We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Chipping Sodbury”
Review of Moda House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moda House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We enjoyed a two night break in this delightful hotel, on a trip looking around South Gloucestershire. We had a very clean and comfortable room at the top of the house, with a view of the town and countryside beyond. Moda House is a stunning Georgian building and the owners have furnished it beautifully. There is a good and easy to use wifi connection. The hospitality is excellent here - both Jo and Duncan are friendly and helpful.The breakfast, in the lovely dining room, was very enjoyable, with unlimited tea and toast. The home-made Moda marmalade is unusual and delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getawayloads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

The room (and whole guest house) were as clean and tidy as other reviews have indicated - truly excellent. Very quiet room, but then the whole town is pretty sleepy!

Good, but not outstanding breakfast set us on our way very well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthCerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Excellent hotel, Friendy, clean, comfy and really lovely people. I traveled on my own to chipping sodbury for a baking course, and I was made to feel very welcome and safe and I was given lots of information about eating out. I really enjoyed my stay and I will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teamrayner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I had an absolutely excellent stop-over in the Moda. The qualities of all aspects of the hotel were delightful all round. The cooked breakfast was particularly enjoyable and we would rank it in the top five in terms of quality on the plate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed for one night with a friend to attend a wedding reception nearby. The property is beautifully and tastefully decorated with plush fabrics and a vast mix of cultural items, all elegantly displayed. Our room was spotless! Immaculate in cleanliness and presentation. We were at the front of the property with a great view straight down the high street but still undisturbed with noise. The hosts are welcoming and warm and rightfully deserve a mention for their hospitality. We were not going for breakfast in the morning but came back to our room to find some fruit and cereal bars, an extremely thoughtful gesture.
Sleep was extremely comfortable with high quality bedding.
I would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend this lovely accommodation to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I booked The Moda House online to be close to my daughter who lives in Yate. Duncan and Jo who run it were the perfect hosts; nothing was too much trouble. They helped me with my luggage up and down the 2 flights of stairs to my room. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were ample and well cooked. It was a great place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage, ask for a room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 282ChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed at the Moda House during a recent business trip. It is located at High Street at Chipping Sodbury, which is a rather peaceful place with necessary amenities like restaurants, bus stops and gift shops. Its exterior has the 17th century "British feel". I heard that it used to be a bank in that era. Its interior is well decorated with the owners' collections. Even the utensils (e.g. tea pot) have rather elaborate designs, making the place an "old British heritage".

Old as the place looks, it is still well maintained and is rather modernized. The wi-fi connection is reliable and fast. That was very helpful when I needed to communicate with my colleagues and family.

The Moda House is actually also the home of its owners Jo and Duncan. Hence, it was no surprise that the whole place gave a very homely feel to its guests, especially when there is great hospitality provided by Jo and Duncan.

The service is wonderful. The old lady bringing the cooked breakfast to the guests is friendly. The laundry service is very efficient. On the 7 days on which I sent my dirty clothes for washing, I got back my washed clothes on the same day.

As for the breakfast, the food is quite simple. There is a selection of cereals, fruit, fruit juices and Moda House Biscotti and honey available in buffet style. There is also a menu for cooked breakfast consisting of a few choices. Fresh toast is prepared for every guest when he/she reaches the breakfast room. The Moda House marmalade is rather special. I believe it contains some ginger shreds which gives it some spiciness.

One issue I have with the hotel is that the Superior Double room which I had stayed in seemed rather small for a "Superior Double". Another issue is that sometimes at night, the place around the hotel might be noisy due to passing vehicles and overly excited people outside. The rooms are not sound-proof, so sometimes I was woken by other guests opening or closing their room doors. However, the excellent service and hospitality more than made up for the issues.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wong_TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chipping Sodbury hotels
0.2 mi away
The Portcullis Hotel
The Portcullis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chipping Sodbury
25 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Dog Inn
The Dog Inn
#2 of 4 in Chipping Sodbury
135 reviews
0 mi away
Rounceval House Hotel
Rounceval House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chipping Sodbury
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda House

Address: 1 High Street, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Sodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Sodbury
Price Range: £85 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moda House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine house that retains a homely feel; Duncan and Jo are well-travelled and have filled it with pictures and artefacts from all over the world. Bedrooms differ but all are cosy and well decorated. Breakfast is a truly local feast and will set you up for fabulous walks (Cotswold Way). There's a basement sitting room with comfy armchairs and books. You also have the bustling town to explore with its shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moda House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda House Hotel Chipping Sodbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing