We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leeuwenbosch Country House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$970
US$905
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$49
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$797
US$755
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$181
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bay BnB(Summerstrand)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
132
33
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
33
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housegame reservebefore dinnergame drivescareful drivermeet other travellersrelaxed and informallovely colonialantique furnitureuncle billsseparate dining roomreal charactersuperb hospitalitylarge bathroomhigh teaother guestslong table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Leeuwenbosch is a comfortable and welcoming old-style safari lodge. We were there with only 2 other family groups, so we received personal attention from Normande and her staff. The staff can't do enough for you, Bill, the owner will chat all night holding court in his 'pub', and importantly, the game drives are fantastic. There is also a pool (chilly!) for an afternoon dip.
For a 2 or 3 day safari it is ideal for a family of 4.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhala-LionRoars, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're glad you had such a great time with your family on the Amakhala Reserve. We think you captured what Leeuwenbosch is all about so well in your description as an "old-style safari lodge". There is just so much historical significance in this special country style house. It's as though time stands still and you get to experience a real down-to-earth adventure. We hope that chilly dip in the pool was refreshing after a night in the pub with Bill. His captivating stories have often led us astray ourselves and in need of lots of TLC in the morning. Luckily, it sounds like that's just what you got from Nomonde and her team. Thanks again for sharing your experience with us and fellow travelers, it really means a lot to us that you've taken the time to sing your praises. We really appreciate it. Best wishes from the Bailey and Fowlds families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a wonderful visit at the Leeuwenbosch for three days. As all the reviews state, the staff is generous and helpful, Listening to Bill at the pub is a treat and the place is lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our game drives as well as the time at the house. Kids are warmly welcomed and looked after if needed

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Timo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhala-LionRoars, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Wonderful! Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We hope that back in Finland, you are already planning another trip to sunny South Africa. Thanks again for mentioning that kids are taken care of at Leeuwenbosch. It means you get to breathe easy and really enjoy your time in the pub with Bill. As a big family, we also really like to share these incredible experiences together, which it sounds like you got to do. Your kind words about the staff and the place are really appreciated- it makes us so glad to hear that you've had a great 3 day family holiday. We hope you will be back soon for more adventurous game drives and some time to unwind and enjoy the spills and thrills of the African bush. We wish you and your family all the very best, from the Bailey and Fowlds families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in the Shearers lodge for 3 nights and took 5 game experiences ( 4 drives and 1 water). Lovely accommodation and food truly wonderful. Chef is clearly very conscious of how the food is presented and although there is no choice, the dishes were beautifully prepared and served. Bill and Rose are perfect hosts and really go out of their way to make sure you have a great time. The rangers who drive you on the game experiences are very knowledgeable. Although Amakhala perhaps doesn't have the volume of animals seen at some other reserves, for me this added to the thrill of seeing the cheetahs/ lions, buffalo, elephants and giraffes.
Accommodation was lovely and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Suite rooms in the house looked fabulous but we stayed in the Shearers Lodge which was perfect for us.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhala-LionRoars, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review! We're so happy that you enjoyed the time you spent on the magical Amakhala Game Reserve. A smaller reserve, yes but as you kidnly pointed out, no less exciting and enjoyable. Thanks for mentioning that your experience was as good as any other on a larger reserve and that you still get to see all those incredible animals up close: the cheetah, lions, buffalo, elephants and giraffes. It sounds like you had a really great time and all your kind words make us overjoyed. Again, thanks for noting how much time goes into the preparation of those delicious meals and the effort our rangers go to to make sure you have a memorable and educational experience. We hope you will be back for more evening entertainment in Bill's pub, enjoying each moment spent with Bill and Rose and the rest of the team. We look forward to having you with us again. Best wishes from the Fowlds and Bailey families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our 2 night stay at Leeuwenbosch was great. We stayed in the old homestead which was just lovely; large rooms nicely furnished and easy access to all facilities. The food and the service was first class from start to finish. We travelled with my 35 year old disabled son, Jeffrey, who is severely physically handicapped and confined to a wheelchair. Everything that could have been done to make his stay comfortable was done, including special efforts to enable him to go on all four 3 hour game reserve drives. We doubted it would be possible but a separate vehicle was allocated just for us and Oubout, our game reserve driver, took it all in his stride. Nothing was too much trouble for him and his knowledge of the reserve and the animals was immense, making it an unforgettable experience for all of us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhala-LionRoars, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us and other travelers on TripAdvisor. We are so glad to have been part of making your Safari holiday an "outstanding experience" as you said. You must have really loved sharing those memorable moments with Jeffrey. We're so pleased that your experience was one to write home about and really appreciate that you've shared what a fabulous time you had with so many future travelers. The whole team is so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the place, especially Ouboet who appreciated your compliments. We hope that you'll be back with the family to enjoy a few more memories in the beautiful Eastern Cape. Best wishes from the Fowlds and Bailey families and the rest of the Leeuwenbosch team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was on my 81 year old mum's bucket list and a holiday of a life time for me too. It superseded our expectations. The atmosphere was wonderful. All the guests were treated like friends of the family. The rangers Lukhanyo and Obout were excellent - we learnt so much from them and they enabled us to get close to many wonderful wild animals on the Amakhala Game Reserve. A truly memorable experience. My only slightly negative comment is that there is a vast difference in the size of rooms. Unfortunately ours was the smallest - but someone had to have it. Thank you Rosemary, Bill, Nomonde and all the team at Leeuwenbosch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyWhitlock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhala-LionRoars, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thanks so much for this fantastic review. It sounds like you had a wonderful and educational adventure. Lukhanyo, Ouboet and Nomonde will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. Oh gosh! We're so sorry about the difference in room sizes, we'll look into how to make that more apparent in the booking process. We really appreciate that you let us know about it. It really helps us to improve. Overall, we are just delighted that you had such an incredible experience. Bucket lists are a lot to live up to sometimes, but in this case you've shown that it really is worth it. The Amakhala Game Reserve is a very special place and hold the dreams of so many special people. Bill and Rosemary I'm sure would have shared their love of the land and all it's glories with you- we're happy to have been part of creating those special memories for you to take home. You are friends of the family now and we hope that you'll be back for a visit in no time. Our best wishes to you and your mother, from the Fowlds and Bailey familes and the rest of the Leeuwenbosch team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews