks highly of the place. The hotel has a great deal of charm, but it's crown jewel is the rooftop terrace. With sea and mountains views, and a refreshing breeze, guests spend as much time as they can up on the terrace. It is the common area of the hotel, where meals are served by the cook and drinks are lovingly prepared by the staff. There is always music playing up on the terrace. My favorite spot is on one of the hammocks on the terrace, where I can enjoy the breeze and the view and the comings and goings of other guests. There is always opportunity for good conversation. Oso Perezoso is a small, simple hotel. But it is very clean and very charming. The cafe on the rooftop serves a nice selection of great international foods and offers visitors a relaxing and picturesque place of respite after a long day in the sun or diving. The hotel staff are also very good about helping arrange trekking and diving excursions by reputable guides/companies. The hotel offers a great deal of personal service to visitors, despite its budget price. I highly recommend the Oso Perezoso. I might even see you there sometime...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabrinadechile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed here a few years ago and loved it. We just stumble upon this great guest house and made it home for about a week. The owners were lovely, sending us in the right direction for choosing dive companies, getting to the National park, and finding the best food stand in town. THere was always a very relaxed vibe, it was especially nice in the evening. After spending most of the day diving it was great to know we had a place to chill out in hammocks and socialize with other travelers. OH and they have a pretty killer selection of music to lounge out to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casspepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taganga hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
0.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Italia Guest House
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Alquimista
Hostal El Alquimista
#23 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Techos Azules
Hostal Techos Azules
#17 of 68 in Taganga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa Jamaica
Hostal Casa Jamaica
#20 of 68 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Villa Mary
Hostel Villa Mary
#2 of 68 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oso Perezoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oso Perezoso

Property: Hotel Oso Perezoso
Address: Calle 17, 2-36, Taganga, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oso Perezoso is a small, three-story guesthouse located just a block from the Caribbean sea, in the small town of Taganga, Colombia. Situated amidst the homes of friendly fisherwomen and multi-generational families, Oso Perezoso has a comfortable and welcoming feel that has consistently earned it an entry in Lonely Planet Colombia. Our seven private rooms include singles, doubles, and a three-person dorm room, ensuring that all travelers can find a comfortable fit at Oso. All rooms include a private bath. A hammock dorm can also accommodate travelers seeking a different (and cheaper) experience. The third floor of the Hotel Oso Perezoso hosts an open-air terrace, covered by a rustic thatch roof and open on all sides to an exceptional panoramic view of the mountains and sea. Just above the kitchen is a rooftop hammock cabana, available for those who prefer a more rustic night's sleep. Hotel Oso Perezoso has wireless internet, breakfast available, and is just a short walk from the Caribbean sea. We offer free luggage storage for guests who wish to explore the region: Tayrona National Park, Cuidad Perdida, or surrounds. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is here to help with travel plans, treks, dives, transport, and anything else you need in your travels. We love Colombia and want you to love it too! Feliz Viajes y Hasta Pronto! **In case you still need to brush up on your Spanish, "oso" means bear and "perezoso" means lazy. Although in Colombian Spanish, "oso perezoso" also means a sloth the vibe is the same: lazy hammock swingin' and fresh juice sippin'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Oso Perezoso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing