We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very special experience”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Fabulous setting, stylish and comfortable accomodation, superb food and service allways with a smile! Its dream of Africa served up to you with all the animals you want to see expertly found and explained. Great attention to detail from delicious and interesting menues to warm and cosy ponchos in the land cruiser for morning chill. We would love to go back soon.

Room Tip: The 3 doubble tents are snugg in the hill and placed so that they are. Completely private. The only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annamg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
111
201
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The stop in Hilsnek crowned finally our trip to South Africa. The Hillsnek-Team shepherded us extraordinary. The individuel gamedrives were unique and great experiences for us; special thanks go to reinhard. We will never forget this lovely location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans40215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Wow. The entire team at Hillsnek, without excception - make for an extraordinary experience. The passion and enthusiasm is contagious. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nantwich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Wow! The weirdest and most wonderful Christmas ever. This was the trip of a lifetime and boy, did it live up to expectations! Absolutely everything about Hillsnek is fantastic; the food (so beautifully presented), the game drives (even in the pouring rain!), the hot water bottles in the truck first thing in the morning, the lodge, the staff, our wonderful and knowledgeable guide, the stops for food in the most incredible spots with views to die for, the fabulous 5 star tents, waking in the morning to a tray of tea and panoramic views of the surrounding area, the list goes on and on. We cannot praise Hillsnek highly enough. Having just three tents made it a very personal experience. Thank you all for making our trip so wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We spent Christmas at Hillsneck this year, and cannot fault the stay, even heavy rain on Christmas night couldn't dappen our stay.

The whole experience was fantastic, the attention to detail makes such a difference from the pre hetaed beds to the little gift with the wake up drinks.

The food is fabulous, but make sure you're not on a diet as there is no shortage of it!!

As for the game drives we've visited Etosha, The Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater and Okavango Delta and I cannot fault Amakhala the animals are all there but the people aren't it was amazing to be sat just a few feet from 6 Cheetah and be the only vehicle there, at the other parks you'd often be one of 10 plus groups! Granted there is probably fewer animals here but we saw everything we wanted close up and all the animals looked so healthy, and our guides knowledge and enthusiasm was fantastic

As experiences go having your christmas dinner interrupted by a family of elephants drinking from the swimming pool about 10 feet from where you are sat will take some beating!!

Our host David was a very genuine guy and with the team around him made our 2 night stay the absolute highlight of our trip to South Africa

Room Tip: There are only 3 tents but try and get number 3 (I think) its the highest one up but the view over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We went to Hillsnek to finish off our honeymoon and to say it was perfect was an UNDERSTATEMENT. Brent and Chantelle do such a wonderful job of making you feel at home thousands and thousands of miles away from home. This is PARADISE in the Bush. Thank you guys for an amazing time-- Justin and Lindsey

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I spent 3 nights at Hillsnek and had a wonderful experience. The staff were helpful, my "tent" luxurious, the food amazing and the game viewing great - we saw cheetah, rhino, lion, elephant, buffalo plus the normal antelope, giraffe, zebra etc - game will be even better when they have a few more animals. The guide was very knowledgeable and made all our game viewing interesting and fun. Came away having had a really awesome experience and having been thoroughly spoilt. Would definitely recommend Hillsnek.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
10.2 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
350 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
326 reviews
8.1 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
231 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,078 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve

Property: HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Address: N2 | Greater Addo, Eastern Cape, Amakhala Game Reserve 6011, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HillsNek Safaris is an intimate, luxury tented camp positioned on the banks of the Bushmans River. Situated in a tucked away corner of the Amakhala Big 5 Game Reserve, the lodge is 70km's from Port Elizabeth in the malaria-free Eastern Cape. An abundant variety of wildlife includes lion,rhino, elephant, giraffe, cheetah, buffalo, zebra and a myriad of plains game. The stone, canvas and thatched main lodge is at the heart of the camp, with four private safari tents elevated on wooden decks that enhance the spectacular views of surrounding plains and bush. All tents have panoramic views of the African plains, and game viewing can often be enjoyed from the comfort of your bed. Personalized service and outstanding hospitality is the hallmark of every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing