We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tidal Life Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maitland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tidal Life Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Maitland B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Lovely village, lovely house, lovely room, lovely welcome. Best drinking water found on a 5 week trip to Canada. (Much better than I have to drink at home, but that's not difficult.)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam635836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

This isn't your floral chintz B & B, but instead is a rambling house filled with quirky, unexpected touches. Pluses are a great breakfast, a lounge for guests with comfortable sofas and chairs (and lots of board games), books you'd never come across anywhere else (I spent some time with the story of a Nova Scotian sailor), and a host who always has something on the go. Two caveats - all guest rooms share one bath which could be dicey if there's a full house, and the age of the house means it has a mustiness that can set off mold/mildew sensitivities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelbing, Owner at The Tidal Life Guesthouse, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thanks for the review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! Just to clarify a few points. The house has more than three full washrooms, only one is designated per room. No one ever has to share a washroom, we take bookings based on that alone. Also, this house is 150 year old heritage home, so it doesn’t have loads of character, but the house is tested on a yearly basis, given it’s age, and it is 100% mold free. We apologize if you had any sensitivities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I travelled with 4 of my best mates to this beautiful country town and stayed at this guesthouse!!! And my goodness, I could not have wished for anything better. Kelly and his mascots (Louie and Armstrong) make you feel so warm and welcomed to be in their home. It truly is a home away from home. And even then, it may just be that little bit better. From croquet to sitting around a fire, venturing out in the woods to ghost tours. I had the best four days of my holiday here at Tidal Life Guesthouse and there will be so many moments and memories I will never forget. Kelly will be able to tell you anything you want to know in the area and about his home "hint hint", be sure to ask the history of this amazing 150 year old pleasure. Kelly transformed this amazing place into a guesthouse with the utmost character and heart-filled home I have ever seen, and the best part is, he wants to share it with everyone. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! Thanks for such an amazing holiday Kelly x

Room Tip: No need for a tip here. The room will pick you :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank namuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

A group of 4 of us (Australians) stayed at this fantastic b&b. The 140 year old house as a charm all its own with a spacious yet coosy feel. All the rooms were very comfortable each with its own style. Kelly was am amazing host making at all feel right at home. His knowledge of the areas history was of great interest to me.We even had a day of Croquet and drinks in the huge grounds around the house. Bings restaurant only a min away from the b&b is must do in maitland with great food and beer selection.
This was an undoubted highlight of my 8 week north america trip that i couldn't recommend higher to any traveller.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taylorwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I spent 4 days at the Tidal Life Guesthouse and it was truly a magical experience. Kelly (the owner), Louie and Armstrong (the dogs) were amazing hosts, they were extremely warm and welcoming and accommodating into their home, which made it hard to leave to see the sights of Maitland. Kelly who also owns Bing's Restaurant, which is located about a 3 minute drive up the road, served up beautiful and delicious food, with a variety of beer. I can't fault anything about my stay and look forward to coming back to Maitland from Australia just to experience it again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here several days with four friends. Kelly is a very friendly host and made us all feel extremely welcomed. The house is beautiful, warm and in a prime location to explore fundy bay area. If you make your way to Maitland you have to go to Kelly's restaurant, Bing's Eatery. The food is very tasty and Kelly is very knowledgeable about the Canadian micro beers. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Blue room gets the morning light. A very comfy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I have stayed at the Tidal Life B&B twice in the past year, and will be planning a couple more trips up this summer! It's the perfect country getaway, only an hour outside of Halifax, where Kelly, the owner, instantly makes you feel like family. The rooms are comfy and spacious, and extremely well-kept. The whole house is a gem, to be honest! Kelly makes amazing breakfasts that showcase local, seasonal foods; he also owns a fantastic restaurant/art gallery/music room up the road that radiates the same warmth that the Tidal Life does.

The Tidal Life isn't just a place to crash after a day of rafting/touring the area, staying there will undoubtedly be a high point in your whole trip! And is really worth making a special trip to Maitland for.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Tidal Life Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tidal Life Guesthouse

Property: The Tidal Life Guesthouse
Address: 78 Cedar Rd, Maitland, Nova Scotia B0N 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Maitland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Maitland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidal Life Guesthouse is a laid back and eclectic house built in the 1850's. It caters to all walks of life, is situated on 13 acres of lush wetlands, and boasts four distinct rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tidal Life Guesthouse Maitland, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing