We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our dream Honeymoon Safari at Bukela Lodge”
Review of Bukela Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bukela Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our dream Honeymoon Safari at Bukela Lodge”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is the most amazing experience we have ever had.
The hospitality, attention to detail and immense knowledge of the reserve was second to none. We were really blown away by the standard of accommodation and food, which by the way was plentiful! As 'honeymooners' we were given the most gorgeous four course meal prepared for us in the privacy of our room with champagne and a bath run for us while we were out on safari, a truely awesome night to enjoy after a busy day tracking lions!
We met some amazing people and were given some wonderful tours. What stood out more than anything was the huge respect and care all the guides have for the wonderful wild animals. Whilst we, as tourists were flooded with sights, sounds and information the animals were given their space and privacy. The shear trust these animals have in our guides and big 4x4's was really apparent when we came across a herd of elephants, not only did they not run or charge, but a mother came and paraded her precious baby in front of the vehicle for us all to see. We were really priviledged.
The work that this reserve is doing to protect and prolong the lives of these wonderful animals should never be forgotten and nor should the real fear that we could easily be on the way to losing our white rhinos if the battle againist the poachers is lost, despite the best efforts of the people dedicatecd to the Amakhala game reserve.
I cannot recommend this holiday destination enough and if you have the opportunity to take a once in a lifetime holiday then make this place top priority you will be supporting a truely worthy cause as well.
We travelled in October 2010, the slow posting of this review is no reflection on the reserve just two very disorganised people with a new home and new baby! I have posted october 2011 as it wouldnt let me put another date. We had friends who travelled there in 2011 and had the same wonderful experience.
Jo and James Hertfordshire

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Jo and James - Thank you both so much for posting your review and for the update on how things are going with you. Congrats on the new baby and the new home - what lovely news. It's very special for us to have been able to be part of your honeymoon: thanks for choosing to stay with us, and for your support and encouragement for our work on the Amakhala. It means a great deal to us. Thanks for recommending us to your friends, too: word of mouth is our favourite advertising. We hope we can welcome you and your little one back to our special place sometime. All the best for your continued journey together into parenthood and marriage - the Bukela team and the Bailey family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
174
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Had a wonderful 3 night stay at Bukela - exceeded our expectations. Fantastic lodges set in beautiful surrounding and quite intimate. Staff extremely friendly and good food. Had a very good ranger Luke for the game drives. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Rama Family x

Room Tip: Any of the four lodges on the reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed at Bukela for 3 nights and went on 6 game drives. We saw zebra, cheetah, giraffe, elephant, rhino, springbok, wildebeest, hartebeest, warthog, huge tortoise and many more. Bukela is a lovely place to stay. such a lovely friendly atmosphere, cosy log fires when needed and a really great ambience. The lodges are lovely very comfortable indeed and a huge bath! Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieThe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Saw all we wanted to and more in an amazing setting over 3 days. Had a great guide, Stuart. A well organized place, very relaxing and well planned for the customers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Marvelous stay. Lost of aninals, fun, fantastic service and food! Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulixta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We were safari virgins and only had a vague idea of what to expect! But Bukela exceeded all of our expectations in every way. This was the highlight destination of our journey along the Garden Route and it truly was the most amazing experience.

Bukela feels intimate and exclusive, with just four thatched bungalows, widely spaced with a wooden board walk connecting them to the main lodge. The bungalows have a simple African style but they lack nothing, and everything is on a large scale – from the blissful bed to the spa bath. We had the honeymoon suite and the four poster bed was so high that a wooden step was needed to get into it!

Meals were served in the main lodge and the food was unfailingly delicious – from early morning breakfast to dinner in the candlelight in front of an open fire. The staff were always attentive and friendly and the meals were, without exception, a pleasure. Sandra and the team make it very clear that nothing is too much trouble, and that their aim is to ensure that you have a wonderful, unforgettable time. Their attention to detail was extraordinary.

Bukela is unfenced and you are in the middle of the Amakhala Game Reserve, and while we did not see any of the big five at the watering hole in front of the lodge, there was evidence that they had been there! Indeed every time we went out on a game drive we saw just how close they were. The wildlife was awesome - but Amakhala was also varied and beautiful and exploring it was a real pleasure, averaging about 30k on each drive.

We stayed for three days in June and did six game drives. Each one was an adventure and we saw everything that we hoped to see; elephants, giraffes, buffalo, cheetahs, an abundance of zebra and antelope, and a female white rhino with her baby. Our encounters always felt ‘up close and personal’ and only once did we have to settle for anything less than a ‘perfect view’ as the lions were feeling the cold that evening and stayed almost hidden in the bushes. After all, it was South African winter!

Andre was our ranger: he was passionate about his job and his enthusiasm was infectious - we always returned at the end of the drive having seen something wonderful. He was knowledgeable not only about the wildlife we saw but also about the flora and fauna – he taught us so much. He was always attentive to our welfare, bringing along in the cooler our chosen drinks for ‘Sundowners’, and warm blankets and hot water bottles for the chilly hours after the sun went down. Thanks Andre – you kept us safe and you gave us some amazing adventures.

Bukela loves to surprise! I will always remember the spectacle that awaited us on our last game drive as we came round a bend in the road, beside a waterhole, in the middle of the bush - a dining table and chairs, complete with white linen table cloth, all beautifully set with brunch. (And the chef asking us how we would like our eggs cooked!)

And Bukela gave us the ultimate romantic treat. I will never forget the wonderful sight that greeted us in our bungalow on our final night there, after we returned from our evening game drive – a three course candle lit dinner for two, with a fire roaring in the grate, the spa bath full of bubbles and red rose petals, and the champagne nestling in it’s bucket of ice.

Bukela is something very special and we would love to go back, but for us it will probably be that precious, once in a lifetime experience. We will always feel privileged that we had the opportunity to spend some time there, and incredibly lucky to have gathered such wonderful memories.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndianaOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Absolutely loved bukela, the staff were fantastic, service was excellent, food was delicious,our lodge was beautiful & we saw tons of animals!wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chess01England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
11.0 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
350 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
326 reviews
5.8 mi away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
370 reviews
6.0 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,078 reviews
3.6 mi away
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Leeuwenbosch Country House
#1 of 3 in Amakhala Game Reserve
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bukela Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bukela Game Lodge

Property: Bukela Game Lodge
Address: R342 Landman Road | off N2, between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bukela Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bukela Game Lodge Is A 5-Star Luxury Lodge In The 7 500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape South Africa. Accommodation at this tranquil game lodge is provided in four suites and two luxury safari tents, each individually styled in African simplicity while never compromising on luxury. This secluded safari destination is tucked away into indigenous trees and bushes at the top of a hidden valley and has the perfect setting for the intimate and romantic guest experiences for which we are renowned. Connected by a wooden walkway, our thatched suites offer a remarkable private wildlife-viewing experience. Savour a crisp glass of wine in your sun-soaked spa bath, opening onto trees alive with birdsong. Indulge in sumptuous high teas, private candlelit dinners or exciting fireside boma dinners under African stars. And as you fall asleep, hear the silence broken by the unmistakeable sounds of elephant and buffalo making their stately progress through the unfenced camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Bukela Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bukela Game Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing