We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic charmer!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maitland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tidal Life Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Maitland B&B and Inns
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic charmer!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent just one night here and loved this wonderfully charming, historic house with quirky touches and art everywhere. We met Kelly at his restaurant and then let ourselves in to the house. Louis and Armstrong (Kelly's dogs) stole our hearts & that was before Kelly told us how he had rescued them both!! We used the back deck and had a BBQ dinner (we shopped en route) and had use of the kitchen too. Breakfast was delicious and we were sorry not to spend more time with Kelly as we were off chasing the tidal bore!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna-jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

After three weeks of traveling big city's this was so peaceful.This was the first week it was open after being closed for the winter. When we arrived (mothers day) the owner Kelly was busy working in the only restaurant in town (which he also owns) . Kelly made us feel right at home, The house is old and rustic and you feel comfortable . We had our own bathroom being as we where the only ones there but it was not attached to the bedroom which I would have preferred. Lots of board games and books, like previous reviews there is not a lot to do in Maitland but everyone is very friendly. Kelly recommended we do the tidal boor and Burntcoat Head Pk which did and were thrilled with both. Breakfasts were huge and delicious and kept us going all day. Did I mention Bings eatery is the only place to eat for milessssssss. Being shoulder season the restaurant was only open weekend but Kelly opened up just for us and the meal was delicious . Thanks Kelly you were a great host.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tall Timbers, Maryland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

there was lots to like---a large room, modern bathroom, art on every inch of wallspace, books galore to browse, tasty breakfast, accommodating hosts.

Don't expect to find much to do in Maitland, however, and there was only one restaurant, which was fine. We stayed here because it was close to our river rafting excursion the next day. If you want lively, though, Maitland is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days after a seven day whirlwind tour of Cape Breton Island in a 21 foot motor home. By then we needed some R&R and space. This place definitely fit the bill. After only an hour or two we had amorphisized with the house. Its a 150 year old Farm house which Kelly and friend Steven have decorated with local folk art,and paintings. ( some of them are works from Kelly.) Kelly also owns Bings the local eatery and social gathering place. Great food and service. One afternoon my wife and I enjoyed a bottle of wine with assorted cheeses on the balcony. We plan on coming back next year and tour around the southern shore. As an off shoot, the white water tidal bore rafting is a must. But take your own desposible camera.
Thanks again Kelly and Steve.

Room Tip: We loved the Blue Room, what a beautiful sun set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Lovely village, lovely house, lovely room, lovely welcome. Best drinking water found on a 5 week trip to Canada. (Much better than I have to drink at home, but that's not difficult.)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam635836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This isn't your floral chintz B & B, but instead is a rambling house filled with quirky, unexpected touches. Pluses are a great breakfast, a lounge for guests with comfortable sofas and chairs (and lots of board games), books you'd never come across anywhere else (I spent some time with the story of a Nova Scotian sailor), and a host who always has something on the go. Two caveats - all guest rooms share one bath which could be dicey if there's a full house, and the age of the house means it has a mustiness that can set off mold/mildew sensitivities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelbing, Owner at The Tidal Life Guesthouse, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thanks for the review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! Just to clarify a few points. The house has more than three full washrooms, only one is designated per room. No one ever has to share a washroom, we take bookings based on that alone. Also, this house is 150 year old heritage home, so it doesn’t have loads of character, but the house is tested on a yearly basis, given it’s age, and it is 100% mold free. We apologize if you had any sensitivities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I travelled with 4 of my best mates to this beautiful country town and stayed at this guesthouse!!! And my goodness, I could not have wished for anything better. Kelly and his mascots (Louie and Armstrong) make you feel so warm and welcomed to be in their home. It truly is a home away from home. And even then, it may just be that little bit better. From croquet to sitting around a fire, venturing out in the woods to ghost tours. I had the best four days of my holiday here at Tidal Life Guesthouse and there will be so many moments and memories I will never forget. Kelly will be able to tell you anything you want to know in the area and about his home "hint hint", be sure to ask the history of this amazing 150 year old pleasure. Kelly transformed this amazing place into a guesthouse with the utmost character and heart-filled home I have ever seen, and the best part is, he wants to share it with everyone. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! Thanks for such an amazing holiday Kelly x

Room Tip: No need for a tip here. The room will pick you :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Tidal Life Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tidal Life Guesthouse

Property: The Tidal Life Guesthouse
Address: 78 Cedar Rd, Maitland, Nova Scotia B0N 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Maitland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Maitland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidal Life Guesthouse is a laid back and eclectic house built in the 1850's. It caters to all walks of life, is situated on 13 acres of lush wetlands, and boasts four distinct rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tidal Life Guesthouse Maitland, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing