We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Magical 'Getaway'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Kingswinford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Truly Magical 'Getaway'”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We echo very loudly the words of other guests who have been privileged enough to experience Hillsnek. To Brent, David, Maggie & Susan we thank you with all our hearts for a simply magical end to our holiday in SA - undoubtedly the highlight of our mini tour.

Words are not enough really, we would just urge anyone with the will, the means and enough spirit to be able to truly appreciate this place to go and stay, for as long as possible! Yes, there are bigger, flashier, more luxurious private lodges but you can't buy heart and soul. To Brent and the team we hope to be back to share it with you very soon. Rob & Angela.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentChantelle, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Guys it was an absolute pleasure having you stay at Hillsnek Safaris, we thoroughly enjoyed your days spent with us, only wish it could have been longer! Thanks for the great feedback we all really appreciate it , the memorable laughs are still referred to here at the lodge!! Keep in touch and Best Regards, from all of us here at Hillsnek Safaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
111
201
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Ostfold, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

After coming home from a 2 night stay at HillsNek with my family of 3, I wonder if I just had a wonderful dream..! We had never been on a proper safari before, and we really didn't know what to expect in forehand. We knew HillsNek would be great - but we were wrong: It is not great - it is more than FANTASTIC!! The food is delicious - every taste of it (thanks to the fabulous cook - we have gained too much weight..!), the tents (very private, as there are only three tents) are beautifully and very well equipped, the view is fantastic, the game drives are unbelievably exciting, and the staff consists of the most gentle, generous, caring people, being at our service 24 hours a day! With a nice wakeup call in the morning - coffee/tea brought to our tents, all meals at the table "whenever you are ready", "everything fine?" ... Game drives morning, day and evening (when and how often you like) with the most dedicated guide, taking care of "everything": Blankets, ponchoes and hot waterbottles when it's chilly, snacks and drinks, sharing his knowledge and experiences, and finding "all" the animals for us..! It was really tough to leave this "Garden of Eden".. But now we know that it exists - and where! Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to come back one day. Until then, HillsNek will remain in our minds as our African dream...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inger Lise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

AWESOME - Other than the incredible winds that blew one night while we there - this place is a true jewel. The views, the service, the lodging, the food.- you could not ask for anything better than this place.

We stayed two nights at the first of September 2011 and wish we could have stayed longer. David, the ranger, was incredible. His enthusiasm and excitement were great to experience - in addition to his ability to find the animals. Incredible knowledge of every living thing on the property.

The staff was wonderful. From the wake up "call" (coffee brought to your tent!) to the turn down service - everything was impeccable.

I loved this place and will always treasure it in my memory. THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: No choice needed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Our experience at Hillsneck could not have been more amazing!!!! We were treated like celebrities right from the time we were greeted at the entrance. Brent, our host was most gracious and ensured that every detail was to perfection. From the hand written notes left in our room when we first arrived to the warm face cloths offered to us after each safarri drive to the little "delights" that were left on our pillow each night to. Every moment spent at Hillsneck was surpassed only by the next moment. The food prepared by the chefs, Maggie and Susan could only be described as spectacular!!! The luxury tents were wonderful!!! The word luxury doesn't do them justice!!! Crawling into a preheated bed at the end of the day was most delilghful. David, our guide, was fun, educational and passionate about his job. The best part of our experience was that it was just our family!!! The personalized service was incredible. We arrived as strangers and left feeling like we had made new friends. Overall the experience exceeded our expectaions and I would love to go back!!! Thank you Brent and David for making our once in a lifetime experience so memorable!!!! P.S. the saffari drives are alot of fun and you are spoiled on them as well!!! David does an incredible job of providing information in a fun and informative way. Brent is lucky to have you!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kammi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The best Big 5 malaria free safari in South Africa, and worth double what you pay!
friends of ours, the Rosentreters from Canada stayed there for 3 nights in August 2011 and this is what they have to say:

' A safari of the self and spirit-thank you for feeding both so well-Maggie and Susan, your talent was appreciated. You have taken the art of dining to another level. David-your passion for your safari "lifestyle" is evident. Your desire to make the experience unforgettable shines through vividly. Brent-the most gracious host. Thank you for making our once in a lifetime adventure so unforgettable and perfect in every way. Your attention to detail is outstanding. God bless in your quest to protect the rhino-we will do our part!! - Rosentreter Family

Room Tip: 3 tents, 3 amazing locations, all of them are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girafino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We were totally blown away by every aspect of the lodge…… the tents are amazing ( we all enjoyed the stunning outside shower); the food was outstanding, the service was brilliant and the main lodge is beautiful.

Brent – thank-you for making us feel so very welcome– your attention to detail ( like knowing all of our names before we even introduced ourselves and appearing like magic whenever we needed anything !) and the interesting chats we shared made for us feel like we were old friends !

Of the many lodges we have visited over the years, we have yet to have all aspects of the lodge exceed expectations as was the case at Hillsnek ( accommodation, food, game experience, staff)……you have thought of the best of everything ( hot water bottles on drives, bed time stories, and your planning for kids was unbelievable – they still treasure their bags and diaries and talk about the hot chocolate with marshmallows after the evening drives !) David was a wonderful guide – very informative, enthusiastic and so patient with the children ! We loved the scenery and close up viewing of so much game…..

As for the food – wow – thankfully we didn’t stay any longer as it would surely have tipped the scales in a positive I could do without !
It really was too delicious for words…..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolaslatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We spent 3 days at Hillsneck and couldn't have asked for more. David our Ranger really knows his stuff and we saw everything we wanted to and more. He took us to see whatever we wanted. He is the Lion finding machine!!! The service at the lodge was unreal, they have thought of everything. The food is out of this world, so fresh, we must have put on 3 stone! We can't wait to go back again to visit, wouldn't want to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: All the tents are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Breen81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
10.2 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
350 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
325 reviews
8.1 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
230 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,076 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve

Property: HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Address: N2 | Greater Addo, Eastern Cape, Amakhala Game Reserve 6011, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HillsNek Safaris is an intimate, luxury tented camp positioned on the banks of the Bushmans River. Situated in a tucked away corner of the Amakhala Big 5 Game Reserve, the lodge is 70km's from Port Elizabeth in the malaria-free Eastern Cape. An abundant variety of wildlife includes lion,rhino, elephant, giraffe, cheetah, buffalo, zebra and a myriad of plains game. The stone, canvas and thatched main lodge is at the heart of the camp, with four private safari tents elevated on wooden decks that enhance the spectacular views of surrounding plains and bush. All tents have panoramic views of the African plains, and game viewing can often be enjoyed from the comfort of your bed. Personalized service and outstanding hospitality is the hallmark of every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing