We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So disappointing”

The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This great little award-winning and family-friendly Museum contains two fun and fact-packed biographical galleries, the fantabulous interactive Story Centre and a sunny courtyard. Situated in Great Missenden where Roald Dahl lived for over 36 years, it was created as a home for the author’s archive (which visitors can see on our regular tours) and as a place to inspire creativity and a love of reading in children, about which Roald Dahl was passionate.
oxford
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My son and his friend both 9 love Roald Dahl's books so we trekked over to the museum. Parking is cheap (and a public loo there too) about 300 yds walk away £1,80 for three hours but you could do the whole thing in less than one hour tops.
It is all about the author and very little about the actual stories. Not terribly interactive and terribly small. I found it boring and the boys more so. Family ticket £21 so not cheap either. You get a quiz to do and if you complete it you get a special Top Trumps card about RD which you cant get anywhere in the world apart from here. This means you are plagued to buy the TT card game in the stuffed and expensive shop. Do look at the prints at £100 wont you? Didn't use the cafe but there is a nice little place at the crossroads near the car park. We went to the tring Natural History Museum (20 mins away) free entrance and parking and brilliant. Try that instead.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jumpingjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    146
    65
    39
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantabulous Day Had By All”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

After reading some of the reviews on here we were a little put off visiting the museum but, as it was a convenient location to meet up with friends on a rainy day, we took the plunge. Between us we had children aged 6,7, 8 and 9 years old. The children were given a little note book and pencil when they arrived so they, following in the great man's footsteps, could write down any ideas as they came to them; which they loved. We booked an extra workshop to make prints for a small charge. We had a great time! The children loved the craft and activities on offer, but their favourite was the fun, Story-time session run by a very enthusiastic and entertaining member of staff. They found it hilarious when she got some children and then adults to dress up and act out some of the parts. They also really enjoyed finding out more about Roald Dahl's life and where he got inspiration for his stories. The printing workshop was brilliant and even the younger children came away with fantastic prints. All in all it was a most enjoyable day and one that will be remembered.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mumtogirlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Visited as our kids love the Roald Dahl books but come away slightly disappointed. The museum itself is quite small, and understand that space for exhibits is limited but I felt the museum concentrated on the life of Roald Dahl rather than the characters he brought to life in his books. Would have been much better to have one room of Roald Dahl life with the remainder devouted to his characters and make it more interactive. Could even add a touch of spark by either having photo opportunities with a character or models dotted around that the kids can stand next to for photos. Staff was great in museum and they were enthusiastic and helpful. Loved the shop although my wallet didn't like so much! Nice museum but could do a lot more with the space it has.

Helpful?
1 Thank welshpete09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quirky but not to be missed”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a real unadvertised gem in the middle of the Chiltern Hills but only 25 miles from Central London. There can be few children who have not been entertained by the magic of a Roald Dahl story or a movie of one of his tales. This museum helps you understand why he was such a fantastic children's writer.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidHBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A real Champion of The World !”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Three generations went to visit on Friday 15th August. Parking as per previous reviews is in the public carpark just a 5 minute walk away (so don't forget some change for the machine).

The shops along the High Street were well worth a look too and we are delighted with our glass nail files and clever dessert quiz birthday card bought for a special elderly friend.

But back to the main event - From the moment we arrived we were greeted warmly and enthusiastically. We printed off an internet vooucher (2 for 1) so Grandma went in free. Even without the voucher the price is good. Lots to see and do. Roald Dahl always wrote his ideas down and all children are given such a book on arrival (excellent life training). Everything was informative and clean - it may not be the largest museum but it is stuffed full of facts and interactive corners of machines/headphones/measuring scales/dressing up etc. etc.
I felt we could have been there all day - and you could especially if you set off on the local walking tour that takes in Roald Dahls grave amongst many other things.
Minimum time really is 2-3 hours but this should be longer with older children and perhaps less with the wee ones.

We met a real life little girl (3ish) doing a great Violet Elizabeth or other bratty/rude/girl impression so my tip is make sure they are old enough to enjoy it (so you can enjoy it too!) No parents like dealing with public tantrums (and indeed these parents did nothing at all !!!!) and other visitors certaily don't like them either !

Story telling time was lovely and enjoyed by young, older and MUCH older !

The cafe was excellent and the cakes splendifferous !

Highly recommended for all ages that are old enough to enjoy a museum (albeit an interactive one).

AND finally a gift shop that offers great quality souvenirs and gifts from the affordable on pocket money to the Parents/Grandparents treat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandersMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre also viewed

Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
West Wycombe, High Wycombe
 

Been to The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing