We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Faux-la-Montagne, Creuse, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Janine L
1 review
“Stunning Location”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We only spent one night in this Beautiful, peaceful romantic gite and we appreciated the warm hospitality of the owners. The area is very Beautiful and calm. We would certainly recommend for nature lovers. We will be back to see the progress of the rest of your Fantastic place!
Thank you Janine & Menno

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tula t
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we have just returned from our 1st trip to France,cottage and owners were fantastic .we were made very welcome and treated like family .accomodation was spotlessly clean and there was everything we needed .the bottle of in fridge was greatly appreciated ,we have been converted and will definetly go back .a huge thank you to BRIAN,CHRISTINE,NADINE AND SIMON YOU WERE PERFCT HOSTS .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage and owners
Liked least: there was nothing we disliked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, we really enjoyed having you stay with us. When you return for your next holiday, we will make sure we have a BBQ and wine next to the lake ready for you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazeds201...
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“French Idyll”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at River Cottage for 2 weeks at the end of may and could not have had a more perfect holiday. The Mountain family who own the property welcomed us like old friends and could not be more helpful, they certainly go the extra mile to make you feel at home. From the minute we arrived they made us feel very welcome and this continued for our whole stay.
The cottage is a delight with everything you need, set in idyllic surroundings.The property where the cottage is set is lovely, with nice walks and a lovely lake set in the grounds. You have a wonderful sense of isolation and tranquility
but are only a short drive away from the village and towns. The area in general is a nature lovers paradise with forest clad hills and beautiful lakes and rivers. The whole area is a get away from it all haven. We will definately be returning to this quiet, stress free, french idyll and we cannot wait to see our new friends( The Mountain family) in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts friendliness and the tranquility
Liked least: No negatives
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thank you for leaving such lovely comments. We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and appreciated the walks and views the national park has to offer. We will defiantly look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delphinen...
Paray Le Monial, France
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydydy
Chambery, France
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Le calme
Liked least: Les oies sui couraient après les enfants (mais très drôle au final)
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier L
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Le cadre
Liked least: Le wifi n'est pas dans l'habitation mais dehors.
Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing