We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First & Last”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sodbury House Hotel
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I was not very impressed with Room 4 others may be better, the shower leaked, the TV was tiny, the room was very poorly lit, the tiny travel kettle in the room was full of limescale and yellow on the inside. I stayed here on business and as there was no internet this was a problem. Probably won't stay here again. Does need a good revamp.

The surroundings were very nice, the entrance to building was nice and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawranced1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

A great little hotel. We stayed one night in Dec 11 and we were given room 15. It was massive, the biggest hotel room i have stayed in for a while. It was clean, very comforable and the bathroom was also very big. The owners were very accomodating and were willing to go the extra mile to help us. The price was very reasonable and breakfast was included in the price. Unfortunatly we didnt get to try out the breakfast but im sure it would have been lovely. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We stayed three nights at the Sodbury House Hotel while attending a race weekend at Castle Combe. The room was clean and well presented as was the bathroom, we had no complaints about the room.

Breakfast was also very good with a range of things on the menu.

The staff were the thing that made this place shine, Guy is incredible friendly and was very helpful when it came to suggesting places to go to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoesherratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Stayed for one night, and compared to the previous B&B in Bath that we had stayed the night before, it was like taking a step down but having to pay more money. The room was clean, some rooms had been re-vamped. One room had problem with hot running water, another had a TV that worked (just about) after a hash bang on the top, another room had a shower that would not stay in the shower head holder.
Breakfast was tasty and cooked to order, but who has heard of a B&B in this day and age that the latest serving at a weekend (when most people wish to rest) is at 8am! The choose of cereals is limited along with the friut. The breakfast room is dated. A good location to go out and about to sight see the cotswold. There is better accomodation, more comfortable and better priced in prettier areas. P.S no shower cap or shower gel in other words very basic tolietries

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodiePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

I stayed for two nights and found the room to be very comfortable and clean. The quality of the bed linen and towels was very good. Breaksfast was cooked well and made from fresh foods. The only disadvantage was that there was no Internet connection in the room that I stayed in and as I was working locally this did cause some inconvenience. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KarenLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

I would like to thank all ther staff at this hotel for such a pleasant stay at a very reasonable price.

The birthday meal on Saturday evening was absolutely fabulous, cooked I understand by a new chef (Simon) and the staff were all extremely helpful. You all made Miss Piggies 60th a very special one.

SusieQ

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2007

Just had a short two night stay at Sodbury House Hotel with my husband. We stayed in Room 3 which is in main house above the breakfast room.

The room was very spacious with plenty of storage. There was a hairdryer, fridge, tv and tea/coffee making facilities provided. The bed was very comfortable (a double iron bedstead).

The only small disappointment was the bathroom. It was very small and in need of updating. I had definate flashbacks to late 70's/early 80's with the colour and design. The loo seat fixings were also broken on one side which made for a 'firm grip' when seated! The towels provided were lovely, large and fluffy and some sachets of shampoo and a small bar of soap are provided.

The traditional Gloucestershire breakfast if you brave it was fantastic. My husband managed it all on the first day but cut it down on the 2nd morning. A very good, varied breakfast menu, all cooked to order and plenty of tea and toast. The only downside is it is quite early during the week with it usually being over by 8.30 am. We were a little late down on the 2nd morning but were forgiven with a smile!

Overall, a wonderful B&B. A great welcome and goodbye and if you visit, don't foget to make an extra special fuss of three of the permanent residents of the hotel, the Jack Russel dogs that enjoy a tummy tickle whenever you can.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virgo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Sodbury
2.2 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
385 reviews
1 mi away
The Portcullis Hotel
The Portcullis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chipping Sodbury
25 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
175 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Dog Inn
The Dog Inn
#2 of 4 in Chipping Sodbury
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sodbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sodbury House Hotel

Address: Badminton Road | Old Sodbury, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Sodbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chipping Sodbury
Price Range: £62 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sodbury House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
The Sodbury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing