We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pampered Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amakhala Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pampered Holiday”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very well looked after from arrival to departure. Welcome drinks at reception and again at arrival at Bush Lodge. Absolutely fabulous accommodation with pre-heated bath water and soap sudds after a long Game Drive. Drinks with face cloth on arrival after each game drive. Lovely patio and Jacuzzi in front of Chalet. Food was acceptable but not excellent and it was pleasant that we had a choice to sit at our own table for Breakfast and Lunch, as all too often one is forced to dine at a communal table. Which should be left to the choice of the guest. Saw abundant Game of all types and the Game drives were well presented.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aeraille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    14
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
103
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

IZZY Such a smooth operation! The location was ideal for a peaceful get together with some wildlife, any problems that we had were swiftly attended to, no one seemed fazed by anything, it was amazing.

The owners and all the staff were so welcoming and friendly, they made you feel like you had been staying for months, instead of a few days! The drives were astonishing, on every single one we were met with stunning sights and beautiful animals, including majestic elephants walking right past the van, a cheetah having breakfast, a family of bantering giraffes and an unending supply of antelope! Our rangers JP and Blake, kept us laughing with funny stories and filled our heads with knowledge about the animals we were lucky enough to cross paths with.

When we arrived back from a game drive, tired and cold,we were met with warm drinks and facecloths, and in our tent, a warm bath and a hot fire was waiting for us, it was bliss. Adding to this was Nadia's fabulous spa treatments; you must try at least one whilst you're there, very reasonably priced and perfectly relaxing.

Overall this place was a beautiful getaway, and pretty much perfection for everyone!

JONATHAN This was our first safari trip, and with an 11 year old on board, we were not sure how it would all work out. I was also concerned at having read an earlier review suggesting that there were not many animals and that this was not a "proper" safari.

All of these concerns proved to be totally unfounded. The tented accommodation was luxurious, Izzy preferred the outdoor connected shower room, we loved the stone bath. The staff were so helpful and friendly, it felt like home from home - a special thank you to Rod and Tracy for your hospitality. All of the game drives were simply unforgettable, each one different in its own way, we were fortunate enough to see the big five. So I wondered if we were just luckier than the previous reviewer, but given the number of sightings I suspect that it was they who were rather unlucky. There is so much to see.

Would we recommend to others? Definitely. Would we go back? Yes, if we have the chance...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Absolutely outstanding. Tim our guide helped make our trip to South Africa everything it could be. Stacey, Bowden and Nadia only added to it. Lovely spot, fantastic accommodation and food. First class service. Our only complaint was we had to leave. Thanks to you all we had a dream holiday. Oh and I nearly forgot, lion's, elephant's, giraffe, cheetah, rhino and buffalo just some of the fantastic wildlife to see.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
187 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Your adventure into the world of Amakhala starts with being welcomed at the gate and taken into the reserve by one of the guides. The welcome speaks of African hospitality at it's best, attention to every little detail is provided. The tented camp is tastefully decorated and has all the luxuries you can expect in the city right in the bush! Needless to say the game drive was a top class experience, with a very knowlegable guide to share lots of stories and facts about the areas and game. When you get back to the Bush Lodge, sherry and a warm bath awaits you. The food is an experience in itself, and all the meals speak of lots of love and care put into it. Tracy & Rod is fantastic hosts, and their whole team share their passion and dedication. I would recommend at least a two night stay if not longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great at the entrance of the game reserve by one of the guides and taken into the reception area, to sign indemnity forms, all part of the safari experience. The guide then packed our suitcases into his land rover to take us to our tented room. We couldn't believe the first few minutes of our drive we saw zebra, giraffe and warthogs, what a welcome. A cold refreshing beer was handed to us at the lodge and the cases were delivered to our room whilst we took in our surroundings. The tented room was like no other tent we had seen, so luxurious with a double outside shower. Rod & Tracy Weeks were warm, welcoming and full of fun. Tim was our guide, he was very knowledgable, caring and fun all rolled into one. The early morning starts are worth it when you get greater by a hot water bottle and a blanket to keep you cosy whilst searching for the animals. You were greeted at the end of the day with a hot bubble bath to wash away the drives dust, believe me this is a very welcoming sight. We saw so many wonderful sightings and the reserve has a beauty all of its own. The food served for breakfast, lunch and dinner was amazing. You sat and ate whilst keeping your eyes peeled to look out for those animals that my come in to drink from the water hole. We will definitely re-visit if we ever get the chance to. Thanks to all the team working at the Bush lodge for a fantastic safari, dining experience.

Room Tip: You do not need a safari hat as this lodge has vehicles with roof cover - excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodiePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Best way to spend 2 nights away from work in the bush!
The owners - Tracy & Rod - are wonderful hosts and you almost feel like you are invited in their home. It is rustic, warm and the little touches make your stay ultra special.
Andrew was a great ranger with a very interesting life.
Great getaway to wildlife with no fuss but great comfort!

Room Tip: Enjoy the bubble bath after the evening game drive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdequekervandermerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

From the moment you arrive at this lodge, you are made to feel so welcome, it's just amazing. Luggage is brought to your room and these tents/rooms are incredibly well appointed and just heaven. The plunge pool is perfect during the hot season and as others have said, at night a hot bath awaits you after the evening drive.
Elbie was one of the most enthusiastic and knowlegable rangers I have ever encountered and she looked after everybody's needs whilst being very respectful of nature. She even carried extra sunscreen for the inexperienced travellers.... Together with the lodge manager, they made a formidable team. How they have the stamina of being up early, working all day and then socialising with guests until late at night is beyond me. All this with an ever-ready smile and a definite can-do attitude.
The food was very good and I especially loved having breakfast overlooking the open and during some game viewing that way.
I just wished I could have stayed, do I need to say more ?
On leaving the game reserve I visited the Amakhala Foundation, just off the N2 and what a wonderful place that is ! Full of pictures, sculptures, textiles and beaded art this is a treasure trove and an easy stop to do your curio shopping. It is such a worthwhile cause to empower the locals and deserves all of our support.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notstandingstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
15.6 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
6.6 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
5.0 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve

Property: Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve
Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Addo, 6139 | 65KM From PE on N2, Amakhala Game Reserve 6130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bush Lodge - Amakhala Game Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly positioned in the bush at the top end of an open valley in the reserve, each of the superlative en-suite, tented and thatched suites overlook a watering point with big sky views.Each suite has a secluded private viewing deck with intimate plunge pool. Within the spacious interior hot and cold air-conditioning, an atmospheric fireplace, large oval bath and romantic alfresco double showers make this the perfect bush retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing