We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly a Great Hotel”
Review of The Nags Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nearly a Great Hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Booked at this 15th Century Inn as we were attending a show at High Wycombe. The hotel is well situated opposite a river and has a nice garden to enjoy in warm weather.
Were greeted warmly but dissappointed that food was not served until 6.30 which was too late for us. This was not the only inflexibility shown - one had to specify when you wanted breakfast at the time one booked in. Also, a check out time of 10.00 on a Sunday morning is very early.
As it turned out, our show was cancelled at the last minute and we decided to eat at the hotel. Despite being fully booked, they offered an hour's slot before a latish booking was due to arrive. As it happened, we were able to have a full 3 course meal without feeling rushed at all.
The food was excellent - a had a crab and smoked salmon starter and my wife the fois gras. For mains I had a filet steak and my wife had lamb. desserts were also very good. I had real ale from a choice of three, the one I chose was well kept.
The room was smallish but came with an en-suite. Decor was unusual with exposed beams contrasting with mirrored chrome furniture and fittings. There was a radio and a flat screen TV and coffee/tea making equipment (including fresh milk). Also provided complimentary bottles of water.
The shower (over the bath) was good - the control needed to be turned a full 360 degrees to get hot water. Shampoo, Conditioner, Body Wash and Body Lotion were provided as well as a shower cap.
The only problem with the room (No.3) was the poor mattress on the bed. It was soft and when someone moved on one side, the other person was moved as well. Getting on or off the bed there was the twang of a spring (one of the few in the mattress. As a result we both had a poor nights sleep.
Overall, we enjoyed the stay though with a better mattress and some more flexibility, such a stay would be memorable and deserve the final star in the rating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobHilbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    65
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
29
90
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We have visited a couple of times previously for Sunday lunch,this was our first evening visit.I had purchased a voucher (3 in fact) through Travelzoo for what appeared to be a very good deal?
We were greeted and immediately seated and served with complementary prosecco's followed swiftly by the menu.
The starters proved to be excellent and beautifully presented,especially my gratinee'd mussels.
We both chose the skewered lamb for mains,also very good,although I found the sauce to be a bit heavy. Puddings of creme brûlée and lemon tart rounded off what was a really good meal,the staff were friendly and attentive,the ambience warm and comfortable.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend The Nags Head as being one of the best places to eat in the area and look forward to our next visit (next week!)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

One of the first dry, sunny, windless days for two months and we decided to go out for the day. Hadn't been to Great Missenden before, so chose that and looked for somewhere nice for lunch. Well, we struck gold finding The Nags Head. It's a lovely place, full of 'olde worlde' charm, including the excellent service and we couldn't fault our lunch: the menu was varied, all the food was beautifully cooked and presented and they have a solid wine list. Fantastic meal: would definitely recommend and we shall definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMWLondon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire, england
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

i took advantage of the travel zoo offer even though we have been here before, we booked a table for four, we were not disappointed, the staff were attentive, friendly and very helpful.
we had a three course meal that was excellent,
we would like to pass on our thanks to the staff for making a lovely enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vic_mcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We went with friends for a celebration. The food was some of the best we've ever tasted. All 3 courses were excellent as was the service. Adam as Mine Host could not have done a better job. we stayed the night and breakfast was terrific as well.

Room Tip: The rooms are very quirky but that doesn't mean bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellard45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We went here for dinner on a Monday evening in January, and it was a lovely evening out. The pub was full, with a few post Christmas work parties and several smaller tables, but service remained friendly and efficient and it made for a pleasant atmosphere. We had 3 courses each and thought that the travelzoo offer that we had for dinner for 2 with a glass of prosecco for £35 was really excellent value. My venison main course was particularly delicious and the sorbets were amazingly fresh. The pudding menu sounded lovely but we were a bit too full to have more than sorbet!
We would go back but it is quite expensive without a deal.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KL_NF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We ate here recently with a Travelzoo Offer. Even though its close to home, it's the first time we'd been for several years and its changed tremendously. The food was excellent,with a very good selection of varied dishes in all courses. Staff were friendly and attentive. Decor/ambience was very pleasant and tasteful. Someone has obviously invested a lot of money in the place. On a Wednesday night it was pretty full. A very enjoyable meal and would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsterlingbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Missenden
0.6 mi away
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
3.0 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
312 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
742 reviews
6.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
715 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nags Head

Property: The Nags Head
Address: London Road, Great Missenden HP16 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Great Missenden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Great Missenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nags Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 Star Inn with an AA Rosette for Culinary Excellence with recommendations from the Michelin and Hardens Guide.A 15th Century Ivy clad Coaching Inn, beautifully refurbished with Bar, inglenook fireplace, restaurant and bedrooms all with ensuites. Located in the glorious chilterns on the edge of the river Missbourne and close to the historical village of Great Missenden housing the Roald Dahl Museum and the 12th century, Missenden Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Nags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nags Head Hotel Great Missenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing