We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Natural Amusement Park Ride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shubenacadie River Runners

Shubenacadie River Runners
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Maitland
Certificate of Excellence
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Natural Amusement Park Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I took this adventure along with our two children (ages 7 and 10). What a blast! We were smiling and laughing the entire time. We were head to toe soaked with muddy river water and we could not have had more fun getting dirty. Our guide, Tom, was great and made sure everyone was happy. Some helpful advice - make sure you wear clothes that you would not mind discarding if necessary. Also, bring soap and shampoo as there are showers available at the facility that you will probably want to use. Thirdly, if you are bringing young children, the 2-hour tour is plenty of time for youngsters. I highly recommend making time to do this while in Nova Scotia.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rhiaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    20
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“You have to try it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My sister and I have gone two years in a row.The first we had Emma and this year Nicole. The company andall the staff are great warm and friendly.The teach you thing about the area.All in all it was a great experence. We are going to make it a yearly event. THANK YOU so much.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peachzca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Wet, Wild and lots of fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My sister and I have done this twice now, we brought friends the second time. We had Emma first year and this year we had Nicole, both lots of fun. The first one is called Giggles and it's well named. Then the laughing continues the whole trip. The Haystacks and High Voltage are crazy fun. The full day is worth it for High Voltage (one of the last 3 sets) and the BBQ after. We're going to make this an annual trip now.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laheara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Seriously you must do this .. this company was great, they were warm and fun and showed us a GREAT time. While we saw other companies out on the water we seemed to be having more fun . We got to get out and walk on a sandbar in the middle of the river which no one else did either .. we did the 2 hr which was totally perfect .. river runners is your choice

Helpful?
1 Thank tanya j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
“Running the River with Connor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

As luck would have it Connor was chosen to take our group down the river. What a great ride and very informative tour with lots of laughs. Not sure how many gallons of the 'chocolate milk' water I drank though! Thanks Connor for a very fun adventure!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shubenacadie River Runners also viewed

South Maitland, Nova Scotia
Maitland, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Truro, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Shubenacadie River Runners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing