We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exquisite apartments”
other travellers have booked this property
Lagrasse and its 12th century hump-back bridge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lagrasse and its 12th century hump-back bridge.
The main double bedroom with mezanine and bathroom. The entrance.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Lagrasse and its 12th century hump-back bridge.
The main double bedroom with mezanine and bathroom.
The entrance.
Relaxing on the top terrace.
Dining through to living.
Our deliciously cool cobbled internal courtyard.
Detail in one of the 3 Bedrooms
Through to the 'French' bedroom. Either an enormous double or 2 singles
One of the en suite bathrooms
The Moroccan styled mezanine can be made into an extra bed.
View from the bridge.
The mediaeval market square. Delicious organic produce available on Saturdays
Volta and Flint will give you a hearty welcome!
Big double Bed option or two singles
Stone sink on Top Terrace
Top Terrace
The 'Beach' By the river's edge at the back of the house
Another shot of the 'Beach
Another angle on the terrace
The view of the hill opposite the top terrace.
One of the many nearby vineyards in full Autumn colour.
Swimming in the river.
As the sun sets over the village........
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lagrasse, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Gabrielle...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite apartments ”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have returned at least four times and had the benefit of staying in two of the different apartments. have to say every time my experience was faultless, the actual apartments are beautifully designed and dressed with style and elegance but also equipped with the latest mod cons iPad speakers dishwashers etc - and the beds are some of the most comfortable I have slept in.
Nicole is a delightful and thoughtful host who goes out of her way to make sure you are comfortable and provide you with advice and information about the area - and you are quite likely to share a sociable tipple with her, on the beautiful terrace overlooking the river, on one evening during your stay - I would thoroughly recommend a visit especially perfect as a romantic break for couples and discerning visitors .. 10 stars !!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2015
Thank you so so much for your lovely review. Really appreciate your comments and I
look forward to our next tipple on the terrace, soon I hope!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crispyhoh...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A precious jewel in the South of France”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place is a real find - quiet, comfortable rooms in stunning natural surroundings. The riverside location is perfect. Throughout it is beautifully and tastefully finished, down to the last detail. One small gite ideal for a couple, a larger one above would suit a family or group of friends. Go soon, before someone beats you to it!

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Dec 2015
Dear crispyhohum!
Thank you, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great apartment, wonderful region”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Ramparts and Riverside apartment, which was perfect for a two week stay exploring the wonderful Cathar region. It was very tastfully furnished, the sofa and bed were both very comfortable, the shower room was great with a nice powerful shower and the kitchen, though small, was quite adequate.

The position of the apartment was perfect, just yards (or rather metres!) from the old covered market square and of course, overlooking the river. Sitting on the balcony overlooking the river was a joy. We realised we must have been in hundreds of tourist photos taken from the bridge and across the river. However, they were far enough away that we didn't find it intrusive. We enjoyed the five minute stroll up to the boulangerie on the main street every morning to get our bread and croissants for breakfast. And while we couldn't park the car outside the apartment (except briefly for unloading/loading luggage), the car park was only a two minute walk away and well used by campervans, so it felt perfectly safe.

We loved Lagrasse, exploring its streets and meeting its people, who were without exception friendly and helpful. There were plently of restaurants to choose from and the little epicerie had a reasonable range of food and other items. However, as we self-catered quite a bit, we did main shops at the Intermarche and Carrefour supermarkets in Lezignan-Corbieres, roughly a half-hour drive away.
Nicole, the delightful owner, provided useful advice on where to go, what to see, the local restaurants, places to swim etc. She was also very responsive to the odd minor problem.

We loved the region with the amazing hill-top castles and monasteries and beautiful scenery. So, our thanks to Nicole, for a great apartment in just the right place and for the help she provided while we were there.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Dec 2015
Guess what.....?
You were delightful guests so nothing could have been too much trouble. I am so happy that you had a good holiday and it was a pleasure to welcome you both as guests. Please don't leave it too long before we can meet again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee P
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment in a picture postcard village”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stopped in the one bedroomed 'Ramparts and Riverside' apartment for a week in July. The apartment had looked lovely on the website and even exceeded our expectations when we saw it in person. It was decorated and furnished beautifully throughout and was a very special place to stay. We loved having breakfast (fantastic pastries available from the nearby boulangerie) and many of our evening meals sat out on the little terrace, our only company being the swallows flying over head and the sounds of frogs in the river we overlooked. Lagrasse is a picture postcard French village, old stone houses and cobbled streets, set by a river dominated by an abbey, with medieval bridges crossing it. It was nice to just step out of the house in the evening and go for a meal in one of the excellent nearby restaurants or just buy an ice cream and take a stroll along the river. You could easily spend all your time just relaxing in the village or, like us, you could explore some of the many nearby interesting towns and tourist sights (far too many to fit into the week we had there). If you have a car with you there is plentiful free parking in a car park a couple of minutes walk from the apartment. If you are looking to holiday in a lovely area of France and want to stop in a beautiful apartment, then look no further and book this one.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful place!”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent two weeks living in the Large Terrace Apartment in Lagrasse and we loved it right from the moment we arrived. The apartment itself is decorated to a very high standard but still has that great French charm. More spacious than it looks on line, lovely high ceilings and big windows. The most amazing view from the terrace upstairs where we spent lots of time eating, reading, sunbathing. A wonderful private outdoor space. I loved the little things - beautiful roll top bath, soft white towels, soaps that are handmade round the corner!, quality linens and comfortable beds. Our younger daughter (8) made the mezzanine in our room her own "little apartment" and our older girl (12) claimed the twin room at the top. Both were very happy! Kitchen very well equipped and we cooked quite a lot. The little courtyard off it was ideal for breakfast or a quiet cup of tea. The kids favourite local restaurant was L'Affenage and ours had to be La Cocotte Felee. Kids loved La Cite, Carcassonne and we loved the indoor food market in Narbonne. The sheer beauty of our surroundings both in the apartment and the town of Lagrasse meant we returned home with a feeling of well being. Thanks Nicole!
from the Raleigh Family

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Thank you so very much for this lovely comment on your stay here at House la France.
I'm really happy that you and your family enjoyed your holiday and have to say that the plants on the terrace were also delighted by the green fingers that clearly took such good care of them! Thank you. Thank you.
Please do come back some other time, you will always be welcome.
Best wishes,
Nicole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Gite by the river”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed in House La France in May and it was fabulous. The downstairs apartment had a terrace and we could sit there and enjoy a bottle of wine and just chill out. The apartment was very clean with a very comfortable bed. A friend of the owner met us there and gave us the tour of the apartment and a lot of information about where to eat and things to see in Lagrasse. The owner was very responsive with respect to communications and and the whole experience went off like clockwork. Have already recommended House La France to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How close it was to everything in Town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Thank you so much. I'm really happy that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully I'll be able to welcome you back some other time before too long. Many thanks for booking with House la France :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Gite in Lagrasse”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in the apartment downstairs in May of this year. It certainly lived up to our expectations. We were met by a friend of the owner (Louise) who gave us the keys and showed us around the place she was very helpful. It was very clean and comfortable with a fantastic terrace beside the river where we could enjoy a bottle of wine and just chill out. Comfy bed! Very close to everything in Lagrasse and great areas to walk and so on. I have already recommended the hose la France to friends.

Steve and Pattie

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Dear Steve and Pattie
Thanks so much for your comments on your stay here at House la France in The Ramparts and Riverside Apartment, I wish it had been possible for me to be here to meet you both. Louise and I send you our best wishes and hope you will be back some other time.
All the best,
Nicole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing