We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay, a must if you plan to visit a game reserve whilst in South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We stayed 3 nights and were treated like royalty from start to finish. Chantelle and her team made us feel special from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble. The tented suites were luxurious and the food and service were 5 star. The locals seem to enjoy it also, we had an elephant visit us during dinner one night to drink from the pool.

David's game drives were fun, informative and exciting. It is great to spend time with someone so passionate about his work. Make sure you spend time doing the Rhino conservation work, it makes a great add-on to the safari experience. You can do as much or as little as you want when you want as you are the only ones on site during your stay.

We wouldn't hesitate returning and can't recommend HillsNek enough.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

We spent 3 nights at Hillsnek and except some drops of rain (my wife still says that it was raining cats and dogs) that David could not manage to avoid during the game, we had really a great time.
All of us: 2 adults and our 4 years old daughter enjoyed a lot and she's still speaking about the game after 2 months.
Everything was great from the food to the open air shower.
Brent and his stuff are "meravigliosi" and we felt like at home with friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marpfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Everything, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, was perfect !!!
The lodge is marvellous, the location and wiews fantastic. The 'tents' luxurious and beautiful. Delicious food and wine. Chantelle and the staff are very friendly, warm and hospitable.
The game drives were great. And the ranger, David, exellent !!!
HillsNek was absolute the highlight of our South- African holiday. We really hope to come back with our family,they also deserve to experience this......

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Just came back from a two night-stay at Hillsnek and we are overwhelmed. In short; if you ever get the chance to visit Hillsnek - take that chance and you will have an experience you will never forget about! I am sure! Fantastic location, marvellous lodge, personal super-service, delicious food and - last but not least - a world class ranger giving you outstanding safari experiences. Go there!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skaaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Again we just can say, that really EVERYTHING was perfekt!!! The service, the very friendly people, the meals, the trips with David, everything was great and we also are very sad that we just had 2 nights at Hills Nek Lodge! We will be back again! Best regards and all the best!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilka68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Personalization, relaxation and excellent widelife spotting and service can summarize our experience at Hillsnek Safari Lodge. Our host Brent was extremely attentive to our needs and great company. He always seemed to know exactly when we were in need of another cocktail, snack or a little quiet time.
Our room was extremely comfortable and inlcuded all the amenities you can think of. Everything was crisp and perfectly laid out so that we could enjoy the beautiful African scenery from any spot in our room. We especially loved the outdoor shower. The night skies were so clear - I recommend taking a night shower and count the stars... there is no light polution.
The game drive was a blast - we saw all the animals we wanted to but the highlight of the viewing had to have been the elephants drinking from our pool. It was thrilling!!!
My only complaint is that our stay was so short. The staff were great and went out of their way to ensure a memorable experience. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rblavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

As options go on the Amakala Reserve, Hills Nek's offering is unique, authentic and special. Where else would you get elephants drinking from the lodge pool? The team as Hills Nek made it a privileged and exclusive stay. Because the entire experience is tailor-made for the guest, you get to dictate the pace. Extensive informative and relaxed game drives combined with pampering and glorious meals makes Hills Nek a must visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eimear26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
10.2 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
364 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
360 reviews
8.1 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
237 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
242 reviews
16.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve

Address: N2 | Greater Addo, Eastern Cape, Amakhala Game Reserve 6011, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: £431 - £683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HillsNek Safaris is an intimate, luxury tented camp positioned on the banks of the Bushmans River. Situated in a tucked away corner of the Amakhala Big 5 Game Reserve, the lodge is 70km's from Port Elizabeth in the malaria-free Eastern Cape. An abundant variety of wildlife includes lion,rhino, elephant, giraffe, cheetah, buffalo, zebra and a myriad of plains game. The stone, canvas and thatched main lodge is at the heart of the camp, with four private safari tents elevated on wooden decks that enhance the spectacular views of surrounding plains and bush. All tents have panoramic views of the African plains, and game viewing can often be enjoyed from the comfort of your bed. Personalized service and outstanding hospitality is the hallmark of every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing