We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience :)”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

From the moment we arrived at Hillsnek, we knew we were at a very special place. The accommodation, the food, the service, the attention to detail were all top notch and that's before mentioning the safari drives which were fun, informative and compellingly addictive ! We stayed 2 nights and the biggest compliment I can pay is that we were Ll very sad to leave. Thanks to all the team at Hillsnek for sharing your little piece of heaven with us.

Room Tip: There are only 3 luxury tents, all of the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
104
196
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Serbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife, our 5 year old son Livio and I have been 3 nights at beginning of December at HillsNek and despite the fact that the whole SouthAfrica Holiday was great the Safari-Experience will remain unforgettable for us. The nature is beautiful, unspoilt. The accommodation was just indescribable. The luxury tent in the middle of the nature, all the amenities, Chantelle and her team were just perfect: extremely friendly and welcoming, we felt like at home. And the service was excellent: food, wine the whole resort .... and our safari trips with David were just great: David knows everything, shares his knowledge, is funny and it is visible and feelable that he loves what he does, our son even wanted to change his name to David :-). And we saw all animales we wished for as close as possible. We were impressed and we want to thank also like this again for the great days!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RolandSerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My family & I stayed at Hillsnek for 4 nights in November, booking all 3 luxury tents. We had the most amazing time & was wonderful having the exclusivity of the lodge. It felt like a home away from home, just wish we could have stayed for longer!

The lodge was beautiful, with incredible views & the tents were comfortable & private. Warren was a brilliant host with a great sense of humour & even organised a surprise on our last night for my parents & sister who were celebrating an anniversary & a special birthday!

The kitchen staff outdid themselves everyday of our visit with absolutely delicious & beautifully presented meals throughout the day at the lodge & even prepared a high tea to have on a river boat trip we did one day. The staff were all so attentive and friendly. Our rooms were cleaned & tidied several times throughout the day & the early morning wake up calls with coffee to our tents got even the sleepiest out of bed at 5:30am!

Justin’s safari drives were amazing, his knowledge was incredible & we learnt so many interesting facts. We had so much fun, even in the rain on a couple of drives, and Justin stopped at nothing to show us as many animals as he possibly could & to make every drive just as good as the one before! He also took us to the most amazing viewpoints for our morning snacks & sundowners.

Overall an unforgettable experience, which we hope to repeat in the not too distant future!
Thank you to everyone at Hillsnek for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAGKAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was our third visit to Hillsnek in three years and it just keeps getting better. Once again we stayed for 5 nights which, as always, wasn't enough. As in previous posts, everything was just perfect - Brent & Chantelle (owners of Hillsnek) as always go out of their way to welcome you with open arms to their 'special' place. Warren who took care of our every whim and to ensure our stay was once again unique and different from the previous visits. And David our Ranger - words do not cover the experience, knowledge, and above all the love of the bush combined with his sense of humour made every game drive spectacular with fantastic animal sightings. To Donald & Bonnie our Chef's and their team, thank you for all your wonderful meals and the girls who serviced our tents at every incredible hour.
Once again we left kicking and screaming and are in the process of booking our 4th trip to Hillsnek in 2014.
A big 'thank you' to all the team - continue to laugh long and hard on the "Deck" of the lodge

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

What made our two-day stay at Hillsnek so very special was the fact that all this luxury is there just for a handful of guests. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel as comfortable as possible while retaining a totally calm and laid-back atmosphere. The chef and kitchen crew kept topping themselves, our tent was always perfectly made up with lovely little details and David was a terrific and dedicated host. The experience was made perfect by our ranger Justin who is full of fun facts, enthusiasm and jokes and ensured that each and every game drive was unique. We will always remember our time there as the highlight of our trip through South Africa and hope we will be back sooner rather than later.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DianaAndreFRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle C, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Frankfurt Friends,

Thank you for taking the time to review HillsNek on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you highlighted what we too think makes it special - that a small, intimate camp is able to provide a hands-on experience for guests.
We also hope that you will be back one day to visit, and in the interim, we wish you all the best for the year ahead.

Kind regards
Chantelle and the HillsNek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was a return visit for us, 5 days this time and the Hillsnek team surpassed themselves. There is no doubt that the best game drives are from the Hillsnek rangers, David and Warren are animal magic. They always track them down and generate fantastic views and have great knowledge. The whole staff team are brilliant, and are always so happy, and relaxed. Great attention to detail is everywhere, and the food is awesome, Donald and Bonnie thank you.
If you want a safari in unique and special surroundings, Hillsnek is the place to go. Brent and Chantelle have built a fabulous property hidden in the Reserve, with great "tents" and and sumptuous views from the deck.
thanks all, outstanding!

Room Tip: they are all brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckybluecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle C, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear BeckyBlueCar,

We just LOVE return guests!! Thank you for visiting us again, and this time, for a wonderful 5 days. We are so happy that you enjoyed this visit as much as the last, and that all elements of your stay were satisfactory. Our team was no doubt happy and relaxed, as they all enjoy hosting you so much! HillsNek pulls together beautifully when a group of fun-loving friends take over for a few days.... this is what our lodge was built for.
We wish you all the best for 2014.

Kindest regards
Brent, Chantelle and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights in celebration of our 1 year wedding anniversary. What made our stay so special was the Hillsnek team, in addition to the gorgeous surroundings. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. Justin was an outstanding guide. He was full of energy and knowledgeable - even when it was cold and poured rain on a couple of our game drives he was such a great sport and happily took us around even when the rest of the group decided to head back to the lodge. The accommodations are fabulous - glamping at its best! The multiple turn-down service throughout the day ensured you always return to a comfortable tent. The food was outstanding, Maggie is a spectacular cook! We cannot rave about this place enough, we were seriously saddened to leave! Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle C, Owner at HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Wow! You will never know how special this review is - it marks our 100th Excellent Review on Tripadvisor! A huge accomplishment that we are all so proud of. To all our amazing staff, past and present, whose hard work and efforts got us here - thank you! And of course, ultimately to all our guests who have over the years spent time with us and reviewed us, thank you even more!
HillsNek is a wonderful choice to celebrate a 1st wedding anniversary, and I trust the team made you feel special and comfortable. Maggie our chef is particularly thrilled that you noted her delicious cooking... and if you didn't know, Maggie has been a member of our team for going on 10 years now.
All the best for the remainder of 2013, and know that we would by honoured to welcome you back at HillsNek.
Kind regards
Chantelle & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
10.2 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
348 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
311 reviews
8.1 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,062 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
210 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve

Property: HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
Address: N2 | Greater Addo, Eastern Cape, Amakhala Game Reserve 6011, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HillsNek Safaris is an intimate, luxury tented camp positioned on the banks of the Bushmans River. Situated in a tucked away corner of the Amakhala Big 5 Game Reserve, the lodge is 70km's from Port Elizabeth in the malaria-free Eastern Cape. An abundant variety of wildlife includes lion,rhino, elephant, giraffe, cheetah, buffalo, zebra and a myriad of plains game. The stone, canvas and thatched main lodge is at the heart of the camp, with four private safari tents elevated on wooden decks that enhance the spectacular views of surrounding plains and bush. All tents have panoramic views of the African plains, and game viewing can often be enjoyed from the comfort of your bed. Personalized service and outstanding hospitality is the hallmark of every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing