We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We spent Christmas at Hillsneck this year, and cannot fault the stay, even heavy rain on Christmas night couldn't dappen our stay.

The whole experience was fantastic, the attention to detail makes such a difference from the pre hetaed beds to the little gift with the wake up drinks.

The food is fabulous, but make sure you're not on a diet as there is no shortage of it!!

As for the game drives we've visited Etosha, The Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater and Okavango Delta and I cannot fault Amakhala the animals are all there but the people aren't it was amazing to be sat just a few feet from 6 Cheetah and be the only vehicle there, at the other parks you'd often be one of 10 plus groups! Granted there is probably fewer animals here but we saw everything we wanted close up and all the animals looked so healthy, and our guides knowledge and enthusiasm was fantastic

As experiences go having your christmas dinner interrupted by a family of elephants drinking from the swimming pool about 10 feet from where you are sat will take some beating!!

Our host David was a very genuine guy and with the team around him made our 2 night stay the absolute highlight of our trip to South Africa

Room Tip: There are only 3 tents but try and get number 3 (I think) its the highest one up but the view over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
111
201
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We went to Hillsnek to finish off our honeymoon and to say it was perfect was an UNDERSTATEMENT. Brent and Chantelle do such a wonderful job of making you feel at home thousands and thousands of miles away from home. This is PARADISE in the Bush. Thank you guys for an amazing time-- Justin and Lindsey

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I spent 3 nights at Hillsnek and had a wonderful experience. The staff were helpful, my "tent" luxurious, the food amazing and the game viewing great - we saw cheetah, rhino, lion, elephant, buffalo plus the normal antelope, giraffe, zebra etc - game will be even better when they have a few more animals. The guide was very knowledgeable and made all our game viewing interesting and fun. Came away having had a really awesome experience and having been thoroughly spoilt. Would definitely recommend Hillsnek.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Its rare that you go anywhere and cant stop talking about the experience. This is what happened at Hillsnek. Brent and his team have created something very special and totally unique. This is not just a safari, its a total experience. The attention to detail is what makes it. The team are focussed on you, and very quietly everything is perfect. There is total flexibility, the highest quality of every aspect of the stay, the food, the rooms, the preparation for the trips. Oh and dont forget the wildlife and the scenery and Davids skills in tracking, locating and sharing great knowledge.
Hillsnek is great value too, frankly too cheap, but dont tell Brent that!
Rarely have we been anywhere and given 5 stars for everything. It could take 7.
When you are looking for a safari experience that will exceed every conceivable expectation, Hillsnek delivers. Thanks Brent and team, be very proud of yourselves, you deserve it!

Room Tip: 3 tents, (luxury rooms so do not think canvass!!) all the same ,all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckybluecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was my 5th safari in South Africa and I always thought that real game drives can only be done in Sabi Sands. Now I know better. Hillsnek is just a 45 min. drive from Port Elisabeth, malaria free and as exciting as or even more existing than all my previous games drives before. David, the ranger, was incredible. His enthusiasm and patience to find the right place in the right moment was outstanding. His knowledge of the bush unbelievable….. Unforgettable: his spotting for the sundowners during the game drives….the lodge himself: a small paradise, everywhere you find the personal touch of the owner (Chantal and Brent) with the special eye for so many details, really unique! The staff always smiling, making sure, that you feel at home, the food simply excellent….2 days were not enough at all; it was really more than tough to leave the paradise….Chantal & Brent, I love to come back next year!
Sincerely Gabi

Room Tip: There are only 3 tents and all of them are situated in an intimate and private surrounding. So you j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_Haupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentChantelle, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank-you so much for your feedback, we truely appreciate the compliments and we are thrilled your safari lived up to your expectations and more, it was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your future visits. Keep well and Kind Regards from the team at Hillsnek Safaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We echo very loudly the words of other guests who have been privileged enough to experience Hillsnek. To Brent, David, Maggie & Susan we thank you with all our hearts for a simply magical end to our holiday in SA - undoubtedly the highlight of our mini tour.

Words are not enough really, we would just urge anyone with the will, the means and enough spirit to be able to truly appreciate this place to go and stay, for as long as possible! Yes, there are bigger, flashier, more luxurious private lodges but you can't buy heart and soul. To Brent and the team we hope to be back to share it with you very soon. Rob & Angela.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentChantelle, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Guys it was an absolute pleasure having you stay at Hillsnek Safaris, we thoroughly enjoyed your days spent with us, only wish it could have been longer! Thanks for the great feedback we all really appreciate it , the memorable laughs are still referred to here at the lodge!! Keep in touch and Best Regards, from all of us here at Hillsnek Safaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Ostfold, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

After coming home from a 2 night stay at HillsNek with my family of 3, I wonder if I just had a wonderful dream..! We had never been on a proper safari before, and we really didn't know what to expect in forehand. We knew HillsNek would be great - but we were wrong: It is not great - it is more than FANTASTIC!! The food is delicious - every taste of it (thanks to the fabulous cook - we have gained too much weight..!), the tents (very private, as there are only three tents) are beautifully and very well equipped, the view is fantastic, the game drives are unbelievably exciting, and the staff consists of the most gentle, generous, caring people, being at our service 24 hours a day! With a nice wakeup call in the morning - coffee/tea brought to our tents, all meals at the table "whenever you are ready", "everything fine?" ... Game drives morning, day and evening (when and how often you like) with the most dedicated guide, taking care of "everything": Blankets, ponchoes and hot waterbottles when it's chilly, snacks and drinks, sharing his knowledge and experiences, and finding "all" the animals for us..! It was really tough to leave this "Garden of Eden".. But now we know that it exists - and where! Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to come back one day. Until then, HillsNek will remain in our minds as our African dream...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inger Lise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
10.2 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
350 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
326 reviews
8.1 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
230 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,075 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve

Property: HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Address: N2 | Greater Addo, Eastern Cape, Amakhala Game Reserve 6011, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HillsNek Safaris is an intimate, luxury tented camp positioned on the banks of the Bushmans River. Situated in a tucked away corner of the Amakhala Big 5 Game Reserve, the lodge is 70km's from Port Elizabeth in the malaria-free Eastern Cape. An abundant variety of wildlife includes lion,rhino, elephant, giraffe, cheetah, buffalo, zebra and a myriad of plains game. The stone, canvas and thatched main lodge is at the heart of the camp, with four private safari tents elevated on wooden decks that enhance the spectacular views of surrounding plains and bush. All tents have panoramic views of the African plains, and game viewing can often be enjoyed from the comfort of your bed. Personalized service and outstanding hospitality is the hallmark of every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing