We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The staff were fantastic and Bill and Rose who own the establishment joined us for dinner most nights which was a nice touch. The accommodation was spacious and clean and the grounds were immaculate.
We saw all the animals in the park when we were on Safari and William (Bill and Rose's son) from Safari Vets came and gave a talk about the work he was doing.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Amakhala, and in particular, Leeuwenbosch is a very special place indeed. From the moment we arrived, we were spoilt with great food, hospitality and incredible game viewing. Our game ranger Luke was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the reserve - from birds, flora and fauna, and of course, the animals. He went to a huge amount of effort to show us all the game - and we weren't disappointed! A special highlight was watching the lions at sunset. Just being out in the wild was fantastic, and we loved every second of the drives, which also included a river boat cruise which was great.

We stayed in the Shearers Lodge, which was really comfortable and luxurious.

The hospitality itself is briliant, with snacks and drinks included on the game drives being a very welcome special touch! The food back at lodge is great too, with a delicious breakfast and three course dinner. Evenings with Bill and Rose were also brilliant. Bill has so many fantastic stories, and Rose is so welcoming and relaxed. We had two great nights in the pub after dinner, with lots of laughs and plenty of whisky! It is this personal touch that makes Leeuwenbosch so fabulous, and I would recommend it to everyone to visit, over and above the other game reserves in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DorsetGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Have visited S.A. several times before but Leeuwenbosch was the happiest, most relaxing and best of them all. As soon as we arrived we realised this was going to be a special holiday as we were made so welcome and it was just as if we were visiting very good friends. Shearers Lodge (as the name suggests was the barn where sheep were sheared some many years ago) has been very expertly converted and has all the amenities to make it a peaceful retreat after the game drives. You can sit outside on the terrace and listen to the many bird songs from early morning until late at night. The game drives were well arranged with expert rangers who told us so much about the animals and their habitat - they obviously love their jobs. We were able to enjoy 7 days without television or newspapers and to realise how wonderful nature is. Bill & Rosemary are exceptional hosts and often dined with us and were always in the "special" pub bar in the evening telling so many stories about life at the Amakhala Game reserve including some stories about rhino horn poaching which is very disturbing.

Having just watched "Vets on Safari" on ITV on Friday evenings has brought back so many memories of this special holiday and thank you to all those who made it so great - we hope to return one day.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calabash822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This holiday surpassed all expectations. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the accommodation in Shearers Lodge was great & the location peaceful. The food was delicious & well presented, & thanks to Luke our ranger all game drives were interesting & exciting but at the same time relaxed. Plenty of time was allowed to sit & watch the animals & we were priveliged with so many sightings. Luke's wealth of knowledge & his obvious passion for the job & his sense of humour made the experience even more memorable. Leuwenbosch exudes a family atmosphere which will make you want to stay longer & return again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneJMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Booked with Saga for the trip to Leeuenbosch. The fact that it was " a small and friendly " group added to the appeal and in fact there turned out to be fourteen of us in all. Rose and Bill made us so very welcome and joined us for some of the meals and also in the " pub " during the evening. The staff were all lovely and couldn't do enough for you. Nothing was too much trouble. The game drives were amazing and so much fun. Thanks must go to Roger and Luke for making them so interesting with their excellent knowledge of both the area and the animals we had the priviledge to see. Meeting Will Foulds, the owners vet. son, and star of Safari Vet School on I.T.V. made for an interesting evenings discussion on his part in looking after the local wildlife and also on the horrors of Rhino poaching, which has become a huge problem. It was very upsetting to see and hear,but a neccessary subject for the world in general to be aware of. All other entertainment was excellent and included two displays of tribal singing and dancing, a cookery demonstration and a history talk on the Foulds family and their links to Amakala. The bedrooms were light and spacious and bathrooms huge. Food was delicious, plentiful and beautifully presented. Rose and Bill came to personally say goodbye to everyone, even though we all left at different times, and although I was sad to be leaving, I have promised myself a return visit in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: I would have been content with any of the rooms and loved the one I was given in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Corinne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We spent a week at Leeuwenbosch staying in the main house. It is a beautiful old building, furnished in a mix of traditional wood furniture and modern fittings. Our room and bathroom were huge and opened onto a small garden seating area. The comfy armchairs on the main veranda were great for relaxing out of the sun. The pool area is lovely if you do want some sun and these are definitely loungers with view! The food was fresh, delicious and beautifully presented and the little basement bar is a great place to discuss the day.

The game drives were the big draw for us and we weren’t disappointed by multiple sightings of giraffe, buffalo, zebra, elephant, rhino and cheetah as well as a diversity of birds and the more elusive lions. (But if you want to see huge herds of animals, this isn’t the place for you). A nice surprise was that we only saw other jeeps a couple of times during the week.

What made the stay special for me were the people. Bill and Rose are wonderfully warm hosts, very keen to ensure that we were enjoying our stay. I loved hearing all of the family’s stories about the area and family history and about their community and conservation activities. Luke, our ranger for the game drives, had an amazing depth of knowledge about the animals, birds and plant life. He managed to make the drives very informative, exciting and relaxing all at the same time. A special mention too for his knack of conjuring up a nice cuppa or a cold beer out in the bush! All of the friendly local staff delivered a great service, as well as memorable singing and dancing. All in all, I loved every minute of my stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Choose Leeuwenbosch from a Saga flyer and booked straight away. Malaria free, private reserve - Amakhala - so no long lines of Land Rovers vying for position. There were 10 in our group and even though diverse people we all got on, totally helped by Lance (SAGA but local to the area) Helen and Luke our ranger. Bill and Rose the owners gave an ambience to the resort that could not be beaten. Nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment was great. If you want to see hundreds of animals then this is not the place but the quality we saw was excellent and the scenery was superb. Although not on the itinerary, walking with the cheetahs was a highlight and holding a one month old lion cub was amazing.
I must be honest here and if you are looking forward to a talk by the wildlife vet it was about Rhino poaching only and was very upsetting. The talk could be more diverse and Bill's stories about his son's exploits as the vet were much more entertaining. Indeed as all Bill's stories were !
You do not need to fit to go on the Saga holiday as there is not a lot of walking, but you need to be reasonably flexible to climb in and out of the Land Rover. Blankets were provided for those cool morning and evening drives. Along with tea, wine and snacks on occasion.

The rooms were great with heaters when needed, hot water etc etc The beds were soo comfy. Mattresses not firm but very supportive, pillows just right. Wish I could sleep as well at home as I did there. Although the main N2 is not far away the noise is not a problem, there are hardly any vehicles using it after all!

It was a wonderful experience and worth every penny. I think we all felt like one big family.

Room Tip: The shearers is more modern and you can sometimes see game from the windows but the house is a work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoanneRHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
2.3 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
349 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
236 reviews
38.3 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
243 reviews
5.2 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
228 reviews
5.6 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeuwenbosch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenbosch Country House

Address: R342 Karel Landman | Follow the N2 from Port Elizabeth to Grahamstown - on right hand side, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: £153 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeuwenbosch Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star safari experience in an historic country house on the 7,500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Leeuwenbosch Country House is a gracious country house located in the malaria free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. Our beautiful country home is set amidst beautiful indigenous gardens, offering luxurious safari accommodation and a family safari experience steeped in settler history. The Country House, built in 1908, offers four spacious en-suite bedrooms, and is layered with a collection of historical images, documents, and furniture dating back to the 1800s. Set back from the Country House in the luscious gardens is a tranquil swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Leeuwenbosch Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenbosch Country House Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing