We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country House party feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Country House party feel”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Choose Leeuwenbosch from a Saga flyer and booked straight away. Malaria free, private reserve - Amakhala - so no long lines of Land Rovers vying for position. There were 10 in our group and even though diverse people we all got on, totally helped by Lance (SAGA but local to the area) Helen and Luke our ranger. Bill and Rose the owners gave an ambience to the resort that could not be beaten. Nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment was great. If you want to see hundreds of animals then this is not the place but the quality we saw was excellent and the scenery was superb. Although not on the itinerary, walking with the cheetahs was a highlight and holding a one month old lion cub was amazing.
I must be honest here and if you are looking forward to a talk by the wildlife vet it was about Rhino poaching only and was very upsetting. The talk could be more diverse and Bill's stories about his son's exploits as the vet were much more entertaining. Indeed as all Bill's stories were !
You do not need to fit to go on the Saga holiday as there is not a lot of walking, but you need to be reasonably flexible to climb in and out of the Land Rover. Blankets were provided for those cool morning and evening drives. Along with tea, wine and snacks on occasion.

The rooms were great with heaters when needed, hot water etc etc The beds were soo comfy. Mattresses not firm but very supportive, pillows just right. Wish I could sleep as well at home as I did there. Although the main N2 is not far away the noise is not a problem, there are hardly any vehicles using it after all!

It was a wonderful experience and worth every penny. I think we all felt like one big family.

Room Tip: The shearers is more modern and you can sometimes see game from the windows but the house is a work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoanneRHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    27
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
77
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
baytownbear
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here on a recent family vacation in three of the four rooms at Shearers Lodge. The rooms are luxurious and worth every rand. Helen and Lance and the staff took great care of our family. The meals were fantastic. The nightly pub session (including our kids) with the Fowlds (owners) was a great opportunity to learn about the history. Our game ranger Luke was friendly, persistent, and accommodating. We saw almost every animal on the reserve in our three days. I can't imagine a better game reserve experience in our first trip to South Africa. The two highlights were the outdoor meal with most of the staff and owners on the first night and Luke's persistence in finding the lions.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baytownbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspley Guise, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

On our return to the UK we all decided the Leeuwnbosch Country House was definately on our list of places to revisit. Unfortunately none of us could put a finger on why. The only reason we all agreed on was because our driver/assistant ranger Lukanyo sang Beyonce to himself as he drove along without realising (until the last evening) that we could all hear. Apologies to all those that went to great effort to make our stay enjoyable, but that was what did it !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We chose this location after some research. We had our expectations, but these were completely surpassed. Our Ranger. Deeann was superb, and her expertise at identifying and finding the animals and other wildlife was outstanding. The accommodation at Leeuwenbosch was excellent. We were looked after extremely well by Helen, Lance and the staff. The food was first class, pity it wasn't calorie free! The conversation at dinner with Bill and Rosemary was unique. Most interesting to hear the history of the family farm.
On top of all this to met after the evening safari to met with hot towels and drinks, served on the lawn, just said it all.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cheetah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We stayed here in January 2011 at the end of our SA stay. The accomodation in Leuwenbosch lodge was fantastic - we had 2 fabulous rooms and the parents had a sitting room too. It was lovely to sit out on the veranda at night sipping a drink before braving Bills shebeen. We were a bit surprised to find that all the guests and the family had to eat together - we would have preferred to be on our own for at least 1 night. The food was fine - nothing exceptional and we did find that we were suffering through tales rather than being regaled with tales! Some people do like to hear themselves talk! There was a lovely pool which we had to ourselves most days which was very relaxing. As for the most important part of the stay - the game drives were fantstic. Our ranger Luke was charming and knowledgeable and determined that we would see all the game. This necessitated a longer than usual drive on 1 morning to find the lions but his determination paid off and we were privileged to see these magnificent creatures. It was so luxurious to be met with hot towels and sherry when we got back from drive each evening. We lost they key to one of our rooms on a game drive and Albert was so nice in arranging to have the room made secure whilst the kids were asleep. In a very nice and much appreciated gesture we were allowed stay as long as we wanted on the last day of our stay as no new guests were expected that day.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkdogreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Myself, my husband and our 2 sons aged 6 and 10 enjoyed every minute of our stay at Leeuwenbosch. In a very relaxed atmosphere we were well look after at all times, by the staff and our hosts (the owners) Bill and Rose who joined us in the evening and told stories of Leeuwenbosch. We went on all the safaris available and every one was different spotting all the game you would expect (lions, cheetahs, elephants, giraffes, rhinos etc), each one with an extra point of interest for the children, they searched for terrapins in water holes and examined termite mounds which they loved. The evenings were spent with all the other guests, dinner and drinks together with talks of holidays past and present. Wholly recommended, we hope we will be visiting again one day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Myself and my husband are just back from here. We had a fabulous time. Our room was large with a separate living room. We were sent up a bottle of champers as we were on honeymoon. Food was gorgeous. Staff were so helpful. Our ranger Luke was great - knew his stuff. This is a charming place with a lovely homely atmosphere and of course the bar is not to be missed!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiseIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
2.3 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
313 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,067 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
365 reviews
3.2 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
234 reviews
5.2 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeuwenbosch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenbosch Country House

Property: Leeuwenbosch Country House
Address: R342 Karel Landman | Follow the N2 from Port Elizabeth to Grahamstown - on right hand side, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeuwenbosch Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star safari experience in an historic country house on the 7,500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Leeuwenbosch Country House is a gracious country house located in the malaria free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. Our beautiful country home is set amidst beautiful indigenous gardens, offering luxurious safari accommodation and a family safari experience steeped in settler history. The Country House, built in 1908, offers four spacious en-suite bedrooms, and is layered with a collection of historical images, documents, and furniture dating back to the 1800s. Set back from the Country House in the luscious gardens is a tranquil swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Leeuwenbosch Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenbosch Country House Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing