We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quite fantastic few days that made our Honeymoon even more special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2009

We were a little nervous that we were going to a family friendly Lodge on our Honeymoon but needed not fear. Yes, this is child friendly but it is overall friendly and has a family feel but it was fantastic. The Amakhala Game Reserve is well located close to Port Elizabeth airport - 45 mins max - and is well stocked and well maintained. The Reserve appears to conform to all the best aspects of conservation. We stayed in Leeuwenbosch Lodge in an amazingly large and airy room and were delighted with the food - plenty and good quality, the service - happy and enthusiastic and a family feel, and the safari - a dynamic and knowledgeable Ranger whose experise and drive made the experience complete.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardandKarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2009

I took my two sons, aged 12 and 17, for a 3 day break at Leeuwenbosch while visiting relatives in Cape Town. It was the first visit to Africa for my youngest and he was amazed at how many animals he was able to see. The staff were marvellous and the set-up was relaxed and easy-going: ideal for children. They even went in the pool although it was winter (it wasn't any warmer back in the UK summer)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulu567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Excellent 3 day stay with Bill and Rose the hosts and their staff which are really like extended family and we were made to feel very much part of that family too. They couldn't do enough for you. The hospitality was second to none. The ranger David was fantastic very keen and very knowledgeable we saw so much and he made it very interesting. We didn't want to leave there were lots of tears and that was the grownups... Our 11yr old daughter was made very welcome and was included in everything. An experience we will always remember. Would we return YOU BET

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duggan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I & two friends spent 3 days in Leeuwenbosch in Nov 2008 & I have been meaning to write a review ever since. Without doubt this was the absolute highlight of the holiday for all 3 of us & that is saying a lot as we spent time in some amazing places during our trip. Bill, Rosemary, Heidi, William & all the staff were fantastic hosts & our ranger Don was brilliant - he even spent about 2 hours driving around & around on our last day trying to find the elusive elephants for us! They were an amazing sight when we eventually found them! We saw so much on our game drives - lions, cheetah, rhino, elephants, giraffe, zebra ...& much more! The accomodation in the old house is beautiful - really spacious rooms - & the food was fantastic. It was lovely that all the guests & our hosts had dinner together around the big old dining table. The chef prepared really good food & we had great SA wines to go with it. After dinner, we moved into the little bar & enjoyed two (very late!) nights being entertained by Bill's stories of his youth!! We really were made to feel like part of the family & I can honestly say I did not want to leave! I have already recommended Leeuwenbosch to friends & they loved it just as much as I did. It's well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OJPDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Brilliant stay, fantastic experience and the most engaging host you could possibly imagine.Have tried several safari's in western cape and this is tops.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonJonnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Leeuwnebosch was all we had hoped for and more. We hoped to see lots of wildlife. We hoped we would have the best of South African food and wine. We hoped to enjoy the the level of hospitality and accommodation for which South Africa is famous. We were not disappointed in any of these.
And then there were the extras, the things that make Leeuwenbosch special. Bill and Rose were our hosts. They endeared themselves to all the members of our family, Rose with her kiindness and friendliness and Bill with his generosity and his hiarious and entertaining stories of his life in Africa. David was our guide. He was endlessly patient and answered a thousand questions in 3 days.
None of us wanted to leave and our children aged 13, 11 and 7 have voted it the best place they have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joesolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2007

At Leeuwenbosch on the Amakhala Reserve we had spacious, stylish and comfortable accommodation in which we could relax. Our hosts, Bill and Rose, together with the well-informed rangers, Matt and Andre, made our three days a truly marvellous experience.
Our meals were served by attentive staff and the food was well-prepared and enjoyable. The Chef came into the bar each evening to let us know what was on the menu, while Bill kept us entertained behind the bar.
Matt and Andre did us proud with finding the Big Four [no Leopard]. The male lion was a magnificent sight. Matt also managed to chase and capture a Monitor Lizard which he brought back to the truck for photos!
A stay to look back on with great pleasure. Thanks to all.

1  Thank BL-S1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
2.3 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
348 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
236 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
243 reviews
5.2 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
228 reviews
5.6 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeuwenbosch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenbosch Country House

Address: R342 Karel Landman | Follow the N2 from Port Elizabeth to Grahamstown - on right hand side, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: £153 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeuwenbosch Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star safari experience in an historic country house on the 7,500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Leeuwenbosch Country House is a gracious country house located in the malaria free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. Our beautiful country home is set amidst beautiful indigenous gardens, offering luxurious safari accommodation and a family safari experience steeped in settler history. The Country House, built in 1908, offers four spacious en-suite bedrooms, and is layered with a collection of historical images, documents, and furniture dating back to the 1800s. Set back from the Country House in the luscious gardens is a tranquil swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Leeuwenbosch Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenbosch Country House Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing