We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - poor service”
Review of The Nags Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Passing by and decided to stop for lunch, pub is set in a lovely location and parking is good, initially the service was quick, we received our drinks and the menu but the young lady serving was also wrapping a parcel at the bar, we waited, and waited, eventually getting her attention we placed our order and asked for more drinks, the food arrived and was fine, but no drinks, the parcel wrapping went on, we asked for drinks again, apologies and .. no drinks, the meal ended and by this time I was angry, so paid at the bar, as I was unsure what I had to do next to get the service lady to pay attention..
Did you enjoy your meal, she asked, yes I said but where the hell are the drinks, ... big gasps, apologies and the offer to remove the cost of the first and only round we received..
Paid and left disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tanked2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We dined on a travelzoo voucher, the service was excellent, very curteous and efficent staff, the food was very good with a fair choice and cooked extremely well. Overall we couldn't criticise the overall experience

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great food and service, a place where a lot of care has been put into everything, without doubt with its brother in Flaunden. (The Bricklayers) there are very few better Gastro pubs to be found. There are others of course with great menus but the chefs in both these places have found a solution to excellent cooking. Perfect for couples and for bigger groups.
Well done!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drtcoBov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Four of us dined here with a Travelzoo voucher. The food was really first rate, service efficient and friendly, and the décor and ambience welcoming. Possibly a little expensive if we had paid full price, but as it was, it provided excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night for a break from London in the twin room (no 4). Clean, comfortable and with a fabulous shower, the room may have been a little expensive but worth it. We had a gorgeous breakfast - really good produce cooked well - and the evening meal was similarly lovely. Staff were friendly, efficient and really helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank kec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Nag's Head look's like an unassuming pub, but it was recommended, so 2 friends and I visited for a late lunch. Inside it's full of old world charm, with low ceilings and beams, although bathrooms were totally modern. Service was was welcoming and efficient. We ordered several starters to share: the food, which was served with a basket of warm bread was attractive, good quality and quite delicious. The fois gras was especially delicious. We didn't have any main courses or deserts, although the menu did look attractive. It is definitely a place I'd like to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa2011-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Booked at this 15th Century Inn as we were attending a show at High Wycombe. The hotel is well situated opposite a river and has a nice garden to enjoy in warm weather.
Were greeted warmly but dissappointed that food was not served until 6.30 which was too late for us. This was not the only inflexibility shown - one had to specify when you wanted breakfast at the time one booked in. Also, a check out time of 10.00 on a Sunday morning is very early.
As it turned out, our show was cancelled at the last minute and we decided to eat at the hotel. Despite being fully booked, they offered an hour's slot before a latish booking was due to arrive. As it happened, we were able to have a full 3 course meal without feeling rushed at all.
The food was excellent - a had a crab and smoked salmon starter and my wife the fois gras. For mains I had a filet steak and my wife had lamb. desserts were also very good. I had real ale from a choice of three, the one I chose was well kept.
The room was smallish but came with an en-suite. Decor was unusual with exposed beams contrasting with mirrored chrome furniture and fittings. There was a radio and a flat screen TV and coffee/tea making equipment (including fresh milk). Also provided complimentary bottles of water.
The shower (over the bath) was good - the control needed to be turned a full 360 degrees to get hot water. Shampoo, Conditioner, Body Wash and Body Lotion were provided as well as a shower cap.
The only problem with the room (No.3) was the poor mattress on the bed. It was soft and when someone moved on one side, the other person was moved as well. Getting on or off the bed there was the twang of a spring (one of the few in the mattress. As a result we both had a poor nights sleep.
Overall, we enjoyed the stay though with a better mattress and some more flexibility, such a stay would be memorable and deserve the final star in the rating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobHilbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Missenden
3 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
351 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Origins at The White Lion
Origins at The White Lion
#1 of 1 in Great Missenden
27 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nags Head

Address: London Road, Great Missenden HP16 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Great Missenden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Missenden
Price Range: £97 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nags Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 Star Inn with an AA Rosette for Culinary Excellence with recommendations from the Michelin and Hardens Guide.A 15th Century Ivy clad Coaching Inn, beautifully refurbished with Bar, inglenook fireplace, restaurant and bedrooms all with ensuites. Located in the glorious chilterns on the edge of the river Missbourne and close to the historical village of Great Missenden housing the Roald Dahl Museum and the 12th century, Missenden Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Nags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nags Head Hotel Great Missenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing