We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Nags Head
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Amersham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey Lodge Hotel(High Wycombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmont Hotel(High Wycombe)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Rye Court Hotel(High Wycombe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
101
68
22
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
68
22
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsticky toffee puddinglemon tartselection of beershave eaten hereduckroast potatoeslow beamsbed and breakfastan evening mealfor sunday lunchbooked a tablemain coursecouple of nightsnice roomaccommodationchilterns
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Spent a perfect evening at The Nag's Head, enjoying the late evening sunshine, drinking a delicious New Zealand sauvignon blanc and eating flawless food. The dishes were exquisitely presented and the quality was absolutely superb - the day's special 'Seafood Medley' (salt and pepper squid, crispy whitebait and rosemary skewered tiger prawns with a lime and curry mayo) was knockout! Lovely to be able to stagger upstairs at the end of the night - other reviewers have commented on how small the rooms are but really...how much space do you actually need?! It was furnished with quiet good taste, immaculately kept and more than adequate I would think for most people's needs. Service was excellent throughout and the young team genuinely warm and welcoming. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 7 overlooks the lawned grounds and the cricket pitch beyond.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 7 days at the beginning of June 2013.. the first room was too small, we found ourselves constantly bumping in to the furniture and each other. After 2 days we moved to a much better and bigger room, but " mind your head ! "....All the staff were
attentive ,friendly and helpful...Bacon and eggs , orange juice , toast & coffee were very good,.. . but my wife thought there was a lack of fresh fruit....On a few evenings we dined in and found the food very good , but with a tendancy to 'Nouvelle Cuisine ' ,which as a food style or presentation, I'm not happy with...

If the weather is kind to you, there is a spacious garden at the back with patio and comfortable seating...As an AA**** hotel, I think it should have a lounge,... as it is , you have only your room or the public bar area to relax in....

Price of some of the drinks at the bar was a bit steep, but maybe were average for the area.
Yes we enjoyed out stay at the The Nags Head, but have these two reservations, ....AA four star rating should have a comfortable lounge...I think the AA were a bit too generous with the stars !

Room Tip: avoid room 7 , just too small for 2 people....Room 1 was spacious, but "mind your head ! "
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MR-R-Robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

As other reviewers has said, the rooms are pricey for what they are. We have stayed in considerably larger, better-appointed rooms in pubs, and with better breakfasts, in the same price bracket. Our room (#3) was small but cosy, but the bathroom was very cramped and the bath plug was broken. The bed was ok, but the sheets were poor quality and starchy, whereas this sort of place normally has sumptuous bed linen. The fans from the kitchen below were noisy beyond 11pm and all of the rooms were hot and not well ventilated. Service at breakfast was mixed - the girl on Saturday morning was slow and not very attentive, but the bloke on Sunday morning was the complete opposite, maybe over-attentive, but it made for a much nicer experience. Of the three rooms our group stayed in, #1 was the best, but there was not much in it between #3 and #7 (#3 has a bath with shower over whereas #7 has a shower only, but #7 is quieter and out the back of the pub whereas #3 is by the road, although it was not too noisy). An enjoyable weekend break, just not as good value for money as other pubs with rooms can be.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This 'pub with rooms' is the closest to Hampden House , a venue for weddings and the like. As such it is surely in demand and for that they charge GBP115 for bed and breakfast. Our room was clean and well furnished but very small. Indeed, one has to take care not to burn oneself on the bathroom radiator when entering the shower or using the sink.
Breakfast was very good but it took an age to arrive. We were an hour over breakfast. Rather irritatingly we had had to decide what we wanted for breakfast on arrival - as well as what time we would be arriving for it! I had no clue then what grade of hangover I would have after the wedding we were attending!
WARNING....do NOT under any circumstances park under the tree on the right in the car park (opposite the rear entrance to the pub and the kitchen). The birds pooped on our car to an unimaginable degree! So bad in fact it has damaged the paintwork for good...how can birds produce that much?!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illimani21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night, the room was lovely , cosy but mind your head! The building is 15th century and is full of character and has been nicely refurbished. Nice garden as well.
Staff efficient on arrival, the reception area is the bar so be prepared to wait if its busy.
It is on a fairly busy road so there is some traffic noise.
The only negative was in the morning, it appeared that there was only one staff member covering breakfast and reception. Sadly this meant that there was a long delay for both. It really did cry out for an extra person to cover one or the other. The breakfast was very good.
Deffo worth a stay and their picture on their website doesn't do it justice. Lovely part of the world to visit.

Room Tip: Room 1 was very spacious with a big bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews