We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another fantanstic stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amakhala Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
woodley
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“another fantanstic stay”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

November 2013 this our third stay at Amakhala game reserve and it didn't dissapoint at all more animals to see and more reserve as well the hospitality is second to none we had booked for Reed valley inn but on arrival we found we had been upgraded to a bush lodge if you stay more than once at reed valley they upgrade you to a bush lodge which is such a lovely place to stay elephants wandering by when you are relaxing on your deck it was wonderful the food was delicious there is nothing to find fault with.we had a log burner burning all night in our room as it was chilly at night and a hot bath waiting for us when returning from our evening game drive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodleyAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    14
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
104
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I had gone to South Africa on my honeymoon in December 2012/ January 2013 and we wanted to spend a few days in a game reserve. Amakhala turned out to be an excellent choice and Bush Lodge, even better! We drove from Cape Town to Knysna and then on to Amakhala. Once you reach the reception, you leave your car parked near the reception and a Land Rover comes and picks you up along with your luggage. Elbie was our ranger for the two days and 4 game drives we had there and she was awesome!

The rooms were absolutely fabulous. They knew we were on our honeymoon and ensured that we got the cottage at the farthest end with some more privacy. They also created a bath with rose petals and champagne and strawberries with chocolate for us on the first evening which made us feel very special.

There are 5-6 individual cottages which are laid out in a way that you cannot see the other one from your porch. Each cottage has a private pool (not heated unfortunately and when we went there it was a little cold to get in). There is a spectacular view from the rooms and at times you can wake up to elephants or giraffes standing 30-40 feet from your cottage. Every room is equipped with a fireplace which is duly lit before you reach back to your room after your evening game drive.

The food was spectacular as the chef would make food to your liking and have a surprise dessert every evening. They would have a camp fire in the evening where all the guests would gather around and have wine and talk.

The game drives were wonderful and we were able to spot various animals. We weren't lucky enough to see the lions, but we weren't disappointed as we saw several other animals that are not always easy to spot!

All in all it was one of my best experiences and I would most definitely recommend this to everyone..!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Usually, when I have very fond memories of a place, I’m hesitant to go back.
I surely don’t wont to see a disappointing second stay ruin my first feelings.
Our first stay at Bush Lodge was still a very vivid and magic moment, which was engraved in our thoughts and hearts and we really wanted to preserve it.
But we decided to take the risk.

How could I even think it was a risk? From the moment we were sat in the Landi, on the way between Reed Valley and the lodge, back in the fascinating and beautiful African bush, I knew we were up to a very special time again.

Our cosy, luxury tent was offering stunning views upon the watering hole. On our second evening there, as we were getting ready for dinner, the phone rang. It was René, the lodge manager, calling to tell us that if we had a little look by the French windows, we would realise that we had a visitor. We turned off all lights, opened and discovered an elephant drinking peacefully right ahead of us. Dark skies full of stars, full moon on, you can imagine what a fairy-tale sighting this was.

Just like during our first stay, Tim was our ranger, and his great sense of decision-making made us live truly magical moments. Once, the herd of elephants was deep down in the valley and we were looking over it. We could have made our way down to get closer but instead he offered to be patient and said that if he weren’t mistaken we’d experience a stunning sighting. We did wait and we saw the herd slowly making its way up, through the bush. They then disappeared for a few minutes. All you could hear was the noise of their walk, very impressive. And he hadn’t mistaken, because suddenly, here they were all again, passing right in front of us, in a single line, along the rim, the valley as a background. “Beautiful” can’t describe the scene.
On another occasion, we heard that a cheetah had been spotted but was mobile. We were quite far away but again, Tim led us straight to him. We followed him from afar and we arrived right in time to see that cheetah chase a rabbit meters away from of our land rover.
And I won’t mention the lions, the buffalos, the rhinos, the monkeys, the antelopes, the tortoises, the giraffes, the zebras, the warthogs (they do actually deserve a mention for being so funny) or the multiple birds…

I won’t be able to tell you if this second time in Amakhala beat the first. It was a very different experience, just as amazing, in familiar surroundings with familiar, friendly and lovely people.

So thank you so much to all of you working there, you guys are the best, don’t ever change. Alicia, it was very nice meeting you. Elbie (please say you do remember us now! ;) ), Stacey and Nanine, it was a pleasure seeing you again. A very special thank you to René for being so concerned and caring when I fell. You were right, it got better after a couple of days, the gel might have helped ;) And a very special thank you to Tim for taking care of us and making this stay very special again.

Very happy girls twice, so please people, don’t hesitate for a second, this is an absolute no-brainer: go and have the time of your life at Bush Lodge!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife Bev and I spent two most wonderful evenings at the Bush Lodge. What a wonderful experience. The tented accomadation was absolutely fantastic. The reception as we arrived was fantastic. The game drives were wonderful and very enlightening. The ranger Tim was very very knowledgeable and very helpful at all times. The staff at the hotel were absolutely great: Rene, Nada, Alicia and Andrew were friendly helpful and the service they provided is something we have never experienced. The food that was served was great, tasty, enjoyable and so flling. Thank you to all.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to book a trip to the Bush Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siegfried H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this beautiful reserve ending our 2 week tour of the garden route. Never having done a safari before our expectations were exceeded. From the moment we arrived we were pampered. Nothing was too much trouble. Meals we adapted to suit our 3 children which was really appreciated. Our ranger, Tim was excellent. Extremely knowledgeable and more than happy to share this with us. We saw all the big 5, except the leopard. The accommodation, individual tented lodges, were really authentic. Open air showers were a lovely touch, with the luxury of hot water!If you are looking for a real bush feel this is the place. The food was delicious, and the staff were fantastic. We were met with sherry and hot towels after each drive. When we came back to our tent the wood burner was lit and the bath was run. The hot water bottles and blankets in the land rover was a welcome extra. Expensive but well worth the money! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in lodges 1 and 2 which were the closest to the main lodge. All the lodges are discretely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I booked a 1 night stay here for part of our honeymoon travels and it was AMAZING! Really wished we could have stayed longer. Our guide James was excellent and we were even able to see 4 for the Big 5. Was an incredible experience and I learned a lot about the animals. Please go...you won't be let down.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaciaLee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilderness South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Thank you Rod and Tracey for sharing your beautiful lodge with us. The tents are amazingly appointed, even with private deck and splash pool. It was a challenge to leave it for game drives - we did however skip one afternoon drive to just chill on our deck the whole day. Service, meals and game viewing equally excellent. A gem in the Eastern Cape.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
15.6 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
350 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
236 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
326 reviews
6.6 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
370 reviews
23.0 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 32 in Grahamstown
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve

Property: Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Addo, 6139 | 65KM From PE on N2, Amakhala Game Reserve 6130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly positioned in the bush at the top end of an open valley in the reserve, each of the superlative en-suite, tented and thatched suites overlook a watering point with big sky views.Each suite has a secluded private viewing deck with intimate plunge pool. Within the spacious interior hot and cold air-conditioning, an atmospheric fireplace, large oval bath and romantic alfresco double showers make this the perfect bush retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing