We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My fiance and I spent 3 wonderful nights at HillsNek. Everything was absolutely perfect from the time we arrived to the time we left. Staff were friendly, accommodating, and very knowledgeable. We thoroughly enjoyed our game drives with David! The food was delicious and plentiful and the accommodations were top notch! We wish we could have spent more time! Thanks again for everything!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmurphy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Canadian Friend,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor. Congratulations again on getting married and we truly hope you enjoyed your honeymoon through South Africa, as well as at HillsNek. Maybe we could entice you to come back and celebrate an anniversary somewhere down the line with us? It would be very special.
Thank you again and all the best for what is left of 2013.
Kindest regards
The HillsNek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

From the moment our family arrived, we knew we were in good hands. We were greeted as we exited the vehicle that transported us from the gate by the proprietor's wife and the staff with hot towels to wash the dust from our trip up from the gate. Since had not had lunch we were quickly offered sandwiches. David, the ranger who took on us on the five safari rides we did while staying at Hillsnek was fantastic and great with the kids. You could tell this was more than a job but a passion. He went out of his way to make sure that our boys saw the things that excited them and explained things well.

The accommodations were superb and the food was fantastic.

This is a small intimate lodge which allows you to be pampered and get to know the others guests.

We can't say enough about Hillsnek!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC98057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Indiana Family,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and for the excellent feedback. David really does enjoy children, and always makes a special effort in getting them hooked on the bush! We hope your boys have been bitten by the safari bug, and will return one day...
A smaller camp definitely allows us to spend meaningful time with our guests, and ensure all are happy and enjoying the HillsNek experience.
Thank you again and please send our warmest regards to your family.
Kind regards
Chantelle and the HillsNek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I were married in the Eastern Cape in mid-August, and then spent a four-day honeymoon at Hillsnek. We found ourselves constantly saying to each other how "perfect" everything was. Hillsnek really strives for perfection, and achieves it in every aspect of game reserve hospitality. Rather than go on and on, I will list the highlights:
1) Food. Our chef, Donald, cooked us some of the most innovative, delicious meals I have ever had. He incorporated local ingredients and unique takes on standard South African meals. Between the proper meals, high tea (which is much more than just tea), and the yummy snacks that we took on game drive, we ate SEVEN times a day.
2) Outdoor showers. In addition to bath tubs in the rooms, there are secluded outdoor showers behind every tent/cabin that are a delight to use.
3) Game drives. Our ranger was knowledgeable, funny, and knew exactly where to go to get us the closest to the wildlife, while remaining safe.
4) Every little detail. Hillsnek really thinks of every little detail throughout your stay. Things you never would have thought would make you more comfortable or feel more pampered suddenly appear (I don't want to ruin the surprise) several times a day.
5) Constantly innovating. There could be something monotonous about staying at any game reserve for too long, but Hillsnek is constantly changing the routine, serving meals in different places, changing the themes/goals of the game drives, creating new activities. Makes even a long stay constantly interesting.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BabakN530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dearest Californian Guests,

Wow! You guys have certainly travelled the world getting to us and we are so grateful that HillsNek featured on your honeymoon. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for elaborating on some of the details that you most enjoyed.
We have shared the great review with our chef Donald, and he is needless to say, ecstatic! Thank you thank you! We are currently doing staff profiling on Facebook, and Donald (or 'The Don' as he is affectionately known), is next in line. Please visit us on Facebook and stay in touch.
We too think the outdoor showers are very special.... and it is always rewarding when guests take note of the bush showers in place and enjoy them as much as you have.
We wish you all the best as a newly wed couple, and hope to welcome you back one day.
Thank you immensely for this amazing review!

Kind regards
Brent, Chantelle and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our trip to HillsNek was amazing. Warren, James, and the rest of the crew were fabulous. Even when dealing with our seven year old son, who can be a handful of energy, they made our stay wonderful and memorable. It was the most relaxing part of our trip, and we would go back in a heartbeat! The animals are incredible, the food perfect, and we could not have asked for a better experience! Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1LostCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dearest Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review HillsNek. Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and that your seven old was well taken care of. All our staff love children, and welcome the opportunity to introduce them to the magic of nature and conservation. We hope your child has many fond memories of his/her time on Amakhala, and that they one day will venture back to Africa with their children in tow!

All the best for the remainder of 2013.
Kind regards
Brent, Chantelle and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our second stay at Hillsnek was even better than our first. The accommodation was superb and the weather was very good so that we even braved the outdoor shower! The food was excellent and as good as any 5 star we've had anywhere. On our last day we were treated to lunch overlooking the plains which was a wonderful surprise. Thank you Donald and the rest of the Hillsnek staff team who make this such a special place to stay! We have to give a special mention to our ranger David, who is the best ranger we have had in our 3 visits to South Africa and 12 reserves. David is passionate about the wildlife, very knowledgeable and has a great sense of humour. Our close encounters with a bull elephant and black rhino will be remembered for ever. If we're lucky enough to return to South Africa again Hillsnek will be first on our list.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dearest Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay at HillsNek, Amakhala Game Reserve.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed the time spent with us, that the weather was kinder, and that the game viewing was exciting and presented new opportunities. Our ranger David is of course beaming like a Cheshire cat after reading this.... you have made his day, his month, his year with the kind accolades!! Thank you again and we would only be honoured to welcome you both back.
Kindest regards
Brent, Chantelle and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 3 teenage children spent three nights at Hillsnek. What a treat! The staff were freindly and attentive the food was delicious and we had great game drives. Although we are regular bush visitors, we had some really special encounters with elephant, rhino and lion - one can always learn something new. We saw 73 birds (not bad for winter) including Denhams Bustard which was a lifer for me. Donald, the cook, was very accommodating in allowing our eldest son to have a cooking lesson - he prepared supper under supervision while we went on a game drive. David, our ranger, obviously loves nature and was an excellent guide. Warren made sure that everything ran smoothly - we really appreciated the extras - the boat trip on the Bushmans river and a visit to Born Free Foundation. We all really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 450DEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dearest HillsNek Friends,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor. We have shared this fantastic review with our staff, who are all beaming from ear to ear!! It is endearing to hear that even seasoned safari goers continue to get a thrill from the bush and we completely agree, there is always something new to admire in nature. Our rangers are always excited when guests show interest in the other species such as birds. We are thrilled that you got a sighting of a Denhams Bustard on Amakhala Game Reserve!! What a treat! From the team, thank you for spending time with us and for being enthusiastic in all aspects of your stay. We would gladly welcome you back any day!! All the best until then, the HillsNek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The staff were amazing and their servcie and attention to detail was like nothing we've experienced before. The 'tent' was luxurious and the facilities far exceeded my high expectations. The entire camp was beautifully and tastefully decorated, well maintained and spotlessly clean. The first game drive was a little tedious at times, it was a cold, very windy and damp afternoon and for long periods we saw nothing at all. We missed out on a sundowner but the hot chocolate upon arrival back at camp was very welcome! The morning game drive was excellent. Trevor is an extremely knowledgable and informative guide. Tamsin and her staff go out of their way to look after you and ensure you have everything you need. The food was amazing. An outstanding experience overall.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dromomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushbaby99, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Friends,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at HillsNek. We are thrilled that your expectations were exceeded from both a service and attention to detail perspective. Our staff really do go out of their way to accommodate our guests in all ways possible. Glad to hear that you were kept warm on a winter safari!!
All the best for the remainder of 2013.
Kind regards
the HillsNek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
10.2 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
368 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
385 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
255 reviews
16.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve

Address: N2 | Greater Addo, Eastern Cape, Amakhala Game Reserve 6011, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: £468 - £724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HillsNek Safaris is an intimate, luxury tented camp positioned on the banks of the Bushmans River. Situated in a tucked away corner of the Amakhala Big 5 Game Reserve, the lodge is 70km's from Port Elizabeth in the malaria-free Eastern Cape. An abundant variety of wildlife includes lion,rhino, elephant, giraffe, cheetah, buffalo, zebra and a myriad of plains game. The stone, canvas and thatched main lodge is at the heart of the camp, with four private safari tents elevated on wooden decks that enhance the spectacular views of surrounding plains and bush. All tents have panoramic views of the African plains, and game viewing can often be enjoyed from the comfort of your bed. Personalized service and outstanding hospitality is the hallmark of every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing