We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel with great vibes. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa de Felipe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa de Felipe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hostel with great vibes. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent 3 days here in April. We had an amazing time. The staff are friendly and the rooms were very clean. There are hammocks everywhere and the view from the rooftop patio is amazing and you can catch a great sunset over the bay. If you are here on a weekend check out mirador for a great party.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1234567ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    111
    37
    12
    11
See reviews for
13
120
68
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hostel for one night and it was fantastic! A beautifully clean room with a nice cold shower for the hot humid weather. They also have a great juice bar which are fairly cheap. The lovely outdoor garden and hammocks are a lovely place to relax. I'd definitely recommend this hostel if you are ever in Taganga.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed casa de felipe! Nice place with hammocks and
Rooftop place with nice view. Only the chicken kept us awake during the night. No hot water - but you dont need it! Luggage storage for free during your lost city trail (dont miss this!!!!)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hfraenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel's best feature is definitely the great restaurant. For what you get, the prices are really fair because the food is delicious. The restaurant is open Wed-Sun. They also have a juice bar that is open every day. If you stay at Casa de Felipe, you definitely have to try the jugos! Edgar isn't the most friendly guy, but I think he was warming up to me after a couple of days (hard to tell with him though). The rest of the staff is nice enough and some of them, like the guy who checked me in also speak English and remembered my name right away.

I had a single room (23), which was fine. There's no airconditioning so instead you have a ceiling fan. Personally, I much preferred this to the constantly overcooled airconditioning of my last hostel in Cartagena, but if you do want airconditioning, you should book a different hostel. I've slept in better beds, but for the price the room was fine. The hostel was fairly quiet at night, but there was noise from a house close-by so I ended up having to sleep with earplugs anyway.

The hostel is spacious, so it doesn't seem crowded, but if you go to the bar/restaurant in the evening, there's usually a nice round of people to talk to. There are a lot of hammocks to hang out in. It gets really hot during the day, so I recommend going up to the Mirador, because it's usually windy there.

I didn't have any problems on the way down to the sea, but I recommend going in a group at night and not to go further than the club "Sensation" (some guys from the hostel told me the police officers said to them it's not safe if you keep going after that).

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank summerexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have been travelling for the last 5 months, and found this hostel to be one of the best I have stayed in. I was only intending to stay in Taganga for 3 days, but ended up staying for an additional week. And the main reason... is because I found this gem. For me it really was a home from home.

The layout of the hostels is spacious and it never felt overcrowded. The rooms are adequate and and you have the option of a private room or dorm. Hammocks are situated all around the hostels. They have a pretty courtyard and mirador where you can sit back, and unwind after a hard day at the beach.

All the staff - (including) reception, kitchen and cleaning staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, nothing was to much effort. They always had a smile and were ready to help. The rooms were cleaned and my bed was made on a daily basis. Towels were supplied which was great - not many hostels provide clean towels so this was a bonus.

The kitchen area is basic but it is ideal if you fancy making something quick and simple. They also have a barbecue area!

Free WIFI and a TV room is provided. Prices were extremely reasonable! 20 000 - 27 000 pesos for a dorm room.

Ideal location if you are planning a trip to Parque Tayrona or Ciudad Perdida.

The crowd of people staying here helped with the ambience and vibe of the place. Really chilled and friendly travellers. I had a really wonderful and memorable time at Casa de Felipe! So would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Pros
- fantastic common areas
- has charm
- big, thereby easy to meet people
- nice mix of guests (nationality, age)

Cons
- location, while the town is not big at all, Casa De Felipe is at its upper edge, so the walk to beach and the restaurant-strip is the farthest you'll walk in Taganga. Admittedly only 10-15 minutes.
- hot - while there was a cooling breeze down near the sea each evening, the hostel seems to sit in a bit of a wind-protected area and remains pretty hot at night. I assume staying closer to the breezy area, it would be a bit more bearable at night (in a room without aircon).
- I didn't like the fans installed in our room, small, fast, oscillating - I prefer ceiling ventilators for bedrooms = big, slow, gentle constant breeze.
- the room didn't have glass windows or netting, just wooden slats, which allowed mosquitos in. Not many were present, but 1 or 2 each night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolandinho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
306 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Casa de Felipe is a lovely hostel, though I wouldn't spend too much time in Taganga itself. The hostel is set around a pretty, large courtyard with several tables and hammocks to relax. The rooms are a decent size, very clean, comfortable and quiet. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful, though the bar staff can be a bit less friendly until you accept you have to pay in small change every time. The bar serves a range of drinks including lovely fresh juices and the restaurant serves good food. There are a range of breakfast options available to buy, even just the muesli with banana was great.

Location is a short walk from the beach front. A lot of people will try to scare you off Taganga but you just have to be careful. We were a group of girls and made sure not to take bags or any possessions out with us at night and not wear flashy jewellery, and we were perfectly safe, though the area is not as generally safe and friendly as the rest of the country.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taganga hotels
0.2 mi away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#3 of 12 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kikuxtah
Hotel Kikuxtah
#4 of 12 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Taganga
Hotel Bahia Taganga
#8 of 12 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Villa Mary
Hostel Villa Mary
#2 of 68 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Masia Summer Hostel
La Masia Summer Hostel
#22 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Relax
Casa Relax
#4 of 68 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Felipe

Property: La Casa de Felipe
Address: CRA 5 A No 19-13, Taganga, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa de Felipe 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel "La Casa de Felipe" is situated in Taganga, just 15 minutes by bus from Santa Marta. It's located in the upper part of the village, seven minutes walk from the beach. It's ideal for relaxing on the terrace after a day of excursions to Tayrona Park, The Lost City, diving, or on the beach. We offer dormitories, private rooms with private bathroom and studio apartments with fully equipped kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Casa de Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Felipe Hotel Taganga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing