We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Swan

The Old Swan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional 16th century English pub and restaurant. Cask Marque approved with a great selection of wines, lagers and spirits. The kitchen has a locally sourced produce policy and serves classic dishes with subtle, contemporary twists.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a lovely surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I went there with a group of friends. When we arrived I was worried because the pub looks run down from the outside. But then we went to the garden which were beautiful. The interior was well looked after too. But the best surprised was the food. Absolutely delicious and very well put together. The vegetarian option was very original and tasty.
Definitely worth a visit. And if the pub owner read this, please get your window frame change (-:

Helpful?
2 Thank Shea32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    38
    13
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food but too rushed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We came across this pub a few months ago stopping for a great lunch ( i can really recommend the ploughman's) whilst on a bike ride in the area

Having had such a good experience we decided to try their dinner menu ladt Saturday evening

Our table was booked for 8pm and we got to the pub at 7.40pm as we wanted to have a couple of drinks at the bar before dinner

Ten minutes after we arrived, whilst still at the bar, we were presented with our menus and asked to chose our meals which seemed a little odd as we would have expected to have been shown to our table first

We sat down at around 8.05pm and within 3 minutes our starter arrived. Our main course arrived 5 mins after we had finished our starter (certainly no more) and by 8.45pm we had finished our meal

Why, oh why the great rush. The restaurant was not busy however i did notice that their website shows that dinner is served until 9pm on a Saturday, were they trying to serve our food before 9pm?? We were not the last diners as others arrived after us

So, the food quality? Not as good as our lunch but good none the less

The service? Friendly staff but hardly a dining experience.

We will return but only for lunch with our bikes

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not at all bad for a country pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The food at this establishment is of high quality . We went for lunch and luckily had booked, as the seating is somewhat limited. The dishes were beautifully presented but a little on the mean side.
For those with large appetites, a starter may be needed.
The pub is in an area that can only be described as way beyond most peoples budget. This does not mean that one has to overdress, far from it. It is a pub after all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dreadful service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Such a shame, that a lovely pub in a beautiful setting serving great food, has such bad service. The lady in charge when we visited was rude, inflexible and inhospitable. We couldn't fault the food, but won't be going back as we were made to feel so unwelcome. The Nag's Head up the road is a much better bet, they go out of their way to make your visit pleasurable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Boblina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanBucks, Owner at The Old Swan, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear reviewer,

Many thanks for your review. I'd like to firstly offer my sincere apologies for your experience with us recently.

If you would like to contact us at pub@theoldswanpub.co.uk we would very much like the chance to address the problems directly with you.

Kind regards,
Phil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Made to feel very unwelcome”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We visited yesterday evening, 31.07.14. On arrival we were brusquely greeted at the bar, told to find our own menus around the corner and if we wanted to eat we would have to wait some considerable time as you already had four diners in and had a further three booked and quote you only had one chef on with one pair of hands...Sadly it became very clear that you did not want our custom, so we left and ate elsewhere. Despite the positive reviews we left feeling as though we had been treated extremely badly indeed and would certainly not return despite living quite locally which is a great shame. To the Old Swan management I would be very concerned that your staff treat customers in this manner.

Helpful?
4 Thank Donald_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanBucks, Owner at The Old Swan, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear reviewer

Many thanks for your review. We are, of course, deeply concerned at your experience with us recently. For that we offer our genuine apologies.

If you would kindly contact us at pub@theoldswanpub.co.uk as we would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues with you personally,

Kind regards,
Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Swan also viewed

Great Missenden, Buckinghamshire
 
Great Missenden, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Old Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing