We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lagrasse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holidays in Lagrasse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It was our first European vacation with our 4 year old son and we were worried about everything. But we couldn't choose better. Prior booking we corresponded a lot with Guy verifying details after details always getting calm and informative response. We had to change our date couple days before arriving - it had been accommodated graciously.

This place gives you are quintessential french vacation with the convenience of having knowledgeable and extremely pleasant English speaking hosts . You will feel stepping back in time, staying in the museum medieval set while having all modern conveniences and comforts. This is not s b&b place- but you have a bakery right across the road where you'll choose your freshly baked croissant.

I am writing this review now and thinking how much I want to go back ...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Holidays in Lagrasse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was our first visit to Lagrasse and we stayed in the Garden Suite in Guy and Claire's fabulous property. We couldn't have been more pleased with our holiday - the accomodation is really superb - finished to a very high standard yet still cosy and welcoming and the town itself and the surrounding region are immensely beautiful and steeped in history. Guy and Claire, Chilly and the boys are great hosts and made us (our tandem and our two small dogs!) all feel really welcome.Not only did they provide so many helpful tips and advice on places to visit, they also organised the best barbeque evenings with the other guests where we shared local food and maybe one too many glasses of Corbiere under the wisteria! Highly recommended and we're definitely looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcarmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is our second time in the Garden Studio and the sequel to our first holiday in 2011 did not disappoint. Guy and Claire make a great team and as well as offering a very high standard of hospitality, are just really nice people who are easy going and fun to be around. Their boys, Andre, Josh and Archie are a delight and went out of their way to be kind to my 3 year old son. Lagrasse itself is idyllic and a great base to explore the whole region with its fascinating and epic medieval history. My highlights include picking wild figs for breakfast, bathing in the river, visiting the Cathar castles and Carcassonne, coffee in the Abbey cafe, drinking local wine and starlit evenings in our walled garden, knowing that our 2 children were completely safe sleeping inside our child friendly apartment. Thanks Guy and Claire, we'll be back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucieGAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I, and our two children, first came to Lagrasse in 2012, largely as a result of the good reviews of Guy and Claire's property. The views overlooking the 'Class A' village, as we arrived on the road from Ribaulte suggested we had made the right choice, and we were warmly greeted by Guy (Claire was in the UK) as we arrived at the garden gate. The garden itself really is a hidden gem, beautifully tended and it quickly became an area where we would spend time relaxing, enjoying the local 'produce' and cooling off in the pool intermittently. We stayed in the Arch Apartment, on the middle floor of this wonderfully restored 12th century villa - the accommodation really is special. There are many reasons why this property is first class: the garden and accommodation have already been mentioned; the location, in this beautiful village within walking distance of boulangeries, restaurants, the river; the region, a truly stunning part of France, with vineyards, chateaux and monasteries on your doorstep. But if I'm really honest, the lasting memory is the that of the hosts, Guy, Claire and their boys and the way they make you feel truly welcome, and share their knowledge of the area, quite often over a few glasses of wine and a barbecue in the evenings. When we left in July 2012, we vowed to return - we came back in August 2013, staying in The Grenier Apartment this time. The only disappointment was having to leave after two weeks.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Great venue - stayed with wife and 2 sons.
Pool was great for the boys to chill down - swimming in the river was even more fun for everyone!
Walked 2 minutes up the road to the bakery each morning for bread and coissants.
Restaurants are equally close with several to choose from.
A lovely little place - La Grasse has what we needed for a great few days - the accomodation was perfect and attention to detail really showed.
Will be back

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strapittoapigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband my two sons and I stayed in Le Grenier for two weeks in August 2013. Guy and Claire are great hosts It's an ideal base to explore the area and there's lots to do and see. I would recommend this for couples, individual families or families holidaying together. We were with another family and the set up worked really well. The property has been renovated to a high standard and the outside space is great for either dining alfresco or relaxing with a book or cooling off in the small pool.

We throughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrood65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Lovely place to stay. Guy & Clare are so welcoming. We stayed in the Arch Apartment with our 14 month old son. We were all made to feel welcome & our son was entertained by Chilli (the dog) & Clare's lovely son. Great location, clean & wonderfully modern interior. Would stay here again & definitely recommend it to family & friends. Thanks Guy & Clare for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagrasse
13.1 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
447 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
311 reviews
21.1 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Le Roc sur l'Orbieu
Le Roc sur l'Orbieu
#1 of 3 in Saint-Pierre-des-Champs
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie des Corbieres
3.9 mi away
Jardins de Saint-Benoit
Jardins de Saint-Benoit
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidays in Lagrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays in Lagrasse

Address: 9 rue des Cancans, 11220, Lagrasse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Lagrasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lagrasse
Price Range: £62 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holidays in Lagrasse, set within the historic village of Lagrasse. We offer a variety of properties all with character and charm. Within our newly – and lovingly – renovated medieval house with its large garden, swimming pool and decked area, we have The Arch, Grenier Apartments and The Garden Studio all fully equipped and extremely comfortable. The house is nearly 1000 years old and full of amazing history. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing