We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leeuwenbosch Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have just returned from 2 memorable nights at Leeuwenbosch, where we were made to feel so welcome by Bill and Rose and the other members of the Leeuwenbosch family. The staff were very kind, always smiling and helpful, as well as professional. The service and food were excellent, and the cellar bar and Bill's stories a surprising treat! The game drives were amazing and great fun. Our superb ranger, MJ, was extremely knowledgeable and determined to give us the best possible experience. This is a happy, relaxed, uncommercialised game park - perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    27
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
75
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claygate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Like so many others we stayed at Leeuwenbosch for a week. It was a fantastic experience. Everyone is so kind and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Nomande in the office, Luke taking the game drives and of course Rose and Bill.....they are all great! This is definitely a holiday we will repeat. Amakhala is a small reserve which makes it so much more enjoyable than the larger ones we have previously visited.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house but gather Shearer's is equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

We happened to be the only guests for 2 nights just a few days before peak season was supposed to begin. Our expectations were absolutely met, lovely game drives with plenty of useful information about the wildlife. The food was tasty and nicely prepared.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trendyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed at Leeuwenbosch for a week and had an outstanding experience. The staff were friendly and helpful and the personal touch from Bill and Rosemary added to the atmosphere (especially in the cellar bar!). The food superb, well presented and plentiful. Our accommodation in Shearer's Lodge was very comfortable, always clean and the attention to detail was amazing. The game drives were just out of this world - we couldn't locate the herd of buffalo but it was not for want of trying on the ranger's part. Luke was very knowledgeable and we learnt to spot many of the animals ourselves, even the small birds. To be a few metres away from feeding cheetahs, lions and herds of elephant was the most amazing experience. A dream come true - you have to make this trip of a lifetime!

Room Tip: If you want a great view ask for Shearers though there is a short uphill walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We have experienced a memorable 2 nights - it exceeded our expectations in every way. Bill and Rose were great hosts and the stories in Bills Bar were not to be missed. The history of the family settling in this area gave a real appreciation of what this family has achieved. Our game drives with Luke were brilliant and informative - the highlights were coming face to face with the giraffe, the elephant at the watering hole and many more that made this a truly brilliant time. The staff could not have done more for us. Would recommend this as a great place to have a very personal game experience that is not commercialised.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JillHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I enjoyed the family atmosphere in a luxury lodge! All the staff had great attention to all details during my stay, friendly, smiling and very professional. Food was excellent, beautifully prepared and delicate, with local taste. All the lodge (room, main house, dining room, garden) was super clean everywhere. They even have a small shop in case you need to buy some warm cloths! Asher, the ranger who drove me for seven game rides, has been wonderful, professional and prepared at all time. I saw all the big five several times!
Leeuwenbosch is definitely a place I'm dreaming to visit again!

Room Tip: Guest house has a spectacular view and relaxing veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our holiday at Leeuwenbosch was astonishingly good. We saw all the animals we had hoped to see and the birdlife was fabulous. We are still going through the photos identifying new species! The staff were so helpful and kind, the food delicious, and the atmosphere relaxed and friendly. André, the young man who took us on our game drives, was incredibly knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. Having a picnic (not really an adequate word for the spread laid out for us) in the bush was truly magical. Bill and Rose are blessed with their staff, but as they themselves are quite charming, I suppose it's only to be expected. Our every moment was filled with delight and we would happily recommend Leeuwenbosch to anyone who loves nature. We were in the same party as 777sheila57 and she, along with other members of the group, added greatly to the enjoyment. Our especial thanks also go to Nomonde, Bill, Rose, and all the team,

Terry and Jackie D.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryTop-roD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
4.4 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
4.6 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
5.2 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
4.4 mi away
Woodbury Tented Camp, Amakhala Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeuwenbosch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenbosch Country House

Property: Leeuwenbosch Country House
Address: R342 Karel Landman | Follow the N2 from Port Elizabeth to Grahamstown (+/- 60 km) - on right hand side, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeuwenbosch Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star safari experience in an historic country house on the 7,500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Leeuwenbosch Country House is a gracious country house located in the malaria free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. Our beautiful country home is set amidst beautiful indigenous gardens, offering luxurious safari accommodation and a family safari experience steeped in settler history. The Country House, built in 1908, offers four spacious en-suite bedrooms, and is layered with a collection of historical images, documents, and furniture dating back to the 1800s. Set back from the Country House in the luscious gardens is a tranquil swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Leeuwenbosch Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenbosch Country House Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing