We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the rest Quatermians is in fact the Best!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Forget the rest Quatermians is in fact the Best!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Dave and I stayed at Quatermains in March fof this year - from the start it was fabulous - the tents are brilliant you have everything that you need and more and the hosts could not be better. Coming back to the camp at night having a drink by the fire while the lovely Craig or Dwayne prepare top food and the ultimate luxury - Tumi - best lion/monkey guard dog ever sitting on your lap - bet Angelina and Brad did not have that!!!/going on the game drives in one vehicle meant that you really felt special and not part of a massive group. On our vist for 2 nights we were very privileged to see the big 5 including the leopard not every one sees that - thank you to all for that -- to end if you are going to South Africa and want an extremely memorable experience that leaves you feeling humbled this is for you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gli2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
139
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from the best 2 days at Quatarmains camp - this was the highlight of our 2 weeks in SA!

They have 3 old school but pretty luxurious tents complete with ensuite bathrooms so you can have a nice hot shower outside watching the birds and bushbuck

We had morning and evening bush drives which were brilliant - the rangers Craig and Dwaine are extremely knowledgable and clearly passionate about the wildlife which made it all the more enjoyable for us

They provide plenty of great meals as well as sundowners so we were always well fed and watered.

The great thing about these guys is they are the only accommodation on amakhala that can go into the bigger and better game reserve next door called Shamwari...we didn't realise this when we booked so lucked out!

I would tell all my friends to go and do this, is was such a unique and fun experience

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

A wonderful experience from every point of view. Your own tent with WC and hot and cold showers. Friendly and knowledgeable drivers, guides and domestic staff who do everything for you plus the chance to see so many animals at close quarters in their own habitat. We've already recommended Quatermain's Camp to all our friends.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

As a 'safari' experience it does not get better than this. Comfortable tents with great food and atmosphere in the camp. On the drives the sightings we had were simply amazing and in some cases quite moving. The rangers Craig and Blake who took us out were dedicated, well informed, experienced and took great pains to make our experience the best. They also both had a great sense of humour and were fun to be with.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakedjamroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Hosts Julie and Riaan have created a most wonderful camp that has all the nostalgia of old, mixed with a few home comforts. (Hot showers).
They and their staff are welcoming and go out of their way to give you the game park treat you desire. It is a great advantage that they have access to two game parks. Gives ones many different game sightings. We did three nights and would not have wanted it to be any shorter.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great hospitality. We loved every minute of our three night stay; probably the right amount of time. We are in our late 60s and had never been camping before; this was a wondeful introduction. The tent was comfortable with everything we needed, even hot water for the shower. The atmosphere in the camp was really friendly and relaxed and eveyone worked as a team. The game drives were undertaken with really knowledgeable rangers; we saw a lot and we learned so much.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was the most incredible experience for us. Most people I am sure will think twice about sleeping in tents in the bush, but this was really great. (My wife and I are in our 60s) The tents with the ablutions including hot and cold water shower were great and the beds comfortable. The team running the camp are slick and the drives they took us on were fun and informative. The best part is that you are watching the same animals as the people who are living in the up market lodges close by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amakhala Game Reserve hotels
3.9 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
370 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
231 reviews
5.8 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
326 reviews
4.9 mi away
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Leeuwenbosch Country House
#1 of 3 in Amakhala Game Reserve
153 reviews
2.3 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp

Property: Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp
Address: Paterson, Amakhala Game Reserve 6130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quatermain's Camp is an intimate 6 bed tented safari camp situated on the beautiful Amakhala "Big 5" Game Reserve. We offer two four hour game activities per day, with knowledgeable and qualified rangers, fantastic South African bush cuisine and a friendly and personal experience. Come and let Julie and Riaan show you the delights of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing