We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite lodge and reserve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our second stay at Hillsnek was even better than our first. The accommodation was superb and the weather was very good so that we even braved the outdoor shower! The food was excellent and as good as any 5 star we've had anywhere. On our last day we were treated to lunch overlooking the plains which was a wonderful surprise. Thank you Donald and the rest of the Hillsnek staff team who make this such a special place to stay! We have to give a special mention to our ranger David, who is the best ranger we have had in our 3 visits to South Africa and 12 reserves. David is passionate about the wildlife, very knowledgeable and has a great sense of humour. Our close encounters with a bull elephant and black rhino will be remembered for ever. If we're lucky enough to return to South Africa again Hillsnek will be first on our list.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dearest Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay at HillsNek, Amakhala Game Reserve.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed the time spent with us, that the weather was kinder, and that the game viewing was exciting and presented new opportunities. Our ranger David is of course beaming like a Cheshire cat after reading this.... you have made his day, his month, his year with the kind accolades!! Thank you again and we would only be honoured to welcome you both back.
Kindest regards
Brent, Chantelle and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 3 teenage children spent three nights at Hillsnek. What a treat! The staff were freindly and attentive the food was delicious and we had great game drives. Although we are regular bush visitors, we had some really special encounters with elephant, rhino and lion - one can always learn something new. We saw 73 birds (not bad for winter) including Denhams Bustard which was a lifer for me. Donald, the cook, was very accommodating in allowing our eldest son to have a cooking lesson - he prepared supper under supervision while we went on a game drive. David, our ranger, obviously loves nature and was an excellent guide. Warren made sure that everything ran smoothly - we really appreciated the extras - the boat trip on the Bushmans river and a visit to Born Free Foundation. We all really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 450DEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dearest HillsNek Friends,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor. We have shared this fantastic review with our staff, who are all beaming from ear to ear!! It is endearing to hear that even seasoned safari goers continue to get a thrill from the bush and we completely agree, there is always something new to admire in nature. Our rangers are always excited when guests show interest in the other species such as birds. We are thrilled that you got a sighting of a Denhams Bustard on Amakhala Game Reserve!! What a treat! From the team, thank you for spending time with us and for being enthusiastic in all aspects of your stay. We would gladly welcome you back any day!! All the best until then, the HillsNek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The staff were amazing and their servcie and attention to detail was like nothing we've experienced before. The 'tent' was luxurious and the facilities far exceeded my high expectations. The entire camp was beautifully and tastefully decorated, well maintained and spotlessly clean. The first game drive was a little tedious at times, it was a cold, very windy and damp afternoon and for long periods we saw nothing at all. We missed out on a sundowner but the hot chocolate upon arrival back at camp was very welcome! The morning game drive was excellent. Trevor is an extremely knowledgable and informative guide. Tamsin and her staff go out of their way to look after you and ensure you have everything you need. The food was amazing. An outstanding experience overall.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dromomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Friends,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at HillsNek. We are thrilled that your expectations were exceeded from both a service and attention to detail perspective. Our staff really do go out of their way to accommodate our guests in all ways possible. Glad to hear that you were kept warm on a winter safari!!
All the best for the remainder of 2013.
Kind regards
the HillsNek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We recently spent time at Hillsnek Safais in the Amakhala Game Reserve. This lodge is a little piece of heaven and we were treated like 5 star guests. Although the lodge, tents, en suite bathrooms, food and staff were wonderful - it was the bush that was just amazing. Along with the big 5 it also boasts the most diverse terrain and a visit up to God's Window overlooking the Bushmans River is a must! Thank you to everyone at Hillsnek who made our visit so very special!!

The owners of the lodge also started the Chipembere Rhino Foundation and do some incredible work to help save our Rhino! Take a look at their website www.chipembere.org!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DegreesofAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I'm a frequent traveler to East and Southern Africa and was very pleasantly surprised by the amount of wildlife and the feeling of being in a wild place at HillsNik, knowing that all of Amakhala is reclaimed farm land. The reserve is large, at 7,000 hectares, which allows enough space for elephant and other big game to move around and behave in a natural way. The view from the very chic, newly decorated lodge, looking over the reserve, is beautiful. The camp and tents are just the right combination of warmth, tradition, and good taste. Your charming hosts, Chantelle and Brent are the owners so you will feel more like a personal guest than a client. Vehicles are excellent and you can expect lovely sundowners and morning coffee stops. The camp is excellent value for money .

Room Tip: All the tents seem to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mellowmarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights at HillsNek game reserve to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We went during the low season and were the only couple there. Tamsin and her staff made our stay truly memorable by going out of their way to make us feel special. The lodge has been beautifully interior decorated, the staff was extremely friendly, the food delicious and our tent was fabulous with a great view. Our game ranger, Trevor had exceptional knowledge and we felt like family soon after our arrival. We saw quite a lot of game and had a lovely sundowner.. I can truly say that it was the highlight of our vacation and that I can recommend it as a fantastic establishment.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanetWesternCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Six of us recently stayed at this Safari Lodge. They only have three tented double rooms so we had it all to ourselves. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our twice daily game drives were wonderful with early morning coffee and muffins etc or chilled wine and snacks at sunset. We saw the big five, but the rhinos were special they are looked after like million dollar babies with constant protection against poaching. They are doing a wonderful job trying to protect these magnificent beasts and they need all the international support they can get.

Room Tip: There are only three tented rooms, all are private with wonderful views. Added bonus is the outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sashmCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
10.2 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
366 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
372 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
250 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,132 reviews
16.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve

Address: N2 | Greater Addo, Eastern Cape, Amakhala Game Reserve 6011, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: £435 - £729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HillsNek Safaris is an intimate, luxury tented camp positioned on the banks of the Bushmans River. Situated in a tucked away corner of the Amakhala Big 5 Game Reserve, the lodge is 70km's from Port Elizabeth in the malaria-free Eastern Cape. An abundant variety of wildlife includes lion,rhino, elephant, giraffe, cheetah, buffalo, zebra and a myriad of plains game. The stone, canvas and thatched main lodge is at the heart of the camp, with four private safari tents elevated on wooden decks that enhance the spectacular views of surrounding plains and bush. All tents have panoramic views of the African plains, and game viewing can often be enjoyed from the comfort of your bed. Personalized service and outstanding hospitality is the hallmark of every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing