We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rounceval House Hotel
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely welcoming hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed here with my daughter the night before my wedding in chipping sodbury and also on our wedding night. Several of our friends also stayed. What a lovely hotel the building is fantastic and the owner could not have done any more to make us welcome. The room was huge, there were fresh flowers and they had left chocolates and a card for us when we returned on our wedding night. What a nice touch. They were very flexible regarding check in times for our guests. All of our friends loved the hotel too.Breakfast was very tasty. Everything you wanted including fresh fruits. Our breafast table was decorated with the confetti from our wedding. We would definetely recommend this hotel. It was a very memorable experience one you want to remember on your special day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    35
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
54
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed for 1 night only with other family as we were attending a family party. Room was lovely, warm and comfortable. The bathroom was esp toasty and was very welcoming after being out in the cold. Breakfast was cooked brilliantly and very tasty, filled me up for the rest of the day!
Chipping sodbury is a very quaint town and everyone seemed very friendly. Thoroughly enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lijonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I have stayed in almost all of the the rooms at the rounceval and they are all extremely clean, tidy, warm and welcoming. some are querky with the bath in the room (great for watching the tele while having a soak). The welcome is also very very good. Breakfast is superb including fresh berries every morning.I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, No 3 is a little smaller than the resr
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandcan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I have been stopping at the Rounceval House Hotel now for several years whilst away on business trips, it is like a Home from Home, everything is made so easy, from Mark's welcoming to your room where you can truely relax in comfort. The breakfast sets you up for the day and is freshly cooked without having to wait for it.
Idealy situated from both the M4 and M5 motorways, with easy access for Bristol.

Room Tip: Stayed in most of the rooms, in the summer the ones at the rear are quieter as the High Street is bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirbsSoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I first stayed in the amazingly fantastic Hotel July 1st 2005 it was our wedding night.
We had a low key wedding and ended up drinking in Chipping Sodbury high street and walked up the high street to our palace.

I just adore the building and the people that owned it back in 2005 were so pasionate about the Hotel as a whole package and the work they have done is totally amazing.

Our room was facing the main road but there was no noise to keep us awake. The curtains were lovely and heavy lined so they kept the noise and bright sunshine out.

Our breakfast was lovely freshly cooked to order and there is a great selection of other breakfast to choose from.

A very very warm relaxing beautiful Hotel i wish i could live there and have it as my own.

Room Tip: ALL of the rooms are amazing no bad room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed here again for 1 night. Room was excellent with lovely comfy bed.
Nice touches in the bathroom.

Excellent fresh breakfast.

Only 2 minor niggles for me stopping this getting 5 out of 5 -

Shower in bath was restrictive for tall person due to the sloping ceiling and beam in Room 7.
Orange juice was from Concentrate and not fresh orange with bits etc.

Otherwise v good and will return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srp973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed here for my best friends wedding with my partner.cannot fault anything! Food,rooms, staff were all amazing. Marcus is the perfect host- what a gentleman! I wish all establishments were like this..cannot recommend highly enough and will definitely stay again. it made a perfect weekend just that extra special. thank you! Salvatore and Maggie from Yorkshire

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msgs0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Sodbury
3.2 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
354 reviews
6.7 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,460 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
10.7 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moda House
Moda House
#1 of 4 in Chipping Sodbury
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rounceval House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rounceval House Hotel

Property: Rounceval House Hotel
Address: 64 Rounceval Street, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Sodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Sodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rounceval House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house has a wealth of character with old oak beams, original fireplaces, and an oak staircase. There is also a bar and sitting room with cable TV, and a garden, for guests to enjoy. Bedrooms and the dining room are non-smoking. Our extensive breakfast each day is produced using fresh local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rounceval House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing