We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leeuwenbosch at Amakhala.... Didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Leeuwenbosch at Amakhala.... Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We decided on family friendly comfortable style...With game right outside our secure garden fence....Our safari game driver... Orbet.... Was brilliant and knew how to track animals, he showed us so much and taught us along the way about the animals.... Every Safari experience was different and so exciting because you just never knew what you were going to be lucky enough to see... We were lucky enough to see the big 5 two days in a row!!! Watching lions relax and feed after a kill a highlight... And sundowners each night from one of the vantage points on the spectacular reserve... Watching heards of wild animals roaming and grazing freely was beautiful... Zebra, giraffe, kudu, eland, ostrich, all antelope species.... Buffalo.. Elephants...and so many more.... heaps of birds.....We took a book to mark them off.... And a mamal book also to help us.... We were treated like friends visiting... Enjoying beautiful meals together with the hosts and their friends and enjoying drinks each night in the cellar bar!! One night we were late home from a spotlighting safari... An elephant decided to take a stroll down the road to home and we had to follow him!!! We would love to return one day with our boys.... We will be back to see the aardvark!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Sally

How wonderful to hear that you and your family had such an enjoyable trip. There is truly something special about a South African safari experience, and we're glad you were able to enjoy it with us.

All of our rangers have exceptional skills, and Oubout loves being out in the bush showing guests the abundance of wildlife here. How incredibly lucky for you to have seen the Big 5 twice, as well as a lion feeding after a kill - not many people get to say that! It's such a special experience to take home with you.

Nights in the bar with Bill are never boring, and we love that you got to spend an evening listening to all of his stories. Everyone at Leeuwenbosch aims to be the best host they can be, and to us, guests are part of the family.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers, it's always important to get feedback from guests, and your praises have certainly made us smile!

We sure hope you are able to join us again one day to soak up the African sun once again. We look forward to it.

All the best from the Fowlds and Bailey families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    27
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
77
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape town, south africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Leeuwebosch, the staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful, especially our game ranger and driver Oubaas, who was incredible. I was travelling with my 83 and 89 year old parents, and everybody went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible (we even had hot water bottles and blankets on our game drives!!)
The owners also were super friendly, and the food was great!
Thank you guys, you are doing a fantastic job!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roysergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put out such positive feedback about the place we call home! We're so happy to hear your folks enjoyed the trip too. Age is but a number here at Leeuwenbosch, and we do all that we can to enure a fabulous family holiday.

Going on a game drive is an exhilarating experience, getting so close to such wild animals. Our rangers love to share their passion with guests, and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your drive (even if it did get a bit chilly!). Luckily there are always a few blankets on-hand.

We hope to welcome you back to the lodge soon. All the best from the Fowlds and bailey families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Leeuwenbosch is a comfortable and welcoming old-style safari lodge. We were there with only 2 other family groups, so we received personal attention from Normande and her staff. The staff can't do enough for you, Bill, the owner will chat all night holding court in his 'pub', and importantly, the game drives are fantastic. There is also a pool (chilly!) for an afternoon dip.
For a 2 or 3 day safari it is ideal for a family of 4.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhala-LionRoars, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're glad you had such a great time with your family on the Amakhala Reserve. We think you captured what Leeuwenbosch is all about so well in your description as an "old-style safari lodge". There is just so much historical significance in this special country style house. It's as though time stands still and you get to experience a real down-to-earth adventure. We hope that chilly dip in the pool was refreshing after a night in the pub with Bill. His captivating stories have often led us astray ourselves and in need of lots of TLC in the morning. Luckily, it sounds like that's just what you got from Nomonde and her team. Thanks again for sharing your experience with us and fellow travelers, it really means a lot to us that you've taken the time to sing your praises. We really appreciate it. Best wishes from the Bailey and Fowlds families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful visit at the Leeuwenbosch for three days. As all the reviews state, the staff is generous and helpful, Listening to Bill at the pub is a treat and the place is lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our game drives as well as the time at the house. Kids are warmly welcomed and looked after if needed

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Timo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhala-LionRoars, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Wonderful! Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We hope that back in Finland, you are already planning another trip to sunny South Africa. Thanks again for mentioning that kids are taken care of at Leeuwenbosch. It means you get to breathe easy and really enjoy your time in the pub with Bill. As a big family, we also really like to share these incredible experiences together, which it sounds like you got to do. Your kind words about the staff and the place are really appreciated- it makes us so glad to hear that you've had a great 3 day family holiday. We hope you will be back soon for more adventurous game drives and some time to unwind and enjoy the spills and thrills of the African bush. We wish you and your family all the very best, from the Bailey and Fowlds families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in the Shearers lodge for 3 nights and took 5 game experiences ( 4 drives and 1 water). Lovely accommodation and food truly wonderful. Chef is clearly very conscious of how the food is presented and although there is no choice, the dishes were beautifully prepared and served. Bill and Rose are perfect hosts and really go out of their way to make sure you have a great time. The rangers who drive you on the game experiences are very knowledgeable. Although Amakhala perhaps doesn't have the volume of animals seen at some other reserves, for me this added to the thrill of seeing the cheetahs/ lions, buffalo, elephants and giraffes.
Accommodation was lovely and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Suite rooms in the house looked fabulous but we stayed in the Shearers Lodge which was perfect for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhala-LionRoars, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review! We're so happy that you enjoyed the time you spent on the magical Amakhala Game Reserve. A smaller reserve, yes but as you kidnly pointed out, no less exciting and enjoyable. Thanks for mentioning that your experience was as good as any other on a larger reserve and that you still get to see all those incredible animals up close: the cheetah, lions, buffalo, elephants and giraffes. It sounds like you had a really great time and all your kind words make us overjoyed. Again, thanks for noting how much time goes into the preparation of those delicious meals and the effort our rangers go to to make sure you have a memorable and educational experience. We hope you will be back for more evening entertainment in Bill's pub, enjoying each moment spent with Bill and Rose and the rest of the team. We look forward to having you with us again. Best wishes from the Fowlds and Bailey families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our 2 night stay at Leeuwenbosch was great. We stayed in the old homestead which was just lovely; large rooms nicely furnished and easy access to all facilities. The food and the service was first class from start to finish. We travelled with my 35 year old disabled son, Jeffrey, who is severely physically handicapped and confined to a wheelchair. Everything that could have been done to make his stay comfortable was done, including special efforts to enable him to go on all four 3 hour game reserve drives. We doubted it would be possible but a separate vehicle was allocated just for us and Oubout, our game reserve driver, took it all in his stride. Nothing was too much trouble for him and his knowledge of the reserve and the animals was immense, making it an unforgettable experience for all of us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhala-LionRoars, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us and other travelers on TripAdvisor. We are so glad to have been part of making your Safari holiday an "outstanding experience" as you said. You must have really loved sharing those memorable moments with Jeffrey. We're so pleased that your experience was one to write home about and really appreciate that you've shared what a fabulous time you had with so many future travelers. The whole team is so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the place, especially Ouboet who appreciated your compliments. We hope that you'll be back with the family to enjoy a few more memories in the beautiful Eastern Cape. Best wishes from the Fowlds and Bailey families and the rest of the Leeuwenbosch team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was on my 81 year old mum's bucket list and a holiday of a life time for me too. It superseded our expectations. The atmosphere was wonderful. All the guests were treated like friends of the family. The rangers Lukhanyo and Obout were excellent - we learnt so much from them and they enabled us to get close to many wonderful wild animals on the Amakhala Game Reserve. A truly memorable experience. My only slightly negative comment is that there is a vast difference in the size of rooms. Unfortunately ours was the smallest - but someone had to have it. Thank you Rosemary, Bill, Nomonde and all the team at Leeuwenbosch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyWhitlock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhala-LionRoars, Owner at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks so much for this fantastic review. It sounds like you had a wonderful and educational adventure. Lukhanyo, Ouboet and Nomonde will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. Oh gosh! We're so sorry about the difference in room sizes, we'll look into how to make that more apparent in the booking process. We really appreciate that you let us know about it. It really helps us to improve. Overall, we are just delighted that you had such an incredible experience. Bucket lists are a lot to live up to sometimes, but in this case you've shown that it really is worth it. The Amakhala Game Reserve is a very special place and hold the dreams of so many special people. Bill and Rosemary I'm sure would have shared their love of the land and all it's glories with you- we're happy to have been part of creating those special memories for you to take home. You are friends of the family now and we hope that you'll be back for a visit in no time. Our best wishes to you and your mother, from the Fowlds and Bailey familes and the rest of the Leeuwenbosch team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
2.3 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
326 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
231 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
236 reviews
5.2 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
219 reviews
5.6 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeuwenbosch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenbosch Country House

Property: Leeuwenbosch Country House
Address: R342 Karel Landman | Follow the N2 from Port Elizabeth to Grahamstown - on right hand side, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeuwenbosch Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star safari experience in an historic country house on the 7,500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Leeuwenbosch Country House is a gracious country house located in the malaria free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. Our beautiful country home is set amidst beautiful indigenous gardens, offering luxurious safari accommodation and a family safari experience steeped in settler history. The Country House, built in 1908, offers four spacious en-suite bedrooms, and is layered with a collection of historical images, documents, and furniture dating back to the 1800s. Set back from the Country House in the luscious gardens is a tranquil swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Leeuwenbosch Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenbosch Country House Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing