We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very Disappointing”
Review of Reed Valley Inn

Reed Valley Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amakhala Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reed Valley Inn
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was booked to stay at Reed Valley for 3 nights, the place was in no means up to scratch, we were extremely disappointed, after doing so much research into our accommodation. It was so dirty we asked to be moved. I appreciate the authenticity of the lodge, but no room should be unprepared i.e dirty, huge amount of ants all over the wall, the floors hadn't been hoovered or mopped, the door to the room wouldn't close properly and the glass was smashed, there was a hole in the floorboards, the gardens were full of weeds, it was overall unsatisfactory.
We were moved to Woodbury Lodge, which was just fabulous, the staff in woodbury lodge couldn't have done more for us. I would strongly advise not to stay at Reed Valley.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Reed Valley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013

My husband and myself and another couple stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a fabulous self-drive holiday, taking in part of the West and East Cape. The staff at the Inn couldn't have been more friendly or obliging. One of our party became very sick (motion sickness/heatstroke -very, very bumpy ride and very hot day!) She was unable to make a couple of the game drives and was confined to bed. A lady called Renee, sorry don't know her job title, went out of her way to check on her, bring some medication and offers of food/drink. Her husband stayed with her and when it appeared he would miss out on lunch, made him a sandwich and brought him a cold beer or two! Her concern and attention were very much appreciated.
Our rooms at the inn were large as was the bathroom. However we did feel that the place could do with an upgrade, the bathroom in particular. As much as I'd like too, I couldn't agree with the 4* rating given on the website.
Bush Lodge, a ten minute jeep ride away, was where all meals were taken. The food and wine were lovely. Great chefs and friendly staff. It was good to sit and talk with other people who were staying up at Bush Lodge. It was a very relaxed atmosphere. After dinner, when we were ready, we were driven back to the Inn and had our own "extra" mini safari.
After all that, we didn't come to Amakhala for the food, wine or accommodation. We came to see the animals. And we did. We feel priviledged to have Tim as our Ranger. I cannot praise him enough for helping make this probably the highlight of our stay in South Africa. His care, friendliness and knowledge about the birds and animals on the reserve was impressive. He certainly is a great asset to Reed Valley and Amakhala.
When the time came for us to leave I stupidly felt a lump in my throat, such was the experience we had shared at Amakhala.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MECB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at Reed Valley Inn for 2 nights. Saw all the animals apart from Cheetah. Pleasant room but would say more shabby scruffy than shabby chique. The walls could do with a paint, floors very rickerty, glass pane broken on front door (room 3) and scruffy varnish around door and window frames. The front garden and just been revamped and looks wonderfull. The trip every day up to Bush Lodge is great as in all you get an extra hour a day looking at the animals. The food at Bush Lodge was great and the table set out for everyone was really attractive and cosy. Out on the decking of an evening sitting under the stars with the Braii on, looking up at the stars was spectacular. All the staff and the owners were so freindly. Tim our Ranger was one of the nicest people we have ever met, his knowledge, kindness, ,helpfullness and driving (mind the tortoise) was first class and despite my little moan it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

- Fantastic Safari: highly skilled, most motivated and open-minded very friendly ranger
- Delicious food and well composed menues
- Pleasant stylish rooms
- Very friendly and cooperativ staff and extremly pleasant atmosphere

--> Very enjoyable, recreative stay and highly recommendable

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lausbub_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at The Reed Valley Inn with two friends in February. We took advantage of the 4 nights for the price of three deal. We did 6 of the 8 game drives available and saw an amazing variety of wildlife, including lion, cheetah, rhino, elephant, buffalo, giraffe, jackal, and many types of antelope. Our ranger, Werner, was excellent. We had our meals up at Bush Lodge which were very good as were all the staff. Another ranger, Graham, added to our enjoyment with his knowledge of the stars and solar system!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BerksJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

See my review of Bush Lodge for extensive praise of staff and game drives. Reed Valley Inn is like taking a step back in time but with a modern shower, a pool and a comfortable bed. We enjoyed our 2 nights here and appreciated the company of the birds and the dogs.

Room Tip: if they have availability choose Bush Lodge instead.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AEWPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This was our second visit to Reed valley and this time we stayed in a bush lodge which was excellent. The staff are very good and Graham our ranger was excellent and also Elias who started the day we arrived, so was very nervous to begin with but was very good it may be a small reserve but it has every thing that you wish to see we saw all that we wanted too and the elephants performed beautifully at every sighting the rangers also saw them doing things that they had never seen before.We would recommend staying here the food was very good with plenty of choice and the friendlyness of the place is simply excellent and cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WoodleyAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amakhala Game Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Leeuwenbosch Country House
#1 of 3 in Amakhala Game Reserve
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reed Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reed Valley Inn

Address: Amakhala Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: £54 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reed Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing