We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make yourself at home”
Review of Moda House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moda House
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make yourself at home”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed at the Moda House during a recent business trip. It is located at High Street at Chipping Sodbury, which is a rather peaceful place with necessary amenities like restaurants, bus stops and gift shops. Its exterior has the 17th century "British feel". I heard that it used to be a bank in that era. Its interior is well decorated with the owners' collections. Even the utensils (e.g. tea pot) have rather elaborate designs, making the place an "old British heritage".

Old as the place looks, it is still well maintained and is rather modernized. The wi-fi connection is reliable and fast. That was very helpful when I needed to communicate with my colleagues and family.

The Moda House is actually also the home of its owners Jo and Duncan. Hence, it was no surprise that the whole place gave a very homely feel to its guests, especially when there is great hospitality provided by Jo and Duncan.

The service is wonderful. The old lady bringing the cooked breakfast to the guests is friendly. The laundry service is very efficient. On the 7 days on which I sent my dirty clothes for washing, I got back my washed clothes on the same day.

As for the breakfast, the food is quite simple. There is a selection of cereals, fruit, fruit juices and Moda House Biscotti and honey available in buffet style. There is also a menu for cooked breakfast consisting of a few choices. Fresh toast is prepared for every guest when he/she reaches the breakfast room. The Moda House marmalade is rather special. I believe it contains some ginger shreds which gives it some spiciness.

One issue I have with the hotel is that the Superior Double room which I had stayed in seemed rather small for a "Superior Double". Another issue is that sometimes at night, the place around the hotel might be noisy due to passing vehicles and overly excited people outside. The rooms are not sound-proof, so sometimes I was woken by other guests opening or closing their room doors. However, the excellent service and hospitality more than made up for the issues.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wong_TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    21
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
68
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London Town
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

With apologies to the owners, I only just got around to reviewing their fantastic B&B.

I stayed on business for one night back in January 2013 due to an early morning presentation the next day.

A warm welcome was received from the owners - I had called ahead to tell them my time of arrival.

The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. And very WARM - which was superb on a snowy Sunday January evening.

OK, so the breakfast. Cooked to order with local produce this was (seriously) the best I have had in any hotel or B&B. Fantastic.

Would not hesitate to stay here again if I was in the area. Had a little walk around the village in the snow - very BBC Period Drama! It looked quite lively for the first Sunday in January too with some live jazz bands at three of the local pubs.

Excellent experience and highly commended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SthLondonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The house has a lot a character and history. Very welcoming. The room was fresh and modern, which was warm,cosy and had beautiful view of chipping sodbury. Breakfast was delicious and always is when someone else cooks it....I would definatly stay at the Moda Hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I booked two rooms for the weekend and both were very comfortable. We were greeted on arrival and made to feel very welcome.
Breakfast was very good with a choice of all sorts of cereals and porridge. This was followed by a selection of hot food and although we are both vegetarian this was no problem. The lady who served breakfast was very charming as were the hosts Jo and Duncan.
Moda House is in a very convenient location right at the start of the main street in Chipping Sodbury. As walkers we found some fantastic walks in the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnToncent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It was the first time for me to visit Chipping Sodbury. It is really a historical place with a lot of beautiful architectures. Moda House is definitely one of them! I stayed there for around 1 week. The room was very big and very clean. The host was very nice and I was warmly welcomed when I first checked in. The breakfast provided was great with great deal of varieties. The location was great too. It is just around 10 mins walking distance to the huge supermarket.
It was really a cosy stay and I would love to re-visit there in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I visited Bath on my 10th wedding anniversary and wanted to stay at a quiet town and found this wonderful little bed and breakfast in Chipping Sodbury, the rooms were absolutely wonderful with the feel of a full service hotel about it, the bedroom was spacious with the usual tea making facilities, there was a large flat screen TV and a luxury seating area, I loved the Bath and shower that had a powerful water flow. The best part of my stay was the Breakfast with Free range eggs and mushrooms to die for. Thank you Duncan and Jo for making our stay so pleasant, I will be back next year on my 11th anniversary, please don't change a thing.......
Charles

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1234567890ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Moda House for the weekend. We stayed in room 3. The room although small was well presented and the bathroom beautifully clean. On arrival we had a warm welcome from Jo. The Moda House is a beautiful building both inside and out and has many interesting artefacts to look at, in particular a beautiful,teak door in the breakfast room,which was brought by Duncan when he was abroad.
The service was excellent water,tea and coffee were replenished every day. Breakfast was lovely and there was a variety of choices available.
Our room was at the front of the hotel right on Chipping Sodbury High Street so at pub closing time it tended to be very noisy,however it didn't last too long.
You can park on the high street close to the hotel as there is no designated car park for the hotel and my car was perfectly alright being left there. A great weekend in a great location,with plenty to see and do.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on line before you book and look at the bed size to see if it is adequate size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barcachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Sodbury
3.1 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
354 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
6.7 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
408 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda House

Property: Moda House
Address: 1 High Street, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Sodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Sodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moda House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine house that retains a homely feel; Duncan and Jo are well-travelled and have filled it with pictures and artefacts from all over the world. Bedrooms differ but all are cosy and well decorated. Breakfast is a truly local feast and will set you up for fabulous walks (Cotswold Way). There's a basement sitting room with comfy armchairs and books. You also have the bustling town to explore with its shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Moda House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda House Hotel Chipping Sodbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing