We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good day out”

The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This great little award-winning and family-friendly Museum contains two fun and fact-packed biographical galleries, the fantabulous interactive Story Centre and a sunny courtyard. Situated in Great Missenden where Roald Dahl lived for over 36 years, it was created as a home for the author’s archive (which visitors can see on our regular tours) and as a place to inspire creativity and a love of reading in children, about which Roald Dahl was passionate.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good day out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We came to the Roald Dahl Museum in Easter Holidays. My 7 year old has read all his books so we thought it would be a treat for him. The place was easy to find and not at all crowded. The staff was friendly and helpful but I found it to be a bit over-priced, considering how small it actually is! The good thing is you can go out and come back again if you like the same day. we spent about 2 hours watching all the exhibits, the highlight being Roald's writing hut. The children got a chance to sit in a replica of Roald's writing chair and had their pics taken. We found the story telling a bit boring (with a 3 year old with us as well). So we went out to roam around the town. After buying some food from the local super market we went to see Roald's grave. We walked all the way to the church, had a picnic in the lawns and then went to see his grave. It can be easily spotted as it's near to the circular bench in the grave yard and big 'BFG' foot prints lead to his grave from the bench. All is all it was a fun day as it was a nice, clear day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rafia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roalddahlmuseum, Museum Director at The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi rafia s,
I’m glad you had a fun day when you visited us, and managed to take advantage of lots of things we offer such as the various exhibits and Village Trail. I’m sorry you found the storytelling disappointing. It’s usually the highlight of people’s visits, and we do invest lots of time training our front of house staff specifically for storytelling so it is a shame it didn’t live up to your expectations on this occasion.
We hope you’ll be able to come back and visit us again soon.

Amelia Foster
Museum Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    143
    64
    39
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A nice attraction to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Even as two adults we found this fantastic. It is incredibly informative and gives you lots of insight into the life of Roald Dahl from his childhood to his adult years, The highlight is the writing hut they have built to show where his most famous books were written.

I highly recommend this especially if you have children who are fans of the books.

I also recommend a walk round Great Missenden including the church were he is burried and some of the area's that inspired his stories.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jonalexander_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roalddahlmuseum, Museum Director at The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi jonalexander_smith,
It sounds like you had a very enjoyable visit to the Museum. I’m glad you took advantage of our self-guided Village Trail and managed to see the Roald Dahl related sites in Great Missenden, as well as the exhibits in the Museum itself.
We look forward to visiting you again soon.

Amelia Foster
Museum Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My daughter (6) loved it as she is a massive fan of Roald's work. The place is lovely,clean and informative however overpriced and a huge lack in activities. Half the price and it would spot on.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mollyp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roalddahlmuseum, Museum Director at The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Mollyp15,
Thanks for your review, so glad your daughter enjoyed the Museum and that you found your visit informative. I’m sorry you thought there wasn’t much to do, the galleries have a large amount of interactive activities (over 40), for families play with as well and craft activities, trails and storytelling. We endeavour to keep entry prices to a minimum, and keep them in line with experiences of similar length such as a cinema visit. We do hope you’ll come back and give us another try soon.

Amelia Foster
Museum Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“As fantastic as Mr Fox!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Visited today in the Easter holidays with my almost 7 year old son. . Pre-booked museum and craft (twig mugs), tickets over the phone and collected them on arrival with no problems. My son loved that each child was given an Ideas Book and pencil so they could start writing their own story, and he enjoyed the Oopa Lumpa quiz which resulted in a prize of a 'limited edition' Roald Dahl Top Trumps card (we bought the full pack on the way out). Lizzie that led the story telling session was fantastic and Isy that delivered the Twit mugs painting session was endlessly patient mixing new colours for the children. The craft room at the rear of the museum was great, as was the chance to sit in Roald's chair and make movies and stories of your own. The Twits Cafe was well stocked, though at almost £6 the kids lunch bag was a little expensive I felt, that's the only vaguely negative thing I can think of. We had a great day and spent almost four hours there, including the craft session ( an extra £3), and lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roalddahlmuseum, Museum Director at The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Catherine J
Thanks for leaving us a review. It sounds like you had a great time when you visited and made the most of all we have on offer. I’ll be sure to pass your positive comments on to Isy and Lizzie. I’m sorry you found the lunch bag expensive, we do try to keep the prices as low as possible. However, all the food from Café Twit is freshly prepared on-site from high quality ingredients.

We hope to see you again soon.

Amelia Foster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolsover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Childhood Hero comes to Life!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I really enjoyed visting this museum. Having been a lifelong fan of the great man's books and having passed this love on to my own kids, it had been a long term ambition to visit.

To see his chair and his specs preserved for history was strangely moving, and the couple of Hollywood props (Johnny Depp's jacket and stick and the Fantastic Mr Fox models) added a bit of something special too.

Lovely, pleasant staff and the free guide book and map to the village are really helpful, as was the story note book for my daughter.

Shop was nice, not priced over the top.

This feels like a place that is preserved by people with a genuine affection for the great man. This makes it welcoming... difficult to explain but it's how it felt! Long may it go on.

Well worth taking a couple of hours out of a trip in to or out of London, tacked on to a trip to 'Warner Bros. Studio Tour' (about half an hour away) makes a great day of literature for kids. Both are well worth the effort in their own right (very different but linked by the dedication of the authors to childrens writing), but combined make a really lovely full day out.

Highly recommended but you couldn't spend any more than half a day here (those few hours will be really nice though!) Do look around the village and note the 'Danny the Champion of the World' Petrol pumps...very photogenic, and pop up to his grave. I said a few words of thanks for the joy he brought to me, and countless other children of the past, the present and (little doubt) those who are yet to discover his dark humour for generations to come. The museum is far more than a memorial, it is definately a place of life and is focussed for children and their imagination with exciting interactive exhibits and engaging activities.

Lovely! Remember the great man here, but you'll do it with a smile.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roalddahlmuseum, Museum Director at The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Andy C,
Many thanks for your review, it was so nice to read that you had a great time with us when you visited. We do indeed try to be a place of life rather than a memorial, and base our galleries and activities on inspiring young and old alike to discover their creative talents.

We hope to see you again soon.

Amelia Foster
Museum Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre also viewed

Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
West Wycombe, High Wycombe
 

Been to The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing