We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amakhala Safari Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$961
US$894
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$790
US$748
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$96
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$180
US$168
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bay BnB(Summerstrand)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
214
40
15
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
40
15
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolunderfloor heatingthe reservegame driveswater holeresident elephantwatering holewelcome drinkpublic areasdouble showermini barriver cruiseloves his jobwildlife viewingwake up callother guestsour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just spent 3 amazing nights at this place. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with friendly smily faces. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The accommodation was clean, spacious and warm with underfloor heating, The food just seemed to keep coming every few hours and was delicious. The day started with muffins and coffee before the first game drive, breakfast on our return around 10.00, lunch a couple of hours later, cheese and biscuits during the afternoon game drive, followed by a 3 course meal in the evening. Thank you to all the lovely staff & to Philip for being such a great ranger and sharing so much of his knowledge & fun personallity with us. We loved everything about this lodge and the Amakala game reserve.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pottingshedaccom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was our fourth Safari in South Africa and sixth overall. It was by far the blandest. Now to be fair to all, this was a winter visit, and the facility is in no way prepared to accommodate for these types of activities at this time of year - even their fire places kept heat in. The floor heaters did not work in our room, nor in one of the other guest's quarters. There was just enough hot water for one person to get ready in the morning or cleaned up upon return. Regarding service, our all-inclusive bar wasn't stocked despite our arriving four hours late, and when it was acknowledged and replied to that it would be, it was only after the second reminder on the second day that it was. The drafty layout of the rooms may work very well in the summer, but with temperatures hovering around nil, it was tortuous. The local weather reports for out-of-towners were off for everyone too, so no one we met was dressed properly for the game drives (temperatures were off by more than 10C) - and most skipped them just to avoid freezing. The service was poor and untimely, although you could tell they were trying hard, they were cold and slow too. Our driver on the second day of our stay was bland, boring, and annoying. He was so cold and worried about driving he didn't see the animals, and didn't have anything to add regarding the property apart from how expensive the buffalos are. Do you want to see a leopard? Sure, but tell us it's in a cage before we redirect the drive. One plus was the watering hole, that continuously received visitors directly in front of our room. The valley drive along the river was also stunning. This place looks like it could be above average in summer and with a better staff lead. As it stands, it is definitely not worth the price.

Room Tip: Go in summer.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IsaacCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeWeeks, Owner at Amakhala Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

I am so sorry that your visit was over the coldest period in my living memory. This cold snap even burnt many of the normally resistant indigenous plants. Many leaves have turned brown and died. I have only ever experienced that once and it wasn't as severe. I'm sorry that the blankets and hot water bottles on safari were not adequate.This extreme weather would definitely have effected the comfort and excitement of your Safaris as would a heat wave in summer months.
We have bought 3 new portable fire places for our guests as a direct result of the weather over your stay. Our winter often brings the most comfortable balmy days of 25 degrees Celsius.

Your room was the only one that had damaged underfloor heating. That is why we placed an extra oil heater in your room which was in addition to your standard air conditioning heater.
We apologize for the hot water.Our geysers hold 150 liters which is normally more than adequate for 2 people. We apologize for the fact that your bar fridge had been emptied. Our house keeping staff were confused because you were a prize winner and not a paying guests. We have rectified this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

In my whole trip of SA If you ask me what was the highlight of your tour? .Without a blink I would say AMAKHALA. It was not just the property, I have been to many properties much better to Amakhala's lodges but the whole experience was Awesome. It is very hard to build a good property but much more harder to create a right atmosphere. The attention to detail was quite evident and Tracy Weeks hospitality was amazing.She hosted a party for us at her Home and it had the perfect atmosphere.
The booking includes the Mini bar and actually its not a mini Bar but a full fledge Bar.
After the evening safari and the cocktail party when i went to sleep i found a small note near my bedside which had a small bed time story about the secretary bird and that was the perfect end of the day. i heard myself saying in my Dreams ''WOW''.


Would i Recommend: Absoulutely , i would advise everybody to include in their itinerary.
IF possible try for BUSH LODGE. both are good but BUSH lodge is better.
I have never given 5* rating to any property so this say it all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kshitiz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights after our tour of Capetown and the garden route. What an amazing place in incredible surroundings. On our arrival we were treated to a sighting of antelope and monkeys at the the waterhole just below the bar area. Then the next day a herd of water buffalo came along. During our stay we did lots of game drives including visits to addo elephant park and the born free foundation. We were fortunate in seeing many animals and birds including four of the big five. The game ranger was great and did his best to get us to the best viewing points of animals. The rooms were incredible with plenty of space and the fridge full of wine beer and other drinks included in the price. The food was of good quality and the staff were always ready to help or provide drinks or information. One night the butler lit a fire in the fire pit outside and all the guests sat around gazing at the stars drinking wine. So overall we had an incredible time here and fully recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our first stay at a game reserve - what a wonderful overall experience! Ebin, our driver, was knowledgeable, funny and friendly. We saw all the requisite animals and more. The owner of the lodge, Mike Weeks, was a gracious and generous host. When we saw a beaded decoration in the dining room which we loved and inquired where we could buy a similar one, he offered to purchase it for us at the next local art fair and ship it to us. Above and beyond the call of duty! The rooms were unique and lovely. My only negative comment would be that the small a/c unit above the bed was inadequate on the one day it was very warm.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews